We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No serious complaints”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel De Mallemoolen
Ranked #306 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed September 24, 2011

The staff were very friendly and always round to help. The room was excellent for the money we paid and although the toilet and shower were shared with 2 other rooms, we never saw anyone else at all. The hotel was easy to find and was in a great place, situated 10 minutes from the train station and a walk down the road to Dam Square and also very near the Red Light District. Overall, very impressed and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wind41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 68 of 132 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2011

This is a cheap, basic hotel right in the heart of Amsterdam, minutes from the famous cafe - The Grasshopper. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

I would not recommend this hotel for people looking for a quiet night, but who goes to Amsterdam for that and stays in a 1* hotel?! A lot of these negative reviews are from people who seem to have booked the cheap option without properly considering the implications of this.

If you're looking for somewhere to crash with a few friends whilst experiencing everything Amsterdam has to offer then this is somewhere I would definitely recommend. I am intending to go back to the 'Dam in the next few months and will not be looking further than here to book.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank indierocklad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2010

This place is pretty junky and run down, but since it was during the IBC convention I had no choice. Good for smokers and people who like the red light. Anyone with hopes of a "nice stay" should consider elsewhere.

Staff was good though.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EWerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

The Hotel De Mallemoolen is a friendly, hospitable hotel inbetween the Centraal Station and the Red Light District (in fact, it is at the top of Warmooestraat, one of the first streets in the RLD).

As others have mentioned the staff are polite (although it's an odd kind of aloof politeness which we noticed from many other Dutch staff everywhere), there is a luggage room in the main building which you can use before or after checking in/out, there is a PC in the reception which is slow as hell but at least it works, there is a daily breakfast with some nice food and drink, and for getting to the train station or the tram terminus it's in a perfect accessible location.

We stayed in Room 10, for which one must climb three increasingly steep and narrow flights of stairs (it's almost as though you're climbing into your loft/attic). A bit annoying but as long as you spend most of the day out you don't take too much notice, although in an inebriated state I'd advise caution. Our room was clean, had a small TV and sink with mirror, and a couple of bedside tables and a single chair. The room can smell of cannabis when you arrive but it's easy to latch the window open whilst you're out to keep it fresh (of course, then you have a problem of fresh cannabis smoke coming in from the many coffeeshops and residences neighbouring your room!).

My girlfriend and I both suffered back pain for the first two days since the mattresses are incredibly soft, and difficult to get on/off of. The room is also quite cramped, as it is at the top of the building (although I think rooms on floors below ours might have been just as cramped for having more beds in them). Yay for being able to watch the BBC and on the Dutch channel Veronica, American sitcoms like Two and a Half Men or The Simpsons. You get a sink but you have to share the Hotel's shower rooms and toilets, which are almost never occupied when you need them but feel kinda small. Whilst we were there the shower drain begin to clog up more and more until our last night when we just gave up on having a shower at all. Our failure not to mention this to the staff, who probably could have unclogged it during housekeeping hours.

The location of the hotel is a huge advantage for sightseeing and entertainment, but it can be annoying as you're in the centre of the nightlife, which can be noisy even when the window is shut. We arrived in the second week-long heatwave so far this summer, so sleeping with the window shut was impossible, but even with the window open the room was too hot to move! We weren't exactly getting to bed early, but even at 7 a.m. I'd wake up to shouting matches between god-knows-who down in the street on two days, I'm actually looking forward to my first decent night of kip now that I'm back home!

Overall, some people may be fine with all the hotel's setbacks, but for the price (€72 per room per night ((€36 per person))) I feel we should have at least had more space, or a quieter location, or an ensuite toilet and bathroom, or airconditioning, or any combination thereof. I would recommend group travellers to stick to a well-rated hostel (if there's enough of you, book a dormitory room just for yourselves) and couples like us would be better advised to find someplace outside the Red Light District. I wish I'd known about TripAdvisor before I booked the place, not to imply that Mallemoolen is bad, only that I would have wanted more amenities for the price.

p.s. you get bath towels (only one other review mentioned this).

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasdev_sekhon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2010

Stayed here when our epic overland volcanic-ash-cloud-induced journey required a stop over in Amsterdam while we waited for a ferry back to the UK. Found that it served it's purpose as a cheap stop-over point perfectly well. We had the quad room, which is the only room with it's own bathroom.

Good location- not far from the central station, and well located for easy access to coffee shops, gay district, red light district - not quite as sleazy as the red light district itself but still, don't stay here with your grandma. Despite being on quite a main street for nightlife we found it to be relatively quiet - our room was at the back of the hotel and most of the other guests didn't make much noise. Some bass from the argentinian restaurant downstairs but this stopped by midnight.

Cleanliness - shabby decor, smelt of stale fags (clearly they allow smoking in rooms) but the important parts ie. sheets, towels and bathroom seemed fairly clean (bar the fag burns on the bath - not the hotel's fault - and the shabby tiger blankets) and the carpet looked like it had been given a quick once-over with a hoover. TV in room could get signal for BBC 1.

Receptionist was very helpful, giving us a map recommending acitivities to do. All staff encountered were helpful, polite and spoke good English (as most people in Amsterdam seem to). Breakfast buffet could've done with a proper fry-up or even a toaster, but was extensive and all you can eat.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littlemissomlette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2010

I went to Amsterdam for New Years from the 31st of Dec-4th of Jan. We arrived at the hotel at around 9pm and they had problems with our reservation which made us very anxious.

What they did was put us in an amazing two story apartment for the first night and then we would go back to the mallemoolen for the remaining time of our stay. It was great! amazing apartment. Now the next day we checked into the mallemoolen the staff were so friendly and helpful and we even got a room with a shower!

The room was small with a color TV wash basin and separate shower room. Everything was very clean and our room was cleaned every morning.

The location is PERFECT! right in the middle of everything. So you dont have to rely on taxis and things.

All and all i would recommend the hotel to a friend or couple. The stairs are crazy steep so it wouldn't suit elderly travelers.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rachelhawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2009

5 minute walk from Centraal Station, great location, buffet breakfast, free internet, very friendly staff. They upgraded us from their 1 star hotel to their 3 star hotel for free, which was lovely. Only problem was, its on a main street, and every night we were woken up by drunks yelling at each other. Obviously not something that the hotel can control and its the risk you take to be so central. But all in all a great hotel I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ebz_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Torenzicht
Hotel Torenzicht
#281 of 376 in Amsterdam
245 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Koopermoolen
Hotel De Koopermoolen
#231 of 376 in Amsterdam
487 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Vijaya
Hotel Vijaya
#334 of 376 in Amsterdam
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#188 of 376 in Amsterdam
279 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#318 of 376 in Amsterdam
671 reviews
Plantage & the East
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
#228 of 376 in Amsterdam
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Mallemoolen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Mallemoolen

Address: Warmoesstraat 7, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #306 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $77 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel De Mallemoolen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Mallemoolen Hotel offers budget accommodation in a monumental building, a 5-minute walk from Amsterdam Central Station. Smoking is allowed in all rooms. The hotel rooms are basic in style and have a sink and TV. The shared bathrooms can be found in the hallway. Breakfast is served in Hotel De Koopermolen, located right next to De Mallemoolen. Here you can also enjoy a continental breakfast buffet in the morning and use a free internet computer. De Mallemoolen is located a 5-minute walk from Dam Square and the Nieuwendijk shopping street. You can easily access trams at the railway station to the Museumplein and Leidse Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel De Mallemoolen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Mallemoolen Hotel
De Mallemoolen Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing