We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A remarkable spot”
Review of Van Gelder Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Van Gelder Hotel
Ranked #224 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel over some 30 years.
The central location is incredibly convenient: a few minutes walk to most major attractions; very convenient for Central Station and all public transport.
Family run for all these years, the place is spotlessly clean. All rooms have private facilities and the costs are extremely reasonable for a city centre hotel.
A good continental breakfast is available.
The traveller must accept that right in the middle of Amsterdam there will always be some noise.
Overall, a huge credit to the owners who have worked very hard for very many years.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rickcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 135 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Staff are friendly and the rooms have TV, shower. No tea or coffee though.

Right in the middle of the town but not in the red light area that's just round the corner. Would say that if you had problems with stairs this hotel is not ideal for you! Would stay again.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Jay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a few times now, it's basic but very clean and MUCH better than any similar priced hotels in the area, staff are clean and friendly, location is a 3 minute walk from Centraal Station and close to all the attractions

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vandit10_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Great place to stay if you not to be walking distance to most the attractions Amsterdam is known for. It's right on the Main Street meaning you can walk the canals, check out the red light district, spend the day shopping of crawl you way around the seemingly endless supply of bars and "coffee" shops.

Nice clean rooms, pretty spacious for the price and very nice staff. Breakfast is pretty average though, consider going to a nearby cafe. There is free wifi in the bar area near reception.

If you don't like stairs or have bad knees this may not be your place as the back stairs are like climbing a ladder... Almost vertical !!

Other than that good choice for short or longs stays.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet but take a bit of dedication to get to as the stair are some of the stee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RickDolling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night last week. The hotel is in a perfect location as already described. All staff we met there were friendly and helpful. Yes the stairs leading up to the rooms were steep and the fresh smell of cannabis coming from other rooms was evident but it all added to the character! Only complaint would be the shower, or should I say trickle (!) in the ensuite was poor but other than that a good value break. We will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank foxmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

The hotel is small, and only gives you Bed with a continental breakfast. It is spotlessly clean,and
you are well guarded, only fault is the steps are a bit steep, and is a little bit basic.
It has no fancy trimmings, is central for all the places to visit, and the staff are helpful
I have been coming to the hotel for over fifteen years, and find is perfect for my personal needs
of two to three nights stay.
I did come one weekend with my wife and as she says, `you only need the the room at night as you are out all day, and if the beds are clean that`s all you need ` and they are.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bruce N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This hotel was perfectly safe, warm and adequate for what we wanted. Although at times we felt the stairs were a bit steep and that it was like being on a ferry. We asked in reception for an adaptor and hairdryer - got them no problem. And on our last day we were able to leave our luggage there all day after checking out. The hotel is in a fantastic location - so convenient for walking everywhere, that's a real plus. If you're not expecting five star luxury and happy with very basic accommodation in a brilliant location then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Ours was on the very top floor - noisy with the window open but with a location like that it didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brencarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#120 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,286 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#143 of 376 in Amsterdam
5,402 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#145 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Abba
Hotel Abba
#185 of 376 in Amsterdam
507 reviews
XO Hotels Couture
#41 of 376 in Amsterdam
2,038 reviews
XO Hotels Park West
#69 of 376 in Amsterdam
4,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van Gelder Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van Gelder Hotel

Address: Damrak 34, 1012 LK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $74 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel van Gelder When you are looking for a hotel in the centre of Amsterdam that is clean and affordable, Hotel van Gelder is the right place to be. We stand for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort, clean rooms and proper facilities for an attractive rate. The hotel is established in a beautiful 16th century historical building at the Damrak, the main street from central station to the Dam square. It is perfectly situated among others towards the central station, the arty Jordaan, the Anne Frank House, the shopping streets, the nightlife, the Red Light District and The Rijksmuseum. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Van Gelder

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing