We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable Price with an Elevator”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel De Koopermoolen
Ranked #237 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed June 15, 2011

We stayed here in early June, 2011 with our four adult sons. We had a double & 2 twin rooms. The importance of an elevator in Amsterdam cannot be overstated. The stairs are murderous.
The rooms were small, very small, but what more do you need but a place to sleep & a desk to put the laptop on? Free WiFi, smoking allowed in the rooms, daily service.

The rooms were very clean & the staff were friendly & helpful. The beds were quite comfortable as well. The windows seemed to block out most of the street noise, so all in all we had a very comfortable stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CathyOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 470 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2011

Staff were really friendly and helpful. Felt really safe in the hotel and the location was amazing, right in the middle of everything! Would defiently recommend. Don't expect 5 star accommodation just a great value basic hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hannah258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We stayed here on a short break on our honeymoon. The staff were lovely, welcoming and friendly. We were upgraded to the loft suite with the fancy bath free of charge which we thought was a nice touch. If you have high expectations of a hotel with pampering and relaxation then this isn't the place for you. However, if you're after somewhere central to everything and somewhere to get your head down then I would suggest this place. We did suffer from the heat being at the top and it being rather warm outside but they provided a fan which helped keep us cool. We were recommended this hotel by some family that had stayed here previously and do plan to return in the future.

Room Tip: Take a kettle, tea/coffee etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank triximarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

My wife booked this hotel for our first two nights in Holland. She chose it mostly for its location and proximity to Central Station. The hotel is very convenient to walk to all attractions in the city; nothing was more than a ½ hour walk.
When we arrived the desk clerk was very helpful and cheery. Our room was on the fourth floor and was part of the attic space. We were in Holland during a very warm spring and with no ac in the hotel, the room was very warm. Fortunately the windows opened and we both use earplugs. The beds were small low singles with a thin lumpy mattress, I slept not too bad but my wife complained about her back in the morning. The washroom is poorly equipped, there are no hooks or shelves to put anything on or store your towels. When you have a shower you have to just leave the towel on the floor or across the room in the sink. The toilet is what I can best describe as a shelf style that if you haven’t seen one of these old styles before will definitely encourage you to finish quickly or flush and hope for no splash back. It must have been the first design improvement to the Asian squat toilet. Basically a flushing outhouse.
The hotel advertized free wireless internet but the system didn’t work. I inquired at the desk and was told that it was new and didn’t work yet, that was why it was free. When they get it operational they are going to charge for it. So remember it is only free because it doesn’t work. They did have a computer in the lobby that you can use for now if you can get some time on it. That is also not going to be provided for free in the future.
My wife needed to make a call to her cousin so we could meet him for dinner one night and found out that you cannot make outside calls anywhere in the hotel. If you are like us and don’t have a mobile or don’t want to pay exorbitant roaming charges, you have very limited options. There are some but not many pay phones in the city (we only found two that weren’t broken), but they only work with what is called a chip card (basically a prepaid phone card). There are no retailer of these cards anywhere in the vicinity of the phones and the only retailer we found was at central station a ½ hour walk away. There is however no phones in central station so we had to walk ½ hour walk back to the phone near dam square.
A continental breakfast is provided and is above par. Lots of different breads, cheeses, meats, cereals, fresh fruits, juices and hard boiled eggs. You can make a hearty enough breakfast to last you till dinner. I am sure some of the younger guests were making sandwiches to take with them. A sign asks you not to take the food out but many had sandwich bags that they put their lunches in.
All in all our stay at the Koopermoolens hotel was acceptable, but at 130 Euro a night it was overpriced. During our stay the hotel was booked up so we might have been paying a premium. I would think the hotel realistically was worth more in the 80 to 100 Euro a night range in busy season and much less in the off season.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisfromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights and will be happy to stay there again in the future. While some previous complaints about the rooms being a bit tired have some merit I liked the breakfast and the staff were helpful. Not recommended for light sleepers but the location near Central Station and major tourist attractions was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SydneyBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

don't go there unless you 1) like being in the Red Light District along with noisy drunks from the bar next door (all night) 2) are not fussy about cleanliness or poor food. We booked this place through Pand O Superbreak and paid £160 per night for 2nights in a double room. The hotel rates were 100-160euros per night so Pand O made a tidy profit from us.
On arrival we were shown to a ground floor room. Unbelievably this room had NO windows! There was no natural ight whatsoever and when we switched on the lights it made little difference as they were so dim. It was the most depressing room I have ever been in.Back at reception I made my feelings known and we were changed over to a 4th floor room. Beware -if you book this hotel and they are full you might end up in this 'BLACK HOLE'
The web views of the rooms look clean and bright -don't be fooled. There was a general 'stickiness' about the place. On our bed, over the clean sheets, was the most filthy quilt I have ever seen -grubby with dubious stains and hairs from previous occupants. Is this ever washed??
The net curtains were grey. The shower drain contained hair and scum. The basin had no plug
Come on -this is the 21st century -not the 16th!!!!
Breakfast -cheap and nasty sums it up. Chemical juice drinks,tinned fruit,dry, past its best, bread, rubber cheese slices and dubious meat slices, sliced tomato and cucumber left over from the day before (dry) etc etc
The lift was very dodgy and as it was so small (2ft sq) we went up seperately. When I went up it .got stuck between floors which was quite scary Eventually after re pressing the button a few times it edged its way up and I got out. The next day it broke down completely (stuck between floors) and I'm thankful that after our first experience we used the stairs! We won't be going back!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesley004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

As the title of my review implies, we had not booked this hotel in advance. We had been to a concert and planned to wander the streets/do a spot of midnight sight-seeing/have a nap in Central Station if need be before catching an early train to Germany the following day. However, it got to 2.30am and our feet were killing us, Central Station was closed and we just wanted somewhere to lie down. After knocking on various doors and being quoted ridiculous prices, we visited the sister hotel of the Koopermoolen (I can't remember what it was called!) and they couldn't help, but the night manager was kind enough to put us in touch with this hotel. We bartered down to a very cheap rate of £56 for a room (amazing value for something this central at short notice) and checked in.

The guy on reception was very nice. He had a tattoo on his neck and was very funny. He was having to deal with some crazy "regular" who was after a bed for the night also - this guy was bare chested, sweating and had a Cockney accent - if we weren't so knackered we'd have been mortified at what we were potentially letting ourselves in for, but were too tired to care and the receptionist really was a comedian!

He ended up giving us a triple room as that was all that was left which made the £56 price even more appealing. The room was really hot, even with the windows open, but hey, it's July in Amsterdam, what do you expect? Our train out of the Dam was in 3 hours time and we just wanted a disco nap so we didn't care. There were a few dubious stains on the top sheets (because of the heat, we didn't bother to actually LIFT the top sheets, the actual bedsheets may have been pristine underneath, I guess we'll never know!) but we just laid out our towels (which were clean, hoorah!) and fell asleep on top of them.

The room had it's own shower and toilet (so rare to find this in a hotel of this price category in central amsterdam!) which seemed to be in good condition and working order, although we didn't use the shower due to lack of time. Yeah, there was a fair bit of noise from the street below but again, what do you expect? We were so tired, we got the 3 hours sleep we wanted in a safe, comfortable room that was a stones throw from Central Station and was two thirds cheaper than the price of what all the other hotels were asking.

Also, breakfast was included in the rate - again, such a rarity! It was quite cute as the receptionist had asked us if we required a wake-up call before we went to bed the night before and when we came down into reception at 6.15am, he was fast asleep in his chair! He raced downstairs to put the lights on in the breakfast room and left us to help ourselves after grabbing a few essentials out of the fridge (milk and some fruit etc) Everything else - the cereal, the breads had presumably been left there all night and for God knows how many days before that, so we reluctantly ate the "safe" stuff and didn't touch any of the cold meats/cheese although in fairness, it all looked very nice and contrary to what other reviewers have said, there seemed to be a fair bit of choice.

To summarise, this hotel does exactly what it says on the tin. It gives you 2 star standards in a great location. I observed the price list in reception and the rack rate for our room was allegedly over 200 Euros and to be honest, you'd be a fool to pay that although I'm sure less seasoned travellers than myself would fall for it but places like this are happy to let you barter - I mean, we wandered in at 2.30am, who else was gonna sleep in that room and spend £56? Certainly not the crazy Cockney!

I would stay again if I was in the same predicament, but I very much doubt I ever will be although I'd definitely pop by the Koopermoolen again just to say hi to the owner for being such a good entertainer and a thoroughly nice bloke for saving 2 young ladies from a night of horror on the streets of Amsterdam!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LukewarmCatastrophe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Mallemoolen
Hotel De Mallemoolen
#303 of 372 in Amsterdam
129 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#235 of 372 in Amsterdam
452 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Prins Hendrik
Hotel Prins Hendrik
#224 of 372 in Amsterdam
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#181 of 372 in Amsterdam
272 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#67 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,057 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
France Hotel Amsterdam
France Hotel Amsterdam
#227 of 372 in Amsterdam
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Koopermoolen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Koopermoolen

Address: Warmoesstraat 5, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #237 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $127 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel De Koopermoolen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel De Koopermoolen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Koopermoolen Hotel
De Koopermoolen Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing