We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“central, clean and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel De Koopermoolen
Ranked #236 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Just got back from Amsterdam this morning what a fantastic experience. Couldn't have picked a better hotel to stay in. Very CLEAN, big room and central to EVERYTHING. Only 2mins walk from central station where we was dropped off. The hotel is on one of the main streets in Amsterdam. Staff are so friendly and helpful to any questions you have. I forgot my hair dryer so asked at reception if I could hire one and was given one to lend for free. Felt really secure at night as its 24hr reception. Vending machines in hotel to grab a quick drink instead of walking to shops. We was allowed to leave our luggage in a locked room till it was time to be picked up for no extra cost. Would recommend this hotel 110% and will be going back next year when we go again.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 2101 next to reception couldn't have asked for a better room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoe m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (474)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 474 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank rothesquine
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Elisabeth-Per
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

This hotel is smack in the middle of the night life in Amsterdam. It is right on the border to the right light district and the street in front of the hotel is filled with people having a good time almost 24h a day. Plenty of bars, restaurants, coffee houses and cafes. It's also very close to the Central train station so the location is great.
The hotel is very basic but for this price it's great! Everything is very clean and the staff is very friendly. Breakfast is good: Bread, cereal, juices and tea/coffee.
If you want a relatively peaceful night's sleep ask for a room that faces away from the street but there will still be some noise and the walls are paper-thin. Light sleepers should pack ear-plugs! We definitely recommend this hotel for people who want to stay in the middle of the night life and be close to shopping areas as well. Amsterdam is such a convenient city though, you can walk to every place you want to see. Lovely and beautiful and diverse: That is Amsterdam.
A few tips: Buy the City Pass if you want to sight-see, it covers travel cost as well. If you want to see Anne Frank's museum (and it's a must!) buy a ticket on-line to avoid a long queue (2h sometimes!). Visit the Van Gogh on a Friday when there is live music :)
In fact check every museum you want to visit and see if you can buy tickets on-line.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing away from street if you want more quiet. If you want view as well: Try a room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SigrunG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Just stayed in this amazing hotel for 3 days, was greeted by a lovely young man at reception, it had a lift, which was good as we had the best room 2143 on the 4th floor, lovely big window overlooking the town, shower was great and a tv (limited channels lol) I didn't mind as I'm a reader, breakfast is nice, bread for toast, boiled eggs, slices of meat, cheese ect, cereal and tea lol, room was great for smoking, because of the window, & cleaned every day, not 1nc did we smell a smokey smell, very well cleaned, staff lovely, very easy to find this hotel, out the train st, over the water, take a left, up a bit then a wee bit to right & down the left lane, that should make u see the old nickel, go by old nickel take first right & u there, big red canopy outside it, and the lane it's on it the best lane ever lol, high times nice big comfey couches, I love kebab does the best waffles lol, oh and last thing the cost of this hotel was fabulousness xxxx

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missholiday_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Stayed here for three days and would stay again.Very expensive but that is Amsterdam.Location was perfect as I wanted to be right in the Red light district.Walking distance from the Central train station and only twenty minutes from airport.Hotel could do with a spruce up but it was clean and the staff were great.Breakfast was really good and we felt very safe in this hotel.People in the next room banged doors a lot but that could happen in any hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VancouverLenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

This was my fourth time staying in Amsterdam and my first time staying in this hotel. I went with some friends for a few days. Excellent location, friendly staff and good value for money. Located just beyond Dam square and a handy walk everywhere.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ainebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Mallemoolen
Hotel De Mallemoolen
#301 of 374 in Amsterdam
131 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#183 of 374 in Amsterdam
274 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
France Hotel Amsterdam
France Hotel Amsterdam
#235 of 374 in Amsterdam
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#231 of 374 in Amsterdam
458 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#145 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,361 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Prins Hendrik
Hotel Prins Hendrik
#220 of 374 in Amsterdam
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Koopermoolen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Koopermoolen

Address: Warmoesstraat 5, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #236 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $97 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel De Koopermoolen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel De Koopermoolen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Koopermoolen Hotel
De Koopermoolen Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing