We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (436)
Filter reviews
436 results
Traveler rating
187
169
53
21
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
187
169
53
21
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssingel canalsoft boiled eggtop floorrembrandt roombill clintonthe red light districtspiral stairsanne frank housestay there againbring earplugsbreakfast roomcharming hotelminute walk from the train stationthree nightsbreakfast is servedinternet accesslate at night
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 436 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2017

We stayed 3 nights in a triple room in September 2017. It was a great old building right on the canal. A real Dutch experience with a great Dutch breakfast. It was within walking distance of Centraal Station and also close to the tram. Some great eateries within steps as well.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JoanneC3546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2017

checked in with 4 other people all on different floors which was ok. This hotel has been sold to new owners and the staff are waiting to leave. They are verbal about being sick of complaints and I don;t blame them. My husband and I were on top floor (a loft) there are 60 stairs to get to our room. The stairs are narrow and winding, very dangerous. Our friends on 1st floor didn't come to our room because they could'nt manage the stairs. The lift was broken and only took luggage no persons but didn't go to 1st floor, so you need to take your luggage up if you can. Apparently the part has been ordered but won't come for months!!!. No aircon, no tea or coffee, old awlful room. It isn't cheap and not worth it. Everyone at basic breakfast was looking for alternate accommodation or changing rooms. Please don't stay here.

Room Tip: don't stay here
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Beverley Sargea... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2017 via mobile

Charming, historic building with simple yet very clean and pleasant accommodations. Not for people looking for posh, mass market, run of the mill hotels. Perfect for people who love canal views, and comfy simplicity (and a Gently elderly poodle you will greet you for breakfast!). We really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
2  Thank Meander601188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2017

Great location, but that is about the only thing positive to say. Our room was basically up a ladder with no elevator, and I had two heavy bags and no help was offered. Breakfast was OK and minimal. There were some great restaurants nearby not frequented by tourists.

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank rerBellevue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heragirl, Manager at Hotel Brouwer, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2017

We regret you did not enjoy your stay with us. We have two rooms with stair access only (all others have elevator access) : we almost always inform guests of that fact when they book the room, and try assist with luggage,though alas on occasion the employee on duty may be too busy to do so. The stairs are in a 300 year old building:
Not modern but by no means are they"ladders" and only one flight.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2017

Booked for three nights in June, 2017, left after one night. Booked a room for me, my wife, and adult daughter. The room was very cramped. The shower did not drain, overflowing onto the floor. The electrical outlet worked intermittently. There were no chairs. The bedding had blood or something on them. No elevator, at least not one that was working. The stairs were scary. No air con, and noisy. We were told to use the back door, as though we were second class citizens. I paid for two nights, only received 150 Euro of the 180 paid for the second night. The room was worth maybe 60 Euro if that. Definitely way overpriced. The place was a definite dump, and I would never stay there again. Got the suggestion for the place from Rick Steves' book on Amsterdam. He definitely needs better local tour guides to provide him accurate info. For those interested, there are hookers around the corner.

Room Tip: Avoid the second floor.
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jpwatkins2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heragirl, Manager at Hotel Brouwer, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2017

We are sorry you had a bad experience with us, and I apologize for returning less than you were due; I mistakenly assumed you paid the double price.
However; guests are generally happy with the size of the room - I guarantee there are smaller hotel rooms in the area for which you pay more.There ARE chairs in the room. The shower problem was addressed immediately and out of the 4 outlets in the room there was just the one that was faulty. We have 2 rooms with stair access only; we always inform guests in the confirming e-mail of that fact. The "back door" is the side entrance to the hotel used by ALL guests as their room key opens that door. We are very attentive to cleanliness so the suggestion that the sheets were not clean is quite surprising. The location is great but it is the center of the city so some noise can be expected. And yes, there are a few red lights around but it does not detract from the beauty of the location, which is much praised by guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews