We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“My experience? Negative” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Max

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Max
Ranked #300 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Rome
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My experience? Negative”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

I read the room dimensions and it was as they said. I ask for a queen size (matrimoniale) bed but a two single bed are in the room. Breakfast and reception was in another hotel (not mentioned in hotel description!) Queue to have breakfast, one people to manage breakfast and reception, no space to leave luggage on street floor on checkout time (reception and breakfast are downstair). My opinion is really negative about the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Antonio M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    61
    62
    40
    58
See reviews for
17
123
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Great Wyrley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

and stay somewhere decent . I booked a room with twin beds , got to the room & there was 1 rather small double bed. I heard the rooms could be small but a convict would get more room in a cell, basically a bed, 1 chair & a small toilet/shower combined.

Shower was filthy , with mould growing up the walls , over the tiles. If you needed the loo you had to sit sideways on . Worst of all NO KETTLE IN THE ROOM , shocking . If you wanted breakfast you have to go to another hotel , the same with checking in and out. the only good thing about the hotel was its nearness to a rather excellent coffeeshop. Will not be staying at Hotel Max again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VillaninWyrley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Edinburgh
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights, it was a great price, and at the end of the day you're only washing and sleeping there!
The beds were comfy, the room was clean, and the ensuite washroom was lovely. Absolutely cannot fault this hotel!
Also there was a little vending machine at the front door which was good for the munchies, and many many little money saving vouchers about.
ALSO the most important thing is that LIDL is right across the road.
Staff were friendly, and also the walking distance into the town centre was very manageable.
Good place!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ayla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank u for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Is a good hotel, but there are some little problems. The sink was leaking a lot of water and the heater stopped in the middle of night. The schedule of breakfast was Misinformed. But the price isn't expansive for its conditions

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Angelo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

If you just want a base to leave your bags and sleep in then Hotel Max is a good choice. Very small compact room but had it's own shower/toilet cubical and sink. Twin beds that were comfy enough. Breakfast is basic but nice and sets you up for the day, The staff are really nice and the location was pretty good, the tram stop was a short walk away. The hotel is opposite a Lidl so ideal for a snack or milk (we're English we drink a lot of tea!) Our room looked over the entrance of the hotel but we didn;t really hear much comings and goings, the rubbish collectors come pretty early in the morning so if that bothers you bring earplugs like I do. All in all, nothing fancy but great for anyone on a budget.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank nicmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank u for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

I've been there in 2011, and the only available room was the highest one, on top floor, so we had to climb several stairs to get there. The room and the bathroom were tiny and had a really bad smell. The location is good until around midnight, when the trams stop working and we have to get the night buses that take too long to arrive. One good thing about it was the breakfast, not spetacular, but good one. And there was a guy on the reception that could speak both english and portuguese perfectly, so he could help us with many issues.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro Henrique S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Iris Hotel
Iris Hotel
#215 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#208 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#250 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hortus
Hotel Hortus
#234 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
ITC Hotel
ITC Hotel
#281 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Plantage
Hotel Plantage
#245 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Max? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Max

Property: Hotel Max
Address: Hemonystraat 7 Sous | near Stadhouderskade, 1074 BK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #300 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Max 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Max reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Max In Mokum Amsterdam
Max In Mokum Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing