We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Amazing little place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Brouwer

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Brouwer
Ranked #163 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Spofford, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Amazing little place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

Our room was split with the wonderful bedroom on one floor and the great modern bathroom on the next floor down. The bedroom was like a ship captain's home would be like in the 1600's with heavy beams on the ceiling and a bed enclosed by wood paneling. Breakfast was great and included in the price. Great view of the Singel Canal. Loved this place. We did not experience any problems with street noise but I could see how this might happen.

Room Tip: Go for the room one flight up on the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    163
    47
    18
    4
See reviews for
50
199
57
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

In many ways, we loved this tiny B&B on the Singel canal. Much charm, great location, good breakfast, pleasant and helpful staff. Lovely, atmospheric, but simple rooms. Only amenities in the bathroom were soap, towels and toilet paper. Very reasonable in terms of Amsterdam hotels. Biggest downside was the night noise, in this partying town. Hard sleeping because of the very loud street noise into wee morning hours. But if you are a late-night party person, little on the down side.

Room Tip: All rooms with a canal view on 2 floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank QUIGDEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed for three nights in this great old hotel. More of a BnB really. Nice people, good breakfast, perfectly located. The only downside it that it's pretty loud at night. I think all of Amsterdam must be loud at night though. It's all bricks and cobble stones for the sound to bounce off. The place was built in the 1600s so it's super charming, the rooms are light and nice size (we had the Vermeer room) but the sound comes in no matter what.

We could walk everywhere or get easy trams from the hotel. The train station is only a few blocks so getting to and from the airport was easy and cheap. There were also numerous dining options near by and a few big supermarkets for the grab it yourself I'm going on a bike ride picnic.

Rent bikes near by and take them on the free ferry behind the train station across the water for a ride in the countryside. It was really easy and the bikes a very affordable wherever you go.

Room Tip: Vermeer is a good choice because it's away from the side street with the bar on it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kimeco510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
114 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

The Hotel Brouwer is more like a charming, historic B & B than a hotel. If you keep this in mind, your expectations will be realistic and you will be more likely to enjoy your stay. (We were able to make our reservation on the internet.) The Brouwer is in a lovely, convenient location on the Singel canal, within walking distance of the train station. We had the spacious Vermeer room on the third floor, with a comfortable queen-sized bed. It has a gorgeous view of the canal, and even though we slept with the windows open on a Friday night, we did not find it too noisy. The bathroom and shower have plenty of room. I asked for a hairdryer and was given one (of excellent quality) to use during our stay. The spiral staircase up to our room would be hard to negotiate with suitcases, but there is an elevator which will accommodate two people or one person with a suitcase. Breakfast was quite typical for a B & B: coffee, tea, soft boiled eggs, warm breads, cheese, butter and jam. (Many places don't even give you an egg!) We have found that most B & Bs in Europe do NOT serve breakfast before 8:30 am, do NOT provide toiletries and require payment in cash. Dogs are welcome almost everywhere. The owner speaks excellent English and gave us wonderful restaurant recommendations (Seasons and Prego.) Both are within walking distance. Yes, the floors are creaky and the stairs are narrow, but the hotel offers charm and an excellent value. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The Vermeer room is roomy with a large bathroom and shower. (It's on the first floor, one flight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynette796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville, Montana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

Great location overlooking canal, unique building - loved the breakfast room and the corner room was quite large. (Van Gogh room)
Enjoyed the staff and the local flavor. Would be tough access for guests with mobility issues and/or lots of luggage.

Room Tip: Lots of windows (great views) in the corner rooms but street noise is a factor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bernadette1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
107 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

People stay at this hotel for its location, views and to take in a bit of history. This is an inn, not a hotel, so don't expect anything you'd find at a chain hotel, like toiletries in the bath, irons, etc. The building itself is one attraction, built in 1652 and with many of the old features are still extant, like the window/shutters, old narrow staircases, tile floors and Delft tiles on the walls, (perhaps original) add a certain charm. Sticking with its traditions, the hotel does NOT accept credit cards, nor can you reserve on any Internet site, one must contact the hotel directly and they write your name and dates in a ledger.

Breakfast starts late at 8:30 and is quite basic; warmed breads, one hard-boiled egg, a few slices of cheese and your choice of coffee or tea. The dining room/reception/lobby is quaint and cozy and small. While I was there one of the staff had brought her dogs, and while I don't mind having dogs around, it was clear some of the other diners didn't appreciate having them poke around looking for treats during breakfast. Dogs really shouldn't be in a hotel dining room, that said, people were too polite to say anything to her.....

The inn is on the Singel canal which can get busy at night with revelers, as well as on a busy little alleyway with some bars and restaurants, also contributing to the noise level at night. It didn't bother me, but it might bother some, so ear-plugs might be in order. Linens and towels were of good quality, beds were also good. Furniture was all very old and well beaten keeping in line with the 'quaintness" of this 17th C hotel. Walls are thin and the floors are very creaky, you definitely can hear other guests moving around. Staff was friendly and helpful but not always around, you sometimes have to look for them back in the kitchen or back rooms. For the location and price I cannot complain, but this is not a hotel for everyone.

Room Tip: All rooms face the beautiful Singel canal, higher up might be better to avoid street noise, but then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Twice_the_Money
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

As long as you don't mind narrow, slightly claustrophobic spiral staircases, this is a lovely, warm, quirky hotel just oozing character.

The room we had (Vermeer) was plain and basic in the best possible way - spotlessly clean - no frills or extras (bring your own hairdryer if that is an essential, as well as shampoo) but with a view over the canal and everything in working order.

Others have commented on the breakfast and, if you want lots of choice and something different each day, then go somewhere else. However, if a hot croissant, hot roll, boiled egg, cheese and blackcurrant jam with all the coffee you could drink,will satisfy until lunchtime, then this is the place to be!

All the people, we met connected with the hotel, were lovely - spoke excellent English (one spoke, I think he said, 6 languages) and were extremely helpful.

Overlooking a busy canal did mean it was sometimes quite noisy but that was only to be expected - effective ear plugs solve that problem.

As a bonus, the hotel does have a tiny lift which proved a godsend when we had walked our feet off (I managed to lose my sense of direction twice - took to the trams after that).

All in all, I would recommend Hotel Brouwer as a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: Having only stayed in Vermeer, I cannot comment except that that one was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jktraveller73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Centrum
Hotel Hoksbergen
Hotel Hoksbergen
#200 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hegra Hotel
Hegra Hotel
#156 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Singel Hotel
Singel Hotel
#155 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#78 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
't Hotel
't Hotel
#140 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brouwer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brouwer

Property: Hotel Brouwer
Address: Singel 83, 1012 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#98 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Brouwer Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing