We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“central, clean and friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Koopermoolen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel De Koopermoolen
Ranked #225 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“central, clean and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Just got back from Amsterdam this morning what a fantastic experience. Couldn't have picked a better hotel to stay in. Very CLEAN, big room and central to EVERYTHING. Only 2mins walk from central station where we was dropped off. The hotel is on one of the main streets in Amsterdam. Staff are so friendly and helpful to any questions you have. I forgot my hair dryer so asked at reception if I could hire one and was given one to lend for free. Felt really secure at night as its 24hr reception. Vending machines in hotel to grab a quick drink instead of walking to shops. We was allowed to leave our luggage in a locked room till it was time to be picked up for no extra cost. Would recommend this hotel 110% and will be going back next year when we go again.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 2101 next to reception couldn't have asked for a better room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zoe m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    142
    115
    39
    32
See reviews for
31
120
45
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hafnarfjordur, Iceland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

This hotel is smack in the middle of the night life in Amsterdam. It is right on the border to the right light district and the street in front of the hotel is filled with people having a good time almost 24h a day. Plenty of bars, restaurants, coffee houses and cafes. It's also very close to the Central train station so the location is great.
The hotel is very basic but for this price it's great! Everything is very clean and the staff is very friendly. Breakfast is good: Bread, cereal, juices and tea/coffee.
If you want a relatively peaceful night's sleep ask for a room that faces away from the street but there will still be some noise and the walls are paper-thin. Light sleepers should pack ear-plugs! We definitely recommend this hotel for people who want to stay in the middle of the night life and be close to shopping areas as well. Amsterdam is such a convenient city though, you can walk to every place you want to see. Lovely and beautiful and diverse: That is Amsterdam.
A few tips: Buy the City Pass if you want to sight-see, it covers travel cost as well. If you want to see Anne Frank's museum (and it's a must!) buy a ticket on-line to avoid a long queue (2h sometimes!). Visit the Van Gogh on a Friday when there is live music :)
In fact check every museum you want to visit and see if you can buy tickets on-line.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing away from street if you want more quiet. If you want view as well: Try a room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SigrunG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east kilbride
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Just stayed in this amazing hotel for 3 days, was greeted by a lovely young man at reception, it had a lift, which was good as we had the best room 2143 on the 4th floor, lovely big window overlooking the town, shower was great and a tv (limited channels lol) I didn't mind as I'm a reader, breakfast is nice, bread for toast, boiled eggs, slices of meat, cheese ect, cereal and tea lol, room was great for smoking, because of the window, & cleaned every day, not 1nc did we smell a smokey smell, very well cleaned, staff lovely, very easy to find this hotel, out the train st, over the water, take a left, up a bit then a wee bit to right & down the left lane, that should make u see the old nickel, go by old nickel take first right & u there, big red canopy outside it, and the lane it's on it the best lane ever lol, high times nice big comfey couches, I love kebab does the best waffles lol, oh and last thing the cost of this hotel was fabulousness xxxx

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missholiday_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Stayed here for three days and would stay again.Very expensive but that is Amsterdam.Location was perfect as I wanted to be right in the Red light district.Walking distance from the Central train station and only twenty minutes from airport.Hotel could do with a spruce up but it was clean and the staff were great.Breakfast was really good and we felt very safe in this hotel.People in the next room banged doors a lot but that could happen in any hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VancouverLenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

This was my fourth time staying in Amsterdam and my first time staying in this hotel. I went with some friends for a few days. Excellent location, friendly staff and good value for money. Located just beyond Dam square and a handy walk everywhere.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ainebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#182 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Mallemoolen
Hotel De Mallemoolen
#264 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 119 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#59 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Prins Hendrik
Hotel Prins Hendrik
#196 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 531 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#243 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 363 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#140 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Koopermoolen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Koopermoolen

Property: Hotel De Koopermoolen
Address: Warmoesstraat 5, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #225 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Koopermoolen 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel De Koopermoolen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Koopermoolen Hotel
De Koopermoolen Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing