We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grossly overpriced!”
Review of Hotel Max

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Max
Ranked #314 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived we were advised that we go the no breakfast(yes we booked with no breakfast) but no clean( it didn't state this in the booking information) rate, which meant that the 4 days we stayed out room was not going to get cleaned during our stay. I know we are on a budget but this should have been advised when booking. We booked a double room which was two single beds pushed together and one was not a proper single bed, but a fold out bed as it creaked every time you breathed, made for a noisy and sleepless night. The remote control for the TV was not the right one. Our door looked like the lock had pulled off and there was such a big gap around the door, the hallway light came in all night? This made it feel unsafe to the point I put our heavy suitcase against the door at night. There was no rooms to open both suitcases so we had to co-ordinate packing etc. We were told to pay in cash when we got there but also had out credit card charged as well with the total amount, which over a week to reverse, after I emailed the hotel. Plus side is they responded to my email about the charge quickly and resolved after that but it did take time. I think for the money we paid this hotel was grossly overpriced.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jassy147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2014

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Max
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 263 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

Like mould? Love the smell of damp? Then this is the hotel for you.

The smell hits you when you walk through the front door and it just gets worse from there.

My room was a shed out the back that had mould on the walls and a mouse trap under a chair.

I didn't see any mice, though. They've probably got more sense than to stay at Hotel Max.

It's massively overpriced (700 Euros for four nights, although I was staying during IBC, a large convention at the RAI) and even then they wanted another 8 euros to clean the room.

The worst hotel I've stayed in.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 550Gee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2014

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Disgraceful. The room was a matchbox, the bed was terrible. Not even a cleaning service, there was only one towel for two people, the non smoking room stunk of cigarets. And it wasn't a cheap price either.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Z1M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2014

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Enttäuschter U
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Absolutely terrible hotel. We had an awful stay: staff was very rude and unfriendly, rooms were ugly and super uncomfortable, bathrooms were so tiny that it was impossible to sit on the toilet... Moreover, it was over-priced. Location isn't the best for Amsterdam either.
I would never recommend this hotel for anyone!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shade4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2014

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed 2 nights at the uppermost floor, in a room for 4 people. The room was clean, the bed was good, there was a nice view outside the window.

The bathroom was also clean, but smelled badly of mold.

I did not had the chance to eat breakfast because it starts at 8 am and I always left before that. The hotel seems to have merged with hotel Iris nearby, where the reception is located and you are supposed to check in and out.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobGoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

thank you for the review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Ok, this is a budget priced hotel but do not expect anything more than low budget accomodation. You have to check in at sister hotel Iris across the road which caused us a deal of confusion as this was very badly explained by a guy on an intercom. We didn't get any sleep in the Max as some very considerate fellow guests liked to have a loud party next door until about 6am each day! Room is very small, shabby & with paper thin walls!.

Best bit is the breakfast in basement of Iris, this was clean & comfortable which was a pleasant change.

If you are not on a very tight budget, avoid this place & stay somewhere better.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2014

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Iris Hotel
Iris Hotel
#274 of 371 in Amsterdam
739 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#267 of 371 in Amsterdam
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#268 of 371 in Amsterdam
208 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
ITC Hotel
ITC Hotel
#275 of 371 in Amsterdam
585 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#304 of 371 in Amsterdam
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Max? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Max

Address: Hemonystraat 7 Sous | near Stadhouderskade, 1074 BK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #314 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $74 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Max 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Max reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Max In Mokum Amsterdam
Max In Mokum Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing