We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (436)
Filter reviews
436 results
Traveler rating
187
169
53
21
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
187
169
53
21
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews singel canal rembrandt room the red light district boiled eggs anne frank house bring earplugs stay there again breakfast room charming hotel three nights breakfast is served central station internet access van gogh museum floor stairs luggage
Filter
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 436 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Hotel Brouwer has a nice homely feel, relaxed atmosphere and the staff are friendly and easy to get on with. It's well located in a quieter part of the centre with a few nice bars and cafes in the area.
The hotel is basic but nice, I usually try to stay here when I visit Amsterdam and the price is reasonable for the centre. Recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

I picked this place due to it's location to some museums and the central district. The location was great. But the facility was a disappointment. It felt like the owners/managers didn't want to be bothered. The had strict hours of operations (8:30 am to 8:00 pm) and beyond those hours they were not to be disturbed. Even breakfast wasn't served until 8:30. You seldom saw the staff and it was as if they were avoiding their guests. Our room was large. Our bed was OK. The bathroom was good. But the room was extremely difficult to get to (had to carry 3 suitcases up 3 floors) and it was very noisy with canal parties all night long. I wouldn't stay here again. The location was good, but it wasn't worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Hotel Brouwer is very well located in a lovely part of town and a short walk from the railway station. All the staff are helpful and welcoming and the rooms have a refreshing simplicity to them. Great place for a few days to sightsee and enjoy the canal views. Breakfast is simple and well served - fresh warm croissants, rolls and jam and boiled egg. Very good value and well run hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank campingcaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

I stayed for two nights at the Hotel Brouwer. My room was small but very cute and quaint. My bathroom was comfortable and had a nice hot shower. The view of the canal from the window was spectacular; everything you could imagine Amsterdam to be. Yes, it was a little noisy outside at night, but what can you expect being right on the Singel Canal? And it quieted down before midnight. The man snoring in the next room was worse than the noise outside - LOL. I didn't eat the breakfast because there were plenty of other places I wanted to try - don't miss the Pancake Bakery! Going down the spiral stairs made me dizzy, but thank goodness there is a tiny lift to bring you and your luggage up. And even though there were women "working" next door, I never even noticed until I left in the middle of the day and saw a rather endowed woman sitting in the window. Amsterdam - gotta love it.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
5  Thank Cyndi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

My two sisters and myself stayed here in February for about a week. The staff was great , the breakfast delicious and the price affordable. The location can't be beaten. The hotel is a beautiful building dating from 1652. The owner told us that the hotel was renovated in 1998 but that they tried to keep it looking as original as possible. There was free wifi and even a small elevator, more intended for the luggage since the house has a very winding staircase. Would go back here anytime although sometimes it is hard to get a reservation I was told.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank globetrotter51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews