We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Van Gelder Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Van Gelder Hotel
Save
You added Van Gelder Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #214 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Some staff are cool but others are moody.
The rooms are really small and kinda dirty.
It's fairly noisy due to it's location.

However, it's cheap and smoke friendly!
Showers are nice too.
Great location.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timpson12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    52
    25
    6
    5
See reviews for
2
37
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We arrived by train at 7AM with nothing booked. Dropped our packs in an open restaurant, drank coffee and took turns cruising for rooms. I found the Van Gelder right next store and they had a room for the next two nights. Perfect. I looked at it, okayed it and left our packs (no charge) until later. When we returned they had given us a better room on the front of the hotel. We just loved it. Left Amsterdam for a couple of days but booked a room for two nights when we returned. Low season but the city was booked up. We really enjoyed both our rooms, the staff and the location. Yes, the first room smelled a bit like someone had been smoking pot but that wasn't a big deal. We have that at home and did not come to Amsterdam to sample weed. The room was well cleaned each day, fresh towels and we thought excellent value for the location and price. Little or no noise, in spite of being on the front of the hotel. Nice little dining room with a view and coffee whenever you want it for a very reasonable price. Ate our own breakfast (granola) in our room so didn't sample that. We'd love to stay there again, if we go back to Amsterdam. We're older travelers and usually stay in budget hotels hostels or camp. This fit our needs quite well.

Room Tip: Both our rooms were on the front of the hotel with a fabulous view. The lower one has WiFi in the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
151 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel over some 30 years.
The central location is incredibly convenient: a few minutes walk to most major attractions; very convenient for Central Station and all public transport.
Family run for all these years, the place is spotlessly clean. All rooms have private facilities and the costs are extremely reasonable for a city centre hotel.
A good continental breakfast is available.
The traveller must accept that right in the middle of Amsterdam there will always be some noise.
Overall, a huge credit to the owners who have worked very hard for very many years.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rickcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Staff are friendly and the rooms have TV, shower. No tea or coffee though.

Right in the middle of the town but not in the red light area that's just round the corner. Would say that if you had problems with stairs this hotel is not ideal for you! Would stay again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a few times now, it's basic but very clean and MUCH better than any similar priced hotels in the area, staff are clean and friendly, location is a 3 minute walk from Centraal Station and close to all the attractions

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vandit10_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Great place to stay if you not to be walking distance to most the attractions Amsterdam is known for. It's right on the Main Street meaning you can walk the canals, check out the red light district, spend the day shopping of crawl you way around the seemingly endless supply of bars and "coffee" shops.

Nice clean rooms, pretty spacious for the price and very nice staff. Breakfast is pretty average though, consider going to a nearby cafe. There is free wifi in the bar area near reception.

If you don't like stairs or have bad knees this may not be your place as the back stairs are like climbing a ladder... Almost vertical !!

Other than that good choice for short or longs stays.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet but take a bit of dedication to get to as the stair are some of the stee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RickDolling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night last week. The hotel is in a perfect location as already described. All staff we met there were friendly and helpful. Yes the stairs leading up to the rooms were steep and the fresh smell of cannabis coming from other rooms was evident but it all added to the character! Only complaint would be the shower, or should I say trickle (!) in the ensuite was poor but other than that a good value break. We will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foxmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Frisco Inn Bar Hotel
Frisco Inn Bar Hotel
#177 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 374 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#142 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,080 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#102 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
#124 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,921 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#55 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 864 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#249 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van Gelder Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van Gelder Hotel

Property: Van Gelder Hotel
Address: Damrak 34, 1012 LK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Hotel Van Gelder

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing