We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for an Amsterdam city break”
Review of Hotel Weber

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Weber
Ranked #57 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for an Amsterdam city break”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

This sweet little B&B with 7 bedrooms is the perfect bolt-hole for any Amsterdam city break. It's not your traditional hotel where you can walk into the lobby and have a poke about before speaking to someone behind the desk. Instead, you buzz at the door and are let in by someone who meets you straight up the staircase (at a rather severe incline, it's a trip!) on the first landing. You check in and the hotelier will offer to take your bags up the next series of tiny and steep, winding staircases. For us, it was 3 sets of them, which was perfectly fine since we are fit and able-bodied, but would have been a slog had we carried our bag ourselves. I appreciated being on the top floor, personally.

The room itself was rather spacious and modernly decorated. The bathroom was a wetroom, and it came with Rituals bath and body products. The window looked out over one of the canals, a nice little view. Wifi was included. Earplugs were provided on each bedside table, which is handy for light sleepers since Hotel Weber is just nearby Leidesplein, a very happening nightlife area. Plus, if you're staying on a weekend, one of your fellow hotel patrons might come stumbling home very late and drunk (or stoned) and make all sorts of noise - those earplugs will come in handy. Hey, it's Amsterdam.

What was probably the best part of this B&B for me - aside from the spacious and modern accommodations - was the breakfast. The room came with a mini refrigerator that was stocked ahead of time with some meats, cheeses, spreads, milk and yoghurt. We were promised fresh breads delivered by 8:30am the next morning. Coming home from a night out on the town, however, those meats and cheeses ended up being a very welcome snack - I certainly didn't have the foresight to stock the fridge with snackfoods on my own. The breads that arrived in the morning were fresh and varied. In fact, there was so much food that I didn't at all miss the few things I'd nibbled on the night before.

You can leave your bags in reception when you check out and pick them up later in the day as well - and since the hotel is only accessible to hotel guests, I didn't hesitate to leave my things behind so I could have the entire day to sightsee unencumbered.

And with weekday rates from €80 and Saturday rates at a maximum of €165, this place is a total steal for being a central location in a popular Western European city.

Hotel Weber. It's ranked as a 2 star hotel, but it's 5 stars for me. I don't need a lift. And I don't think I'll ever even bother looking for another hotel when staying in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter but have more stairs to climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    115
    21
    9
    4
See reviews for
16
172
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Knew what I was getting myself into before staying at the hotel, and it is exactly what I expected:

Pros:
1) Great Location
2) Large & Clean Rooms for Europe
3) Breakfast Included & Convenient
4) I was in room 5 on the back of the hotel, so did not hear the noise unless window was open, and did not need ear plugs
5) Great price in comparison to other comparable hotels in the areas

Cons:
1) Steep steps after a night out
2) Shower that is not entirely sectioned off from the rest of the room (They give you a squigee)

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Ideal location between "De 9 straatjes" and "Het Leidseplein" in the heart of the citycenter next to the water.
Nice combination between bar and B&B. Perfect if you like to go out and have a private place to come home after a crazy night in Amsterdam.
The design of the rooms is cool, static and menly. Liked the bathroom very much.
I only hated the fact that the double bed was actually 2 seperate boxsprings next to eachother which made us have like a gap..
The check-in was not so extremely good and friendly but rather comfortable and relaxed.
What we both really liked is the fact that our breakfast was already in the fridge when we arrived so that we could eat whenever and wherever without having to dress up to go to a breakfast room with other people. We could have our breakfast on the bed or in the middle of the night! The solution for fresh bread was also very inventive! Around 9AM they brought us a basket with 2 croissants, 2 pistolets and bread. More than enough!
The only thing I missed was maybe a bottle of water and some fresh fruit. I hope the management really does something about that.
But we loved the Nespresso machine and the Rituals products in the bathroom!
If you like to have it comfortable, and you want to feel at home and able to go wild, stay here for your HANGOVER! ;-)

Room Tip: First floor was okay if you go to bed late and don't mind to be next to the reception room (wher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Excellent spacious room, very clean and tidied every day we were there (stayed 3 nights). We had the room with the balcony (Room 4 - 2nd Floor front), and although balcony was not big, we did enjoy sitting out in the warm spring sun.
Breakfast more than adequate and with variety, with fresh bakery every morning awaiting us.
Bathroom and shower spacious and adequate, shower being warm every time used. Toiletries were also a nice touch, and were replenished daily.
Earplugs were left by the bedside, but we had no need to use them. Although in the morning the trams passing the window were noisy, the double glazing proved more than adequate, and seldom disturbed us.
Ideal location as was not too busy, but was only about a 20 minute walk to Dam Square.

The reason for our giving 4 stars for service was that we did have a problem with the TV and the hairdryer. The TV was promptly replaced the next day. However, the hairdryer was still not repaired/replaced by the time we had left. The hairdryer was a fixed fitting in the bathroom, and even being provided with one, to plug in the socket, would have been acceptable. Manager, needs to remember that there are women staying in the rooms, and a hairdryer is a must.

But all in all, an excellent all round hotel and was good value for money, and would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank TheHotelInspectors2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Hotel Weber is situated just a short walk away from the bustling Lidsesplien area and within easy walking distance of most of Amsterdam's key attractions. The hotel is accessed by a single front door from the pavement which leads to a very steep flight of stairs (typical Amsterdam so quirky and part of the experience) taking you to the hotel office and then further up to the rooms.

We'd read the lower rooms can be a bit noisy - the hotel sits above a bar- so booked room 7 at the top of the building. It's a real climb to get up to the room, so you'll need to be steady on your feet, but the room was well proportioned with a large bed, small breakfast area with sink, fridge and coffee maker. The shower area and toilet - a kind of wet room combo - was ideal though it did get steamed up quite quickly.

The room was wonderfully quiet though even up here you get the odd rumble of the trams running by. It was to the rear of the hotel with a view over a patch of water and allowed plenty of light in. Every morning a basket of breads was left outside and the fridge was re-stocked with milk, meat, cheese, yoghurt and a selection of spreads during the day. Eating out can be pricey so we made the most of the opportunity to stock up before the days wanderings.

Amsterdam seems to be a pretty pricey place to stay and 550 euros for 4 nights in the Weber was perhaps a bit more than I'd expect to pay for a similar room back in the UK. That said, I wasn't disappointed with what it offers and it really did add to the whole Amsterdam experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fussyduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Good place to stay 1 or 2 nights
Lot of students in this area but low noice
Good breakfast and caffee
Clean bathroom and clean room
Manager will be given good support
500 mtrs from leidseplein the place to be
Good restaurants in this area

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Baddy560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Have come to Amsterdam for a few nights from Uk. Hotel Weber is in a great location both to get to from Amsterdam Airport (Train / Tram / short 2 min walk from Lidsesplien) and to get to things once in Amsterdam everything within walking distance and trams from Lidseplein.
Hotel Room was spacious, clean, warm, nice decor and really liked the convenient fridge / sink area. Very steep stairs to rooms, but it's Amsterdam.
Nice views onto typical Amsterdam street and could just see edge of a canal. Busy street with regular trams passing, I guess it was fairly noisy but there's great sound proffing when the windows are closed. The noise didn't bother me and there are earplugs in room if needed.
Nice bar (Luxe) on street and Weber bar too.
Very happy with the hotel room and would come again.

Room Tip: Not suitable for someone with mobility problems. Stairs very steep!
See more room tips
Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank QueenB1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#126 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Boutique Hotel View
#83 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#36 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Freeland Hotel
Freeland Hotel
#190 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#58 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#60 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Weber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Weber

Property: Hotel Weber
Address: Marnixstraat 397, 1017 PJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Weber 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish furnished newly renovated hotel with large rooms. Rooms contains large twin or double beds, pantry with fridge, private bathroom with rituals amenities, breakfast in the fridge and fresh bread in front of the door each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Weber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing