We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Roemer

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Roemer
Ranked #51 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London,UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my boyfriend for a couple of nights and we loved it. the rooms were very quiet, good size, great bath tub with jacuzzi! location is perfect as well, walking distance to the main attractions. Reception staff was friendly. Just one small drawback is the door that opens outwards, can be dangerous especially with rains on slippery steps that lead to the entrance. All in all was a great stay and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tanyael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    225
    52
    17
    11
See reviews for
53
362
29
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely long weekend except that it rained all weekend but the hotel made up for it. Great location and lovely decor but just a few niggljng issues. No chest of draws in our junior suite, blocked drain, faulty DVD player but overall lovely place to stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tadworth70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed here the last week of September and were pleased. The room was upgraded as per previous recommendations and everything was great. The location was better than anticipated. Staff were very helpful.
Will stay again.

Room Tip: Room 27 if it is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I found the Hotel Roemer on your site and thought the pictures looked right up my alley so I booked it. Off the beaten path but close to everything we wanted to do from Museums, Canals and Shopping. The hotel was clean and quiet and they offered us an upgrade upon arrival which was a nice surprise. I slept like a baby that night in the cool, dark room with a very comfortable bed! The staff was very helpful and easy to understand and so willing to get us anything we needed to make our stay in Amsterdam a success. I can't wait to go back and spend more time in this city!

Room Tip: We were in Room 14 and while we liked it, it is just below the breakfast area so you can hear foot t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

A friend found this via Bookings.com. A lovely experience from start to finish. Warmly welcomed, offered information about the city, pre-purchase discount tickets to the musee as well as a room upgrade. They staff provided assistance sorting out changes to our train tickets and ideas on which canal tour to take + a great lunch recommendation. They even catered to gluten free guests with gluten free bread for breakfast, as well as a selection of gluten laden treats! Highly recommend! The Bed was incredibly comfortable and they were prepared for guest from the US, UK and Europe with a three way wired desk in our room. Nicely done!

Room Tip: Our upgraded suite had a lovely terrace, however it was directly under the breakfast room, so if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amblaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

It may be a nice hotel, but we will never know because it overbooked us. So we arrived at 9pm in the night and found we do not have a room?????? You can say it happens ( just as the hotel front desk told us), but you can't deny that accepting a booking and making sure your guest have what they booked for are the fundamental rule got a hotel business. Who will trust themselves with you if they are worried that they may arrive in the night with no place to stay??? There are hundreds if not thousands of nice hotels in Amsterdam, my fellow friend, believe me, you don't deserve to be treated like this!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CameraRoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Located in a quiet neighbourhod and conveniently close to the Museum quarter and to Leidseplein. We were upgraded to a larger room which was great. Shower had one of those "tropical rain" showerheads which I personally abbhor (a personal pet peeve, not a criticism per se). We didn't eat at the restaurant but did enjoy a drink in the the cozy courtyard. I recommend this without any reserve.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank OttawaMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#30 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 749 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#119 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,162 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#70 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#45 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,148 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#20 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 577 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#64 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roemer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roemer

Property: Hotel Roemer
Address: Roemer Visscherstraat 8-10, 1054 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#95 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Roemer 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Roemer has 23 spacious new rooms, all of them equipped with air-conditioning, DVD Player, flat screen, i-pod loudspeakers and a espresso machine. Build in English and American adaptors assure a comfortable working environment for every guest. All rooms are individually designed with high standard design furniture combined with own designs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Roemer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roemer Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing