We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Orange Tulip HOSTEL is more appropriate.”
Review of Orange Tulip Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Orange Tulip Hotel
Ranked #351 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel is close to Amsterdam Centraal Station, the front door of the hotel is really just one door wide, 2 door before Lindbergh Tour n Tickets, you might miss it if you dont look closely. First we have to get upstairs to the receptionist, check in was easy, surely they would ask you to pay for another 'city tax' even though you have paid for city tax when you booked via online. We want no hassle with the receptionist after long flight so we pay around 50 euros for 6 persons. Next, as been stated in many many reviews here, we had to drag our luggage 2 sets of stair upstairs. No difference between emergency exit and serious steep stairs here. Go straight on to the emergency exit after the restroom after you finish check in, it is less steeper and dangerous than the stair right in front of the receptionist. We had one room for 2 and one room for 4 at the third floor. The room for 2 was quite small with 2 single beds, one chair, cupboard, and bathroom. Beds were okay, no bed bugs at all, they never change any of our bed sheets for 4 nights, they didnt make our rooms as well. They only open our window and put new towels everyday. Extra pillow and blanket wereavailable. Bathroom was okay, no strange smell, they provided shampoo-body soap, handsoap, and some paper glass. The water would sprinkle around the bathroom if you dont close the curtain. no mat available so bring one. The heater didnt work. The room for 4 was gloomy, bunk beds with no chair, no cupboard, but bigger bathroom than the room for 2. Sleep quality was okay, no sudden wake up because of door slamming, street noises. The receptionist was nice, people taking shifts with no uniform. they let us left our luggage in the locked luggage room as our rooms were not ready yet. But they didnt care how many, which one is ours or other people's, so they would not know if somebody also take our luggage with theirs.

Room Tip: Room 311 and 312 was okay, I have no idea about other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 262 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

Just want to get this out there: NO BEDBUGS were found during our stay! :-) We were all worried because of the bedbug reports. Me and my party shared 2 rooms and all found it fine - no-one was bitten or otherwise attacked by any viscous nasties!

You get what you pay for here, which is a very central location, solid and safe door entry system, 24 hour reception, a bed, a bathroom and not much more.

This was one of the cheapest places to stay in Amsterdam and is right on the Damrak which itself is next to the Grasshopper, Red Light District, Central Station and bloody fantastic smaller, independent bars and eateries (that don't rip you off like most tourist bars and restaurants in Amsterdam) - I can recommend Wok To Walk, Burger Bar and the bars near there.

The rooms were clean enough - which is to say that could have been cleaner.

The bathrooms were stocked with clean towels, soap and shower gel.

I would stay here again if I was on a budget and fancied a trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mattsand0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The staff is nice, hotel location is good, very close to the center railway station. HOWEVER It is a terrible experience, never ever want to think again. I am still suffering....

There are many BED BUGS, eat you alive, it is so horrible, never had before. I only stay in the room for 1 night, and take me more than 3 weeks to recover, and leave a lot scar on my skin, hate it so much! The worst part is, those bed bugs stays with you, and I accidentally brought home too, wanna cry.....have to buy a lot of stuffs to kill them, still in fight!!

BE CAREFUL BEFORE YOU CHOOSE.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed here on 15th May 2013 as myself & a group of friends were attending the europa league final. We originally booked this (hotel) for its
central location & ignored all previous reviews to our mistake ! Room was dirty, smelly & you would have needed oxygen to reach it via the narrowest steepest stairs I have ever witnessed.on booking we were promised on suite bathroom & shower what we received was a sink (dirty & cracked) & a shared shower & toilet 2 floors down without doubt the worst hotel I have ever stayed in !!! Stay hear at your peril

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Therealblues4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Myself and a few friends stayed here for the Europa League final and are glad we only had to stay one night....we stayed here because of its great location to the station as we were leaving early the next day.....
Upon arrival we were told that we would have to wait to check-in, which was grand because we had arrived early and had people to meet in the city centre. When we came back and checked in the room we got was not the room we had booked, apart from the hike to the top floor, and i do mean hike, we had no toilet (as promised) and no shower (as promised) we had to use the shared facilities, which wouldn't have mattered, if they had been on the same floor!! When we approached the receptionist about the obvious mix up he told us it was out of his hands and that this was up to the manager, so he called the manager who came onto the phone and promptly told us that if we weren't satisfied that all we had to do was leave, because we had already paid and brought all our stuff up to the room we decided to stay anyway, but i will strongly recommend staying somewhere else in Amsterdam......maybe the train station floor perhaps!

Room Tip: Avoid room 309 at all costs.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank therealwoodsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

I was glad to find a hotel that could accommodate 5 people. As we approached the hotel door- I felt nervous that this place might have been the wrong choice. The front door had smudges and just simply not very clean. The stairs were all very steep- typical of an older building, but when you have luggages it's horrible! Luckily, there's always a hotel guest that went out of their way to help (European men, of course!). The rooms were not the best, but surprisingly- the beds were comfortable. Overall, the place is good for young people who travels in groups. It's cheap- about $200 can sleep 6. The place is not totally horrible - if you are just there to sleep for a few hours. The location is within distance to a lot of places. Walking distance to the Train Station and the Red Light District. I hope this helps.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitchafable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

After reading some of the reviews my boyfriend and I were slightly worried about what we should expect, however once we were up in the reception we were welcomed by friendly staff who let us check in early and later happily gave us directions and advice when we asked.
When we walked in the room we found that it was larger than expected and we had been given a triple room, rather than a double, complete with a balcony looking out onto the street and canal which was a lovely view. The room was very clean and bright and wasn't too hot or too cold. The beds were comfortable with clean sheets and no bed bugs which we were worried about after reading some of the recent reviews!
The hotel does not serve breakfast, however the restaurant underneath the hotel is open all day with a 10% discount for hotel guests and a variety of cheap breakfast choices.
Overall, there was nothing we could complain about as the hotel was just right for us and we were welcomed and not treated like the typical loud, young British tourists! As well as this the beds and bathroom were clean, the location was great (very noisy but what can you expect staying in the centre?!) and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RL1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#295 of 372 in Amsterdam
732 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#326 of 372 in Amsterdam
191 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#119 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#235 of 372 in Amsterdam
452 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Multatuli
Hotel Multatuli
#242 of 372 in Amsterdam
521 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#68 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange Tulip Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Tulip Hotel

Address: Damrak 32, 1012 LK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #351 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $97 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Orange Tulip Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orange Tulip downtown hotel Amsterdam is a small sixteen room hotel located on Amsterdam's main street, the Damrak. The hotel has single, twin, triple, four and five person rooms. The location is ideal – a three minute walk from Amsterdam central station between the station and the Dam square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Orange Tulip Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Oranje Tulp Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing