We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Max

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Max to your Saves list
Hotel Max
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hemonystraat 7 Sous | near Stadhouderskade, 1074 BK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (De Pijp)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #308 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

this budget hotel is ok the staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast is better than ok but not great there is a lidel opposite and a coffee shop the Ibiza 30 seconds away, it opens at 10am and closes at 11/12pm depending on the day.Only real problem with this hotel was the shower was in the toilet.

Room Tip: want a good room go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shimonclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    58
    59
    39
    56
See reviews for
16
116
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Porsgrunn, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

This hotel Max Amsterdam is the worst ever hotel I've stayed in. It was an awful smell in the corridors. The room was very small. Not enough Space for two persons.Further when making the booking it says breakfast, internet and luggage Storage. None of that was available at the hotel. In addition there was no reception either. So People think twice before reserve room at this. Else the stay in Amsterdam was very Nice and we had a lot of fun too.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flemming L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

reading
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

We booked via email a couple of months before hand as a party of 10, the table was ready for us on arrival, the food and service was excellent and great value for money, we did have a job to find it as the restaurant sign was on the wall low to the ground.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pianno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I called the hotel prior to arriving as I was concerned we would not arrive there before 11pm (the time stated as latest check in). On the phone the staff were very friendly and informed me that this would not be a problem. On arriving at the hotel the staff were very friendly and we even got to choose a folded ticket to see if we had won a free breakfast, we didn't, but it was a nice little touch. We had to check in at hotel Iris it is only a 5 minute walk from hotel Max and the staff gave us a map. Hotel Max was easy to find, it was covered in green netting when we arrived as construction was going on. The room was small but perfectly adequate. The bed was comfy and we loved the large square pillows. The shower provided good power, the television was functional. The room was simple and small but clean and cozy. The location was fantastic it is slightly out the way of the city center however is 20 meters away from a market which is on every day. Within 50 meters is also a coffee shop (non coffee providing variety) and also a lovely restaurant which I would highly recommend. I can't remember the name of the restaurant but it was opposite the coffee shop. They do fantastic homemade pizza, it has a wonderful atmosphere and the waitress was very friendly. Like others have said there is a lidl opposite great to pick up those essentials. I really recommend this hotel was paid £30 a night and for this it was fantastic value.

Room Tip: I'm sure all the rooms are very similar we were on the ground floor which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

The location is good for somebody who wishes to see the city on foot. Albert cuyptmarkt is 2 minutes away, the Rembrantplein is 10-15 mins walking.
The price was not too bad and it is not bothering that the reception is in Hotel Iris.
All of the people at the reception were very nice and helpful.
The room was clean where it mattered and very basic.
The only bad thing is that the walls must be very thin since we could hear everything from the next room.

Room Tip: A coffeemaker and some cuttlery would have been great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Eszter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

The hotel is in a fantastic part of town, beautiful surroundings and a Lidl right next to it! Space to park bike outside. Beds were comfy and room was ample. Only downside was shower didn't drain well and flooded daily. Did the job though. Would help to have a permenant reception at hotel Max but Iris isnt far away where they are more than happy to help.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun_Highlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

This hotel was lovely for the price the staff were helpful and the room was clean and tidy and it had a lovely shower room I was very pleased at how comfortable the bed was too! I will definatly choose this hotel when I come back it's situated in a quiet part of town right next to lidl!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#212 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 873 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Iris Hotel
Iris Hotel
#194 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 528 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#240 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam
Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam
#196 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 521 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#251 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#296 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Max? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Max

Property: Hotel Max
Address: Hemonystraat 7 Sous | near Stadhouderskade, 1074 BK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #308 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Max 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Max reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Max In Mokum Amsterdam
Max In Mokum Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing