We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (387)
Filter reviews
387 results
Traveler rating
140
150
51
28
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
140
150
51
28
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsamstel canalgreat locationrembrandt squareflower markethistoric hotelrecommend this hoteltop floorsteep staircasetriple roomwould stay here againrooms are bigamsterdam experiencewalking distancecentral stationtram stopcityluggage
Filter
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 387 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2015 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel in a building from the 17th century. The staff were very friendly and helpful (provided a map, carried out luggage up the stairs, made a dinner reservation for us). The rooms were clean and larger than expected. We were on the top floor with a canal view which was fantastic. When booking you need to be aware that there is no elevator and they do not serve breakfast, but there are tons of cafés nearby. It's in a great location and we (my self and my parents) would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: May 2015
4  Thank Lindsey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, General Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2015

Dear Lindsey R, thank you very much for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us as Guest Satisfaction is very important for us. It’s a pleasure for us to assist all our guests during their stay with us. We are looking forward to welcome you again in Hotel Amstelzicht. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2015 via mobile

Having had a room on the top floor and looking out over the river Amstel, I was very happy with my choice of hotel. Not perfect, a little quirky, and suited me just fine.
What you get: the real feel of a historic and renovated town house complete with utilitarian bathroom and steep small stairs, a great view, a good starting point whether you want to explore the Grachten or venture out to the museums and other quarters - all at a reasonable price as far as I was concerned.
What you avoid: the cramped, horrible area around the main station, very expensive and sterile hotels.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, General Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2015

Dear Sarah J, we would like to thank you for sharing your review on tripadvisor according your trip last June 2014. We are happy to know that you were satisfied with our Hotel and our services. To get to the top floor rooms is a bit hard, but as soon as you open the door and see the amazing view over the Amstel, and take a sit watching it you should directly forget it. All touristic places are on walking-distance, as we are in the midle of Amsterdam Centre. We would be happy to welcome you again during your trip to Amsterdam, please do not hesitate to contact us for our special offers, or visit our website. Best regards, Hotel Amstelzicht .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2015 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for three nights and booked through travel agent. The hotel took the full amount which wasn't a problem but was charged in Swiss francs instead of euros. Was informed that this is normal practice and there was no other option however when I checked in and paid the city tax using the same card I was able to choose euros or francs. A typical shrug of the shoulders was then made. I was given a room at the very back. Very dated and dark overlooking an alleyway. Great view. Not to worry I thought it'll be quieter however the other businesses that used the alley thought nothing of emptying glass bottles and bins at midnight and beyond. The windows weren't double glazed or soundproofed so was woken up every night. The bed I'd requested was supposed to be a king size but was in fact two single mattresses which gaped in the middle. The mattress was too soft, lumpy pillows. The bathroom was small and in need of renovation. The stairs weren't a problem but they are very steep and would be a problem for old, infirm, parents with young children. There is no breakfast provided but the hotel recommend a cafe 100m away. Believe me there are better places to eat. The location of the hotel was relatively central however for €140 per night there are much better located hotels providing a far superior hotel experience and service in Amsterdam. Do yourself a favour and stay elsewhere.

Stayed: May 2015, traveled solo
3  Thank dudley8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, General Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2015

Dear Dudley8, thank you for sharing your review according your stay in Hotel Amstelzicht. We’re sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us, and not to meet your expectations. You booked a non-refundable rate, which means directly being paid at moment of booking, we always charge the credit card in the local currency of the cardholders, as this safes him changings fees. But as you told us by check-in you would like to pay in Euro’s, we charged the city tax in Euro’s. As we are located in an historical building we are not allowed to offer double glassed windows, but we do have shutters, which you could keep closed during the night, against the noise. We do have a night security which could be called during the night in situations like this, as neighbors are not allowed to disturb our guests during the night. The glass should be emptied in the morning after 10:00 AM. The restaurant ‘Brug34’ which we do recommend is just one of the possibilities to use, as we are located in front of the Rembrandt Square there are many options to go. Our famous stairways are really clearly mentioned on our website, so everybody who checks the hotel before booking, should be informed about them. Ones again, we are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations, but nevertheless we would be happy to welcome you again and we are sure you would like our canal view rooms to stay in. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2015 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel with a friend for 2 nights in March, it's in a decent location and everything is in walking distance. We arrived earlier than check in, but our room was ready and we were able to check in. The lady at reception was friendly and helpful.
Only down side I would say was the very steep spiral stairs inside the hotel, I have no problem with stairs so it was not an issue for me. However I notice this was not noted on the booking or any website that the hotel is advertised on.
Overall a pleasant stay and would recommend.

Stayed: March 2015, traveled with friends
2  Thank Georgia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, General Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2015

Dear Georgia H, thank you very much for sharing your comment on tripadvisor according your stay last March in Hotel Amstelzicht. We are happy to know that you and your friend enjoyed your stay with us. Normal check-in time for the hotel rooms is at 14, but of course if the room is ready earlier we would be happy to offer the room before, as happened with yours. Sorry to tell you, but we are really clear about the case we do not have an elevator in the hotel; There is NO elevator available due to the historic features of this 350-year old building! The characteristic Amsterdam stairway lead up to the rooms and suites which combine historic elements with modern furnishings. We hope to welcome you again during your next trip to Amsterdam. Best regards, Hotel Amstelzicht.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2015

This hotel wasn't perfect but it was very memorable and enjoyable. Many of the reviews mention the stairs. The stairs are hilariously ridiculous, probably not so much if you are older, unfit or have some sort of disability. We managed to get the attic room right at the very top. The higher up you go the steeper the stairs become. By the time you get to the last set it's like climbing a ladder.
Great location to everything. Although it did take us a little while to get our bearings.
It's not the kind of hotel where you will be waited on. Rather it's a very independent experience.
The hotel staff were lovely and happy to help with any information or recommendations.
The bed was not the greatest, the twin bed was two single mattresses and either my partner or I would often end up falling into the middle.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Leia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, General Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2015

Dear Leia K, We would like to thank you for sharing your review on tripadvisor, according your stay in June 2014. We do agree that everybody writes something about our stairs, but to be honest we are really clear about them on the websites, so if everyone should read the internet before booking they should be aware of them. As we are an old building we are not allowed to offer an elevator. We are always happy to assist you with the bags to get up and down to the rooms. If you would have request a double bed, we could arrange it, so you won’t have the problem for being in between of the mattresses, so please do not forget to inform us in advance for your next trip. Also a room on a lower floor could be arranged. We would be happy to welcome you again in Hotel Amstelzicht. Best regards, Hotel Amstelzicht.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews