We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LeslieH”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
Ranked #228 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed July 5, 2012

The hotel is well situated, overlooking a park and near a tram stop. The zoo is two minutes walk away, with the Botanical Gardens even closer. It is on a quiet street, the hotel is clean and tidy. It looks like the rooms have been recently refurbished. The bed was very comfortable and there was plenty to eat at breakfast. The staff were polite and friendly. Be aware that it has the traditional Dutch steep stairs. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Room Six is at that back of the hotel, it is big and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 118 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2012

We loved this little hotel! We stayed in room 41 wich although small, was super cute and romantic complete with wood beams and a large window. Clean shower with lots of water pressure, delicious breakfast, a very cozy family like hotel with lots of soul, very far from the businessy atmosphere we found in most other hotels in Amsterdam. We had to flee from a hotel that was a total rip off and looked for an other one to stay at and were amazed at the amount of rip off there was. Do ask to see the room if possible in most Amsterdam hotel, before comitting. Staff was warm and welcoming, super helpful. The breafast was huge and very fresh, you can make your own eggs on a cooking stove with all the seasoning you like ( chives, peppers, onions etc...). The wifi quality was excelent, even at the top of the hotel wich was instrumental for me cause i had a project fo finish. The best part is its top location in the heart of Amsterdam, close to all cool areas. LOVED IT

Room Tip: We loved our little room 41 and generally i think staying on the fourth floor is cool because of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucicae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Good location a few minutes walk from the city center. Nice view from the hotel over
Wertheimpark. Friendly staff that helps you with all your tourist needs. The rooms are nice and clean, though a bit worn. Good selection of restaurants nearby.

N.B. If you are disabled or/and have the slightest problem with narrow and steep stairs you should avoid this place since there is no elevator.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikaelH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

The hotel staff were very nice and helpful and gave a good introduction to Amsterdam.

The hotel is located about 10min from the main street Damrak and 15min from the central station, if you take the tram. Tram 9 and 14 stop right around the corner.

The room was, in my case, a nice single room with own balcony. It was small but enough when you are out all day anyway. Good bathroom.
My room was no. 10 - the NEW no. 10. The old no. 10 (now no. 14 I think) is now the budget single and only has a window in the ceiling... My room was on the 3rd floor and not handicap friendly because of the stairs.

Breakfast (included) was really good. Nice dining room and good selection of food.

It was a bit pricey, but as a student, what isn't?

All in all I was very happy with the hotel and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 10 is a great single room! It has the only balcony and is very quiet. Good bed, nice bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sofieDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Modest hotel on the edge of the Plantage district. Half and hour’s walk to the main sites, but with convenient tram connections. Free wifi and good water pressure in the shower. Clean and reasonably comfortable, adequate buffet breakfast in a room which seems to double as the hotel office. Stairs very steep, which might be difficult for some guests. Interior is not attractive and the entrance hall is uninviting.
The hotel is across the road from a small park which is the setting for Jan Wolkers’s great memorial to Dutch Jews who died in Auschwitz.

Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
1  Thank Brian_de_Kilburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

The hotel is located in a quiet neighbourhood, not too far from the centre (around 20 minutes by foot) and has a close tram stop which takes you to most key city points. Our room was big (room for 3), the bathroom was pretty new and clean. The bad: the heating didn't work at all on our 5 nights stay and after complaining a couple of times, nothing changed. The beds are terribly uncomfortable, the mattress is extra soft with like broken springs, the worst bed I have ever slept on.
The breakfast is OK, it's what you expect from most European hotels. Concluding, OK value for the money taking into consideration that hotels in Amsterdam are incredibly expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NatureGalIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

Nice staff, nice room, nice breakfast. The Hotel is located in a typical Dutch building. There’s no elevator, our room (room 11) was a long walk upstairs… Busstop and tramstop nearby. Located in a beautiful area in Amsterdam, near Artis Zoo and the Tropenmuseum.

P.s. Please beware of room 10 (budget): Only 1 window (roof), and terribly hot in the summer.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kriskros84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hortus
Hotel Hortus
#233 of 375 in Amsterdam
453 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#178 of 375 in Amsterdam
966 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Museumzicht
Hotel Museumzicht
#229 of 375 in Amsterdam
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#97 of 375 in Amsterdam
4,064 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#237 of 375 in Amsterdam
304 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Rembrandt
Hotel Rembrandt
#180 of 375 in Amsterdam
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Hotel Parklane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Hotel Parklane

Address: Plantage Parklaan 16, 1018 ST Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $57 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Amsterdam Hotel Parklane 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amsterdam Hotel Parklane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parklane Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing