We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very small tooms, but value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel De Mallemoolen
Ranked #300 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

The room we stayed in was extremely small, three of its sides we against the walls, with just enoug room to stand between the wash basin and the bed. We stored our suitcases under the bed, which opened up some space, but still very small. The breakfast was amazing for Europe, really enjoyed it!

Thank Ruda-SA
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 34 of 131 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Rik L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The hotel is situated in an ideal location for Amsterdam, close the the train station (2 mins from station). It is extremely basic but with a great breakfast and really friendly staff. Waffles til 3am!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennie100388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Right in the heart of the hustle and bustle of the Red Light District, about 5 minutes walk from Centraal Station, is a cosy little 1 star hotel and this is the story of that hotel...

I'm not going to list issues, because that would be pointless. What I will say is this, while it did have odd smears of browny red on the wall, and the lights didn't quite work, and it was very noisy, and the ceiling was peeling, and the stairs were steep, and the bathroom wasn't the greatest... it did the job

We had our own bathroom. Not shared. It was fine. I was able to wash in it. We even blocked our own toilet within an inch of overflowing, and the cleaners unblocked it.

The noise level was not the best, BUT you're in one of the most active areas in Amsterdam, it will be noisy. Take earplugs.

The room had more than enough space for 4 of us, and we were hardly ever in it. You could smoke in it, which was a bonus.

Room Tip: Take earplugs. Free Karl. Don't go for longer than 2 days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CPlasma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed in hotel de koopermollen which is a sister hotel to this hotel but situated in the same building but higher quality rooms but still the room we stayed in was clean with en suite only down fall was the stairs but in Amsterdam you expect this anyway .
Hotel situated in middle of everything step out the door all coffee shops you need are their 2 min walk to dam square 3 min walk to red light district 3 min walk to central station , everything you need is there which I loved.
Man behind the reception was really nice and pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was really good for a 1 star hotel I will stay here again definitely.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Rachael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

A small hotel with basic rooms accessed by steep Amsterdam stair. Recommended for the traveller on a budget as its location is excellent (5 mins from main station) and in the heart of busy area. A good buffet breakfast is provided and staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#260 of 373 in Amsterdam
302 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Koopermoolen
Hotel De Koopermoolen
#234 of 373 in Amsterdam
477 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#295 of 373 in Amsterdam
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Vijaya
Hotel Vijaya
#329 of 373 in Amsterdam
683 reviews
Plantage & the East
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
#226 of 373 in Amsterdam
118 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#182 of 373 in Amsterdam
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Mallemoolen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Mallemoolen

Address: Warmoesstraat 7, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #300 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $74 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel De Mallemoolen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Mallemoolen Hotel offers budget accommodation in a monumental building, a 5-minute walk from Amsterdam Central Station. Smoking is allowed in all rooms. The hotel rooms are basic in style and have a sink and TV. The shared bathrooms can be found in the hallway. Breakfast is served in Hotel De Koopermolen, located right next to De Mallemoolen. Here you can also enjoy a continental breakfast buffet in the morning and use a free internet computer. De Mallemoolen is located a 5-minute walk from Dam Square and the Nieuwendijk shopping street. You can easily access trams at the railway station to the Museumplein and Leidse Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel De Mallemoolen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Mallemoolen Hotel
De Mallemoolen Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing