We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel De Koopermoolen
Ranked #237 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We liked the location and the breakfast.!The apartment was sufficiently clean.There were extra charges at the overall price but we think that they should be included in the booked price.The stairs were very steep!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Georgios M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 470 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We loved staying here when we came 10 th october 2013 only wished we stayed longer the location was excellent only 4-5 mins walk from central station got all shops bars and restaurants on your doorstep the hotel was great rooms clean tidy had all you needed staff very friendly and helpful breakfast room spotless and had a great selection of food enjoyed it very much . Let us keep the room on for a small fee so was not hanging around for hours and when the time was up they said we could stay until the last minuet before we left so was not hanging around . We really enjoyed it would recommend this hotel to anyone so if you are going to Amsterdam and want a nice hotel to stay in book koopermoolen you won't regret it .

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mikeycoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Quite good value - great location - will probably return there next year !
Rooms tiny, sparse, cramped and very limited in amenities ... but this is the same with most 3 star hotels in central Amsterdam.
Breakfast - ok - adequate ... no more
Staff very friendly (well most of them ... but that's life - right?)

Room Tip: I was not facing the street & it was quiet ... no problem. But rooms are tiny - unless you get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jay1234dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Lovely reception staff, clean and centrally located. Unfortunately, on our 1st morning after staying, €40 was taken out of my jeans pocket by housekeeping staff. I spoke to him directly and he said he found €20 on the floor of my room and reported it to reception staff and I checked, he did do this, so am sure he's a proffessional theif (giving me my €20 back yet keeping the other) DO NOT LEAVE MONEY IN ROOM. The manager didn't even look at me and said 'how long are you here for? Why have you only got €40? The cheek. Rude, rude,manager with no apology.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

great location the hotel is good and good is the word for a few reasons, taking into consideration we were on a lads holiday, it was situated on the woermstratt great party strip full of bars and coffeshops and around the corner from the beautiful amsterdam central and also a 5 minute walk from the red light.

hotel wise it was ok the staff are friendly, the room we got papped in the room above the strip which was not too bad, a bit noisy but if you are highly baked and been mindlessly wandering around amsterdam all day it doesnt make a difference. The breakfast was surprisingly good and the room was a smoker friendly which was brill!. The bad points about the hotel was the fact you have to share a shower, you would be up and down those steep almost vertical stairs like yoyo to use it.

Overall it was not bad, but worth the money and the location booked it again for next year

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steveysteve420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I have actually stayed here twice, purely based on price and location. Amsterdam hotels are usually very expensive so this appears like a good option, but having stayed twice I really wouldn't again. The rooms are small and cramped, outdated and poor facilities. The only good aspect I can report is that the front desk staff are cheerful 24/7, however you can't help but feel this is more of a hostel than a hotel. The stairs are a nightmare to climb and are wooden so if you are placed anywhere near these you will hear people going up and down the stairs all night long. If you want very cheap and basic then this place is for you, if you want even a tiny bit of luxury then don't stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gavin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Mallemoolen
Hotel De Mallemoolen
#303 of 372 in Amsterdam
129 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#235 of 372 in Amsterdam
452 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Prins Hendrik
Hotel Prins Hendrik
#224 of 372 in Amsterdam
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#181 of 372 in Amsterdam
272 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#67 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,057 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
France Hotel Amsterdam
France Hotel Amsterdam
#227 of 372 in Amsterdam
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Koopermoolen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Koopermoolen

Address: Warmoesstraat 5, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #237 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $127 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel De Koopermoolen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel De Koopermoolen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Koopermoolen Hotel
De Koopermoolen Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing