We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”
Review of Hotel Amstelzicht

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Amstelzicht
Ranked #187 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Deventer
1 review
“Great hotel!”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Great hotel! Excellent service, nice rooms, and the beds are really comfortable! Also the bathroom is very clean. The location of the hotel is perfect. you can go anywhere in the centre of Amsterdam easily by foot from here. You won't regret a night in this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Google Translation
Geachte heer, mevrouw, bedankt voor uw positiefe reactie op Tripadvisor, wij zijn blij dat u heeft genoten van uw verblijf in hotel Amstelzicht. De volgende keer dat jullie een stap avondje in Amsterdam organiseren voor jullie personeel weet u waar u terecht kunt.... Tot de volgende keer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    144
    45
    25
    16
See reviews for
67
124
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for three nights in November/December in a triple room. Firstly, the receptionists were exceptional! So helpful and willing to do anything in their power to make our time in Amsterdam great! They recommended all the sights appropriate for our age range, directed us to where ever we needed to go as well as changing our room to a lower floor because they noticed we had large bags and wanted to accommodate the fact we wouldn't want to carry them up flights of stairs. So fabulous and helpful we cannot commend them enough!

The location was excellent, and couldn't have been better. Slightly noisy at night but that would be in any hotel in such a central location. Near great restaurants and bars, as well as close walking distance to all the attractions.

Finally, the rooms were great. Good value for money. We stayed in the triple room and the beds were the most comfortable I have slept in in any hotel around the world and a good TV. Good sized rooms, and a good sized bathroom and shower.

Was an excellent stay and we could not recommend this hotel more! An excellent trip to Amsterdam!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bec E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertramon, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on tripadvisor following your recent visit to Hotel Amstelzicht Amsterdam, your comments regarding the staff is a big compliment for all the staff. Our staff is truly enjoying meeting new guest every day from anywhere around the globe. Once again many thanks for your review and we look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Amstelzicht Amsterdam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

The hotel has just been refurbished to a very high standard. I could not offer one single criticism. Bathroom high standard again with a proper shower not one over the bath! Receptionists could not have been more helpful. Told us best way to get to places and what to see and when. Location was perfect for us. Easy walking distance to restaurants, bars and the main shopping street. Price of this standard of hotel was the same as hotels of 1 & 2 star!!! I highly recommend this hotel and will now not stay anywhere else when I visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank TCB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertramon, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on tripadvisor following your recent visit to Hotel Amstelzicht Amsterdam, The Amstelzicht team is hoping to welcome you again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Everything about this hotel was great! The staff was very friendly, the room was clean and comfortable (triple room for 3 people) and the location is close to absolutely everything! The value is also something to mention. I did a couple hours of research before picking this hotel, and I am so glad I picked this hotel. When I return to Amsterdam I will absolutely stay at the hotel Amstelzicht, and I would recommend it to everyone!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyO86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertramon, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Tony,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on tripadvisor following your recent visit to Hotel Amstelzicht Amsterdam . Happy to hear you had a great 13 day stay at Amstelzicht, guest like you who stay with us for many days are very special, and most appreciated. Once again many thanks for your review and we look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Amstelzicht Amsterdam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, WI
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

After researching many hotels in Amsterdam, I found this to be the fit for me. My criteria was central location to old part of the city and museums. This hotel is right between. The other thing I wanted is to be on a canal. The canal view from this hotel are breathtaking. And again the location cannot be beat. The drawbacks is that the tourists on the weekend are loud. But no matter what hotel you stay at, you are going to hear rowdy tourists; especially if you are on a main road. By the end of the day in Amsterdam, you are tired and can sleep through anything. So the rowdy English did not bother me. The other drawback to this hotel and its also the part that is charming is that its an old building with a typical thin and winding stairs. Such stairways are typical of the period of old buildings. I loved it. But, my elderly mother had difficulty navigating the thin footprints of the individuals stair-steps. The rooms are clean but could use a little updating. But the price is good. The service is good. I give the hotel a five star rating for location location location. But its not refined like a Ritz Carlton. If you are looking for that, this is not your kind of hotel and you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adambadadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertramon, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on tripadvisor following your recent visit to Hotel Amstelzicht Amsterdam, You call Amstelzicht a GEM, and you would rate it as 5 star!!!Thank you so much. Recently Amstelzicht has received his 4th star! We however will maintain promote the hotel as a 3 star hotel on the internet , to make sure our guest will get more than they expect, all they deserve! ( Apartments and Quadrooms located in the annex maintain the 3 stars!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Very well located and reasonably priced. friendly service and very comfortable rooms. not so good if you need to check in late as reception closes at 10 pm, but if this isn't an issue, it's absolutely fantastic. Very Good size rooms for Amsterdam standards.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertramon, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on tripadvisor following your recent visit to Hotel Amstelzicht Amsterdam, the location is the best indeed in Amsterdam, located in the heart of the city centre, with everything a visitor need to see within 5 minutes walk, and on one of the most beautiful Canals in Amsterdam.
Late arrival ( after 10PM) is no problem, the reception is closed after 10 PM but the Night Manager will welcome all late arrivals, we ask all guest who arrive after 10PM to inform the reception about there arrival time and flight number atleast 24 hours before arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Clean, neat and great location. Friendly staff with no complaints about service. Room quite small and cramped, but have paid much more for something only marginally bigger - so for a central Amsterdam location close to all the attractions Hotel Amstelzicht represents good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squirep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertramon, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor, we are happy you enjoyed your stay at Amstelzicht. All our rooms have different sizes due to being an historical building, please contact us by email next time when you make a reservation and we make sure you will have a large room with a lot of space. The Canalview Suites are also larger than the standrad rooms. Thank you again and hope to see you again soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#123 of 368 in Amsterdam
967 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
#205 of 368 in Amsterdam
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#206 of 368 in Amsterdam
147 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#151 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,553 reviews
Centrum
Amsterdam House Hotel
Amsterdam House Hotel
#251 of 368 in Amsterdam
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amstelzicht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amstelzicht

Property: Hotel Amstelzicht
Address: Amstel 104, 1017 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#115 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amstelzicht 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amstelzicht is located on the Amstel Canal, in a monumental house dating back from 1659, with more than 350 years of history, hospitality and adventure have gone into crafting today’s experience. Located in the heart of Amsterdam City Centre offers spacious and comfortable rooms. A home for the sophisticated traveller who knows where to experience affordable Amsterdam Comfort, Service and Hospitality. Hotel Amstelzicht is one of the so-called, "three dancing houses". A famous landmark.The characteristic Amsterdam stairway lead up to the rooms and suites which combine historic elements with modern furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Amstelzicht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amstelzicht Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing