We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“You get what you pay for...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orange Tulip Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Orange Tulip Hotel
Ranked #334 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Just want to get this out there: NO BEDBUGS were found during our stay! :-) We were all worried because of the bedbug reports. Me and my party shared 2 rooms and all found it fine - no-one was bitten or otherwise attacked by any viscous nasties!

You get what you pay for here, which is a very central location, solid and safe door entry system, 24 hour reception, a bed, a bathroom and not much more.

This was one of the cheapest places to stay in Amsterdam and is right on the Damrak which itself is next to the Grasshopper, Red Light District, Central Station and bloody fantastic smaller, independent bars and eateries (that don't rip you off like most tourist bars and restaurants in Amsterdam) - I can recommend Wok To Walk, Burger Bar and the bars near there.

The rooms were clean enough - which is to say that could have been cleaner.

The bathrooms were stocked with clean towels, soap and shower gel.

I would stay here again if I was on a budget and fancied a trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattsand0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    33
    57
    45
    102
See reviews for
17
58
36
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

The staff is nice, hotel location is good, very close to the center railway station. HOWEVER It is a terrible experience, never ever want to think again. I am still suffering....

There are many BED BUGS, eat you alive, it is so horrible, never had before. I only stay in the room for 1 night, and take me more than 3 weeks to recover, and leave a lot scar on my skin, hate it so much! The worst part is, those bed bugs stays with you, and I accidentally brought home too, wanna cry.....have to buy a lot of stuffs to kill them, still in fight!!

BE CAREFUL BEFORE YOU CHOOSE.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed here on 15th May 2013 as myself & a group of friends were attending the europa league final. We originally booked this (hotel) for its
central location & ignored all previous reviews to our mistake ! Room was dirty, smelly & you would have needed oxygen to reach it via the narrowest steepest stairs I have ever witnessed.on booking we were promised on suite bathroom & shower what we received was a sink (dirty & cracked) & a shared shower & toilet 2 floors down without doubt the worst hotel I have ever stayed in !!! Stay hear at your peril

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Therealblues4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Myself and a few friends stayed here for the Europa League final and are glad we only had to stay one night....we stayed here because of its great location to the station as we were leaving early the next day.....
Upon arrival we were told that we would have to wait to check-in, which was grand because we had arrived early and had people to meet in the city centre. When we came back and checked in the room we got was not the room we had booked, apart from the hike to the top floor, and i do mean hike, we had no toilet (as promised) and no shower (as promised) we had to use the shared facilities, which wouldn't have mattered, if they had been on the same floor!! When we approached the receptionist about the obvious mix up he told us it was out of his hands and that this was up to the manager, so he called the manager who came onto the phone and promptly told us that if we weren't satisfied that all we had to do was leave, because we had already paid and brought all our stuff up to the room we decided to stay anyway, but i will strongly recommend staying somewhere else in Amsterdam......maybe the train station floor perhaps!

Room Tip: Avoid room 309 at all costs.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank therealwoodsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

I was glad to find a hotel that could accommodate 5 people. As we approached the hotel door- I felt nervous that this place might have been the wrong choice. The front door had smudges and just simply not very clean. The stairs were all very steep- typical of an older building, but when you have luggages it's horrible! Luckily, there's always a hotel guest that went out of their way to help (European men, of course!). The rooms were not the best, but surprisingly- the beds were comfortable. Overall, the place is good for young people who travels in groups. It's cheap- about $200 can sleep 6. The place is not totally horrible - if you are just there to sleep for a few hours. The location is within distance to a lot of places. Walking distance to the Train Station and the Red Light District. I hope this helps.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitchafable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

After reading some of the reviews my boyfriend and I were slightly worried about what we should expect, however once we were up in the reception we were welcomed by friendly staff who let us check in early and later happily gave us directions and advice when we asked.
When we walked in the room we found that it was larger than expected and we had been given a triple room, rather than a double, complete with a balcony looking out onto the street and canal which was a lovely view. The room was very clean and bright and wasn't too hot or too cold. The beds were comfortable with clean sheets and no bed bugs which we were worried about after reading some of the recent reviews!
The hotel does not serve breakfast, however the restaurant underneath the hotel is open all day with a 10% discount for hotel guests and a variety of cheap breakfast choices.
Overall, there was nothing we could complain about as the hotel was just right for us and we were welcomed and not treated like the typical loud, young British tourists! As well as this the beds and bathroom were clean, the location was great (very noisy but what can you expect staying in the centre?!) and helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RL1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with one other person before, quite simply we had a tiny room which is what you expect from Amsterdam, but the bed sheets were dirty and the room and whole building smelled like cats urine, the window into our room didn't lock so we had to baracade it shut to stop the mice and rats comin in, far better places to stay

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manonamissionn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#111 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#312 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#307 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#140 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#63 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#230 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange Tulip Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Tulip Hotel

Property: Orange Tulip Hotel
Address: Damrak 32, 1012 LK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #334 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Orange Tulip Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orange Tulip downtown hotel Amsterdam is a small sixteen room hotel located on Amsterdam's main street, the Damrak. The hotel has single, twin, triple, four and five person rooms. The location is ideal – a three minute walk from Amsterdam central station between the station and the Dam square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Orange Tulip Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Oranje Tulp Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing