We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (387)
Filter reviews
387 results
Traveler rating
140
150
51
28
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
140
150
51
28
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsamstel canalgreat locationrembrandt squareflower markethistoric hotelrecommend this hoteltop floorsteep staircasetriple roomwould stay here againrooms are bigamsterdam experiencewalking distancecentral stationtram stopcityluggage
Filter
Updating list...
255 - 260 of 387 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2012

The room was great, exactly as described and shown in the pictures. The quadruple room was very large and convenient. They cleaned the room everyday, although they did not change towels and bed linen everyday; it has a card which says that whenever you want your linen changed place this card on the bed. The staff was very friendly, the moment we arrived the lady at the reception gave us a map and explained the whereabouts. Very willing to help with anything. There was no breakfast, but the hotel gives 20% discount at a nearby cafe. The location is amazing. Right in front of Amstel river. We didn't use transportation even once. Its in the middle of everything. The only slightly drawback is that there was a little noise from people walking the stairs mostly, but it was not that often to become annoying. I would definitely recommend the hotel and would choose it again!

Room Tip: If you are a couple ask for canal view.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annavam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here with friends for only 1 night. We knew that the stairs would be steep as this is a typical Amsterdam canal house. The apartement itself was clean, cozy, on a perfect location with great views. The check-in, check-out was very smooth and friendly. The price is high (as all hotels in Amsterdam) but the per person price was still reasonable. I would stay here again any time and would surely recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holland2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Perhaps other rooms are better, the apartment I stayed in was not just terrible but dangerous. Terrible access, even for an Amsterdam building. Extremely noisy, but free ear plugs! Toilet faucet had no handle, but "Owner did not want to put one"! Toilet is smaller than tiny and embarrassingly, no proper vent. Bathroom had steep pitched low marble ceiling - bad combination. Stairway to bed area had dangerously narrow tread of stained wood, perfect to slip and break a bone. Beds under pitched beams in attic, so have to be extremely careful at night not to knock your head against a sloping beam. Very claustrophobic. Overall, not only poor value for the money but really dangerous. Place would never pass any real safety inspection. Avoid the place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ayermd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertramon, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

We are very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay. As far as for the Apartment on the top floor , where you stayed, it’s a very romantic apartment in a typical 1664 building, due to this historical year of build we cannot change anything due to the regulations of the government of The Netherlands of this monumental buildings and we take pride in these rules to prevent these beautiful historical buildings. The structure of the Amsterdam canal houses cannot be compare to any other city. As for the noise, double glass windows are also not allowed by the Dutch Monumental Government inspections, this is why for the light sleepers we provide earplugs, as the super location of the Hotel and Apartments can have some city noises which some of our guest are not use to.
We find your comment in a very poor taste to mention : Avoid this place, the self catering apartments of the Hotel, as what you reserved are very well decorated, and very safe and approved by all government institutions for Hotel regulations and perfect accommodations for families, groups, or 4 persons traveling together. We always get very respectable guests who like the apartments, as well if you compare the price of the apartment with 2 guestrooms prices. As well we have offered you an apartment on a lower floor, without the attic bedroom floor, and without stairs in the apartment, but you decided to stay in the apartment that you were, this was you free choice.
As for the Tap in the toilet, you assuming is not correct, the Management is not changing the tap as flooding had occurd in the past many times, its to easy to say, the owner didn’t want to change it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Charming hotel, nice wiev over the canal, friendly staff - we will definetly choose this hotel again.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank KAN_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

The building is very old, the steps are terrible. but I can say it is clean & the location is very good. So I think for families & couples ( the young ones, because the steps are something like mountain climbing ) who want to stay in a place near the Centrum, it is absolutely OK. It is also near the Rembrandplein which is a place full if restaurants, cafes & also night clubs. The place is even better than the main Centrum & Dome square which are not so far ( 8 min walking). Due to the average quality of hotels in Amsterdam which is not very high, I give the " very good " point to this hotel just because it is in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OMGp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertramon, Front Office Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2012

Thank you for your review, this quest stayed in one of our Quadrooms, located in the annex building of the Hotel. This rooms consist out of two rooms, one with a twine bed and one with a twin bed in an anclove. This make them perfect for 4 adults, goups and family's, aswell if you calculate the roomprice divided per person you find out its a very good deal. As all our guest can see on the website the Quadrooms are decorated different and more standard as our rooms and suites in the mainbuidling. Still confortable and up to the stadards of a 3 star Hotel, including all facilities as a TV, Safe, Iphone docking system, Coffee & Tea facilities and a private bathroom. The stairway is steep but very normall for any building in Amsterdam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews