We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (387)
Filter reviews
387 results
Traveler rating
140
150
51
28
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
140
150
51
28
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsamstel canalgreat locationrembrandt squareflower markethistoric hotelrecommend this hoteltop floorsteep staircasetriple roomwould stay here againrooms are bigamsterdam experiencewalking distancecentral stationtram stopcityluggage
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 387 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2015 via mobile

Good location, and nice interior for the apartment. Near to all attractions. Hotel has out-source parking services. So be mentally prepare that your car will be driven to an unknown location, and will be returned at a specific timing that you wanted.

Stayed: June 2015
Thank Anthony_NgOfSg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, General Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2015

Dear Anthony_NgOfSg,
First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your review according your recent stay at Hotel Amstelzicht. We do agree with you that our apartments are well decorated with all things needed. As we are located in the midle of Amsterdam Centre, most of the touristic places are on walking-distance. For parking we do offer valet parking, which is 30 euro per 24 hours. Looking forward to welcome you again in Hotel Amstelzicht during your next trip to Amsterdam. Warm regards, Hotel Amstelzicht

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2015

Funny to stay at a hotel in a traditional old classic Amsterdam canal building.

Positive:
Location and big spacious (50 sq. m) basement room!
Location is superb - central Amsterdam.

Negative:
Basement room was smelly/damp, no option to open a window!

Room Tip: Get a room on 2'nd or 3'rd floor.
  • Stayed: November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Hans Petter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, General Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2015

Dear Hans, Thank you very much for sharing your review on Tripadvisor according your recent stay at Hotel Amstelzicht. We are glad to know you’ve enjoyed your stay with us. Great to hear that you liked to stay in a traditional old classic Amsterdam canal building. We do agree that the location is just perfect, everything on walking-distance. Sorry to hear that you found your room was smelly/damp, would be nice if we would be informed about it during your stay, so we could try to solve the problem immidiantly. We hope to welcome you again during your next trip, and maybe an idea to book one of our canal view rooms, which are amazing, and in these rooms you could always keep the window open. Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further information or for our special rates. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2015 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel in a building from the 17th century. The staff were very friendly and helpful (provided a map, carried out luggage up the stairs, made a dinner reservation for us). The rooms were clean and larger than expected. We were on the top floor with a canal view which was fantastic. When booking you need to be aware that there is no elevator and they do not serve breakfast, but there are tons of cafés nearby. It's in a great location and we (my self and my parents) would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: May 2015
4  Thank Lindsey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, General Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2015

Dear Lindsey R, thank you very much for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us as Guest Satisfaction is very important for us. It’s a pleasure for us to assist all our guests during their stay with us. We are looking forward to welcome you again in Hotel Amstelzicht. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2015 via mobile

Having had a room on the top floor and looking out over the river Amstel, I was very happy with my choice of hotel. Not perfect, a little quirky, and suited me just fine.
What you get: the real feel of a historic and renovated town house complete with utilitarian bathroom and steep small stairs, a great view, a good starting point whether you want to explore the Grachten or venture out to the museums and other quarters - all at a reasonable price as far as I was concerned.
What you avoid: the cramped, horrible area around the main station, very expensive and sterile hotels.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, General Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2015

Dear Sarah J, we would like to thank you for sharing your review on tripadvisor according your trip last June 2014. We are happy to know that you were satisfied with our Hotel and our services. To get to the top floor rooms is a bit hard, but as soon as you open the door and see the amazing view over the Amstel, and take a sit watching it you should directly forget it. All touristic places are on walking-distance, as we are in the midle of Amsterdam Centre. We would be happy to welcome you again during your trip to Amsterdam, please do not hesitate to contact us for our special offers, or visit our website. Best regards, Hotel Amstelzicht .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2015 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for three nights and booked through travel agent. The hotel took the full amount which wasn't a problem but was charged in Swiss francs instead of euros. Was informed that this is normal practice and there was no other option however when I checked in and paid the city tax using the same card I was able to choose euros or francs. A typical shrug of the shoulders was then made. I was given a room at the very back. Very dated and dark overlooking an alleyway. Great view. Not to worry I thought it'll be quieter however the other businesses that used the alley thought nothing of emptying glass bottles and bins at midnight and beyond. The windows weren't double glazed or soundproofed so was woken up every night. The bed I'd requested was supposed to be a king size but was in fact two single mattresses which gaped in the middle. The mattress was too soft, lumpy pillows. The bathroom was small and in need of renovation. The stairs weren't a problem but they are very steep and would be a problem for old, infirm, parents with young children. There is no breakfast provided but the hotel recommend a cafe 100m away. Believe me there are better places to eat. The location of the hotel was relatively central however for €140 per night there are much better located hotels providing a far superior hotel experience and service in Amsterdam. Do yourself a favour and stay elsewhere.

Stayed: May 2015, traveled solo
3  Thank dudley8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, General Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2015

Dear Dudley8, thank you for sharing your review according your stay in Hotel Amstelzicht. We’re sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us, and not to meet your expectations. You booked a non-refundable rate, which means directly being paid at moment of booking, we always charge the credit card in the local currency of the cardholders, as this safes him changings fees. But as you told us by check-in you would like to pay in Euro’s, we charged the city tax in Euro’s. As we are located in an historical building we are not allowed to offer double glassed windows, but we do have shutters, which you could keep closed during the night, against the noise. We do have a night security which could be called during the night in situations like this, as neighbors are not allowed to disturb our guests during the night. The glass should be emptied in the morning after 10:00 AM. The restaurant ‘Brug34’ which we do recommend is just one of the possibilities to use, as we are located in front of the Rembrandt Square there are many options to go. Our famous stairways are really clearly mentioned on our website, so everybody who checks the hotel before booking, should be informed about them. Ones again, we are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations, but nevertheless we would be happy to welcome you again and we are sure you would like our canal view rooms to stay in. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews