We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location but VERY noisy at night” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel De Koopermoolen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel De Koopermoolen
Ranked #234 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Location but VERY noisy at night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Excellent location on the edge of the red light district and in walking distance of all main attractions. 5 of us stayed in the 6 bed apartment next to the main hotel, it was very basic and dated and could do with a lick of paint and update. No kettle but had microwave and cooker but no pans! However bedding was clean and towels replaced daily. Hotel receptionist ripped off the owner ! He told us and many other people that the card machine was broken, we refused to pay full amount by cash but did give him 300 euro's and said we would pay remainder of balance the following day - when we went to do this, the owner was called and told us he had done a runner with all the cash for the day - luckily we hadn't paid the full amount which was very good for the owner. Very noisy at night and around 4am the local businesses start putting out the rubbish and recycling all the bottles. Stairs to apartment were very steep and narrow - quite dangerous really and a nightmare to carry luggage up and down! Could do with room safe as the ones in reception area are on full view

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    144
    119
    39
    36
See reviews for
31
127
46
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Close to everything, perfect location, it is my second visit to this hotel this year and I will definitely be back again :) staff are friendly and helpful!! I can safely say I recommend this hotel :).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Danitza C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Having looked at hotels in Amsterdam in the past and been put off due to the prices for a central hotel I was pleased to find this hotel at roughly £45 per night. The hotel is basic but clean, the rooms have everything you need and a nice powerful shower. Fair enough the window looked out onto another room with no sunlight but I didnt go to Amsterdam to look out of the window. Breakfast was included and consisted of cereal, cakes, bread, fruit and meat. The location is fantastic, 5 mins walk from Centraal Station and within walking distance to Dam Square, Red Light District and coffee shops. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tim2788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed here for first time and was pleasently surprised. Room was nice and clean and the bed very comfortable. I will stay here again. My only criticism is lack of in room safe, and a charge for safe in reception.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
217 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We landed up at hotel de koopermoolen by default as one member of our party was already in Amsterdam on conference and wanted to book at tgwir hotel for us when we arrived. Little did we know that Amsterdam was fully booked but they still had space here! It was great that from Amsterdam centraal station it was only a very short walk to the hotel. It was very central (short walk to Dam square) and had many cafés and restaurants close by. Perhaps the only let down of the location was that it was close to the red light district and many bars which meant party goers could be heard late into the night! However the rooms were clean and the breakfast was good! For this price I wouldn't mind staying here again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Mallemoolen
Hotel De Mallemoolen
#265 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#180 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#63 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#230 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Prins Hendrik
Hotel Prins Hendrik
#191 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#140 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Koopermoolen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Koopermoolen

Property: Hotel De Koopermoolen
Address: Warmoesstraat 5, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #234 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Koopermoolen 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel De Koopermoolen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Koopermoolen Hotel
De Koopermoolen Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing