We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This hotel on Damrak is in the heart of noisy party territory”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Van Gelder Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Van Gelder Hotel
Ranked #216 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Calgary
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“This hotel on Damrak is in the heart of noisy party territory”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

This hotel is basic and clean. The staff are helpful and efficient.
A tip is to bring ear plugs because music and loud speech occurs outside all night.
There is smoking at this hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face Damrak. Stairs are narrow so get on the second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cewinggray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    56
    27
    7
    5
See reviews for
3
41
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was an excellent location.
Our room wasn't nothing special but it was big enough and the en-suite was also a good size.
I think Room 10 is probably the best room in hotel as it has 3 windows looking out over the hustle and bustle of street where trams run up and down. Good for people watching with a carry out if you are on a budget. No noise disturbance as the people start going about their daily business.
Very central to everything.
Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellieha, Malta
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2010

Hotel is situated right in the hustle and bustle. Food and entertainment all around!

I was at the SIbos event during the week and was staying at a premium hotel before switching to accommodate my own pocket. And you do pay for what you get! I shouldve booked earlier!

Now, if you have large bags you may have to negotiate some crazy stairs which are in the back of the hotel.

Attendants are nice and friendly.

In my view, this is a great hotel if you are one of the weed smokers or out to get mildly wrecked. Definately not for the couples that want a peaceful sleep! The street in the back will keep you up or interfere with your sleep with the drunken bafoons shouting. Windows are not great.

The first thing I noticed is the pungent smell of weed, eearrgh

You may be woken up by the stoned giggling residents in the next room or rooms above... The stink of smoke is horrible.

The smoke alarm is covered with plastic. Given people can smoke whatever they like in their rooms the fire hazard is greatly increased. hmmm, safe.

There appears to be a mouse problem or at least there was...Mouse poison may be found in the wardrobe area.

You may experience a sewage smell after rainfall, I believe this is normal. Just run the shower for 5 mins and the smell disappears. Something to do with the stangnant drainage water.

The shower doesnt look upto much but is quite ok.

Bed is really soft, probably broken. Very uncomfortable.

Hoovers get turned on at 8.30am!!!

All in all, this place is fine if you are drunk or too stoned to care. If you are in Amsterdam to party and/or smoke.. then this will be suitable for you.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aced_up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for one night in April due to the volcano ash cloud which delayed all the flights in that period.
The hotel we had stayed in until that time tripled the prices over night as a result of the high demand for rooms in that period of time, with everyone stuck on the ground for what seemed then an indefinite period. We searched for a cheaper alternative, for one more night, as we were short on cash, having in mind that the following morning we had to take the bus back home, which was an extra cost.
We went to Damrak Street, from hotel to hotel asking for the price for one room, and we found the cheapest room here, EUR60 for a shared facilities room (the hotel had rooms with private bathrooms too, but they were more expensive).
We didn’t have breakfast, as we were leaving very early in the morning.
The conditions were very basic, and the furniture rather old, but the room was clean enough and so were the shared toilet and shower. There was rat trap in the room, but fortunately it was empty :). However, I haven’t seen a more expensive room, with private bathroom, it is possible that it looks better than the one we stayed in, I don’t know.
The stairs were narrow and pretty hard to climb, especially with luggage. There is no elevator.
The staff was polite and helpful.
Overall we put aside the drawbacks of this hotel bearing in mind the fact that it was the cheapest we could find in a time when all hotels increased their rates. For the moment, it was the solution to our problem.
I would recommend this hotel for someone constrained by the budget; it is somehow an alternative to a hostel. It is OK if you just want to have roof above your head.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ketchup1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2009

Quite good choice but it coulb be better. Nevertheless, best among the hotels we found in that part of the city.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas-gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2009

We have just returned from 3 days in Amsterdam. We hadn't booked any hotels and found the Van Gelder after a lot of walking about!! I was able to check the room first before taking it. Value for money, the room was no.26 which faced onto a shopping road at the back of the hotel. The staff were friendly. The room was clean, and it was cleaned every day with new towels. Breakfast was continental and adequate. Only downside was that there was no tea/coffee making facillities in the room.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quenilou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv i
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2009

very simple clean nice hotel
perfect location, perfect service and very clean .

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddffuunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#117 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Frisco Inn Bar Hotel
Frisco Inn Bar Hotel
#186 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#228 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#70 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#139 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van Gelder Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van Gelder Hotel

Property: Van Gelder Hotel
Address: Damrak 34, 1012 LK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Hotel Van Gelder

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing