We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing stay”
Review of Hotel Roemer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Roemer
Ranked #86 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2010

We decided to take a wee break to Amsterdam for out Honeymoon, and I loved the look of the Hotel Roemer straight away.
I certainly was not disappointed. The immediate impression of the hotel was just amazing, it's gorgeous.
The staff just bent over backwards to please, they are so friendly & polite.
I absolutely loved my stay here & will be booking again!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrssmith1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (784)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

471 - 477 of 784 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2010

Let me start by saying I would stay here again I did like the Hotel a lot BUT my room was in the basement and although quite big for european standards (Huge bathroom big jacuzzi and double rain showers) the fact you are in the what was the cellar made the views out as you can quess a little limiting.
It was an Executive room number 15 but being below ground and right under the hotel reception made it quite noisey at times, if I stay there again I would ask for an upper floor room for sure. The location is great, shops and resturants are all walking distance, but the centre of the city is about 25 min walk away which to my mind is no big deal you see so much more when you walk. The tram stop anyway is only a block away. The staff where very helpful friendly and I liked the free drinks and snacks. I did think it a little over priced but thats Amsterdam I guess. Overall I enjoyed my two night stay a the Hotel but next time I would get a upper floor room for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foreman41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2010

This hotel has all you need if you plan to be out and about in Amsterdam. It is a far walk from the central station, but that means it is in a much nicer, cleaner, and safer area than the main city center. There are great restaurants and bars within walking distance, like the Hard Rock, Dutch and Irish Pubs, and lots of Asian and Italian Restaurants. It is very dutch style with small hallways and steep stairs, but we found that charming. The rooms are more spacious than many boutique hotels, and the bathrooms are huge. Though the bathroom was not entirely clean, meaning soap scum and scuff marks (but not meaning unhygienic clean), I enjoyed the large tub, great rain shower, and TV in the bathroom. The free drinks, cocktails, and coffee in the lounge were a nice treat as well, and the out door area looked lovely. As usual with these hotels, the front desk person was not the most out going, but check in and check out were prompt and easy. Our dogs were tolerated, and we always appreciate that.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLS813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

Have stayed at this hotel 5 times or so during 2008 and 2009.
Really enjoy their decorations of the rooms and the very stylish bar area.
The rooms vary a lot in size so you can be lucky to get one of the better rooms, but I believe they usually sell them at a higher price (as junior suites or the like).

Free minibar is included in the stay and it is well stocked, and should you miss anything feel free to go down to the bar and get a free drink.

It is a nice hotel and if you book in advance you can get ok rates, but I would say there are better deals avaliable in Amsterdam center if you are travelling on a budget.

Positive:
Cool interiour
Free minibar
Free bar
Great atmosphere
Perfect location - next to Leidseplan (bar/cafe area), Vondelpark (green park) and the shopping district in Amsterdam
Small hotel (less then 30 rooms I believe)

Negative:
Mediocore staff
Sometimes a bit overpriced
Average breakfast (below average for a hotel in this league)

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Banko-DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2010

A wonderful hotel for a weekend break, situated in a lovely part of Amsterdam, away from the "tourist" areas. We were always welcomed with a friendly smile. What a pleasure to return to a cosy lounge with a fire going and a complimentary glass, or 2, of wine, after a day of sightseeing. All our rooms were together, but individual, stylish and relaxing.
Look forward to returning to this hotel one day.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weekendwithfriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2010

This hotel has it all. Style, Elegance, Value, Location and a fully stocked and inclusive room bar!!

What more can I say!

I still don't think the night manager forgave us for trying to catch his ducks at 7am!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip_L_Meehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2010

Running the usual gauntlet with internet, you never really know what you are going to get but this hotel exceeded our expectations. The location was great because personally we didn't want to be at the heart of the red light district and tourist schmaltz! It is 2 minutes walk from Leidseplein which has lots of bars and restaurants as well as being located very near to the Van Gogh Museum and easily walkable to the Anne Frank House. People that moaned on here about the size of the rooms really should realise that this is Amsterdam and not New York - the buildings are naturally smaller people! The rooms are well equipped and the bed and bathroom were very good, we were only sorry it was too cold to expereince the balcony. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and really couldn't do enough for us. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are planning sight seeing but maybe not one for the lads stag do!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#132 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,468 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#30 of 374 in Amsterdam
899 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#25 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#51 of 374 in Amsterdam
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roemer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roemer

Address: Roemer Visscherstraat 8-10, 1054 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#94 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $115 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Roemer 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Roemer has 37 rooms, all of them equipped with air-conditioning, flat screen and a espresso machine. Build in English and American adaptors assure a comfortable working environment for every guest. All rooms are individually designed with high standard design furniture combined with own designs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Roemer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roemer Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing