We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and great location!”
Review of Orange Tulip Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Orange Tulip Hotel
Ranked #352 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

I was glad to find a hotel that could accommodate 5 people. As we approached the hotel door- I felt nervous that this place might have been the wrong choice. The front door had smudges and just simply not very clean. The stairs were all very steep- typical of an older building, but when you have luggages it's horrible! Luckily, there's always a hotel guest that went out of their way to help (European men, of course!). The rooms were not the best, but surprisingly- the beds were comfortable. Overall, the place is good for young people who travels in groups. It's cheap- about $200 can sleep 6. The place is not totally horrible - if you are just there to sleep for a few hours. The location is within distance to a lot of places. Walking distance to the Train Station and the Red Light District. I hope this helps.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitchafable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 264 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013

After reading some of the reviews my boyfriend and I were slightly worried about what we should expect, however once we were up in the reception we were welcomed by friendly staff who let us check in early and later happily gave us directions and advice when we asked.
When we walked in the room we found that it was larger than expected and we had been given a triple room, rather than a double, complete with a balcony looking out onto the street and canal which was a lovely view. The room was very clean and bright and wasn't too hot or too cold. The beds were comfortable with clean sheets and no bed bugs which we were worried about after reading some of the recent reviews!
The hotel does not serve breakfast, however the restaurant underneath the hotel is open all day with a 10% discount for hotel guests and a variety of cheap breakfast choices.
Overall, there was nothing we could complain about as the hotel was just right for us and we were welcomed and not treated like the typical loud, young British tourists! As well as this the beds and bathroom were clean, the location was great (very noisy but what can you expect staying in the centre?!) and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RL1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with one other person before, quite simply we had a tiny room which is what you expect from Amsterdam, but the bed sheets were dirty and the room and whole building smelled like cats urine, the window into our room didn't lock so we had to baracade it shut to stop the mice and rats comin in, far better places to stay

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manonamissionn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

What a pit would never stay there again. Staff were great ,location spot on ,but the place itself is a mess ....you can't pollish a you know what...paid 60 odd quid a night for a twin with a bin and then the city tax on arrival No breakfast and a coffee machine in reception thank goodness the coffee shop 420 was 30 second walk after a smoke of haze I forgot all about the hotel and had a jolly good weekend

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Cheap simple accommodation, rooms damp but bedding was clean and beds were comfy! Very cold only one small radiator wrap up! Staff were really nice has no problem with them! Would not return with the MRS!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank AMSTA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Hotel is in a great location if you want the busy / vibrant part of Amsterdam, about a 2 minute walk from Central Station.

As soon as we got to the hotel however, we were told that there was a 30 euro tax to be paid, we had no other option but to pay the money. We finally made it to our room (after walking up some seriously steep stairs), we were greeted to a tiny room with bunk beds, which can only be described as a prison cell. Bedding looked unclean, graffiti on the beds and generally poorly maintained. Bath had no plug, so could only have a shower. A positive was that we got fresh towels every day and the maid cleaned the room (to a certain extent) daily. I had no issue with noise from the street, as we were at the back of the hotel - instead we had poor views and smells coming from the alley behind. Next time I visit Amsterdam I would not go back to the hotel.

On our last day we visited the restaurant downstairs and the food was quite good and quite reasonable (compared to other places nearby).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#326 of 374 in Amsterdam
191 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Multatuli
Hotel Multatuli
#244 of 374 in Amsterdam
527 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#311 of 374 in Amsterdam
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#231 of 374 in Amsterdam
458 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,244 reviews
Centrum
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#171 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange Tulip Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Tulip Hotel

Address: Damrak 32, 1012 LK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #352 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $81 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Orange Tulip Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orange Tulip downtown hotel Amsterdam is a small sixteen room hotel located on Amsterdam's main street, the Damrak. The hotel has single, twin, triple, four and five person rooms. The location is ideal – a three minute walk from Amsterdam central station between the station and the Dam square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Orange Tulip Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Oranje Tulp Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing