We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An OK place if you're not picky”
Review of Hotel Brouwer

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Brouwer
Ranked #198 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2014

I picked this place due to it's location to some museums and the central district. The location was great. But the facility was a disappointment. It felt like the owners/managers didn't want to be bothered. The had strict hours of operations (8:30 am to 8:00 pm) and beyond those hours they were not to be disturbed. Even breakfast wasn't served until 8:30. You seldom saw the staff and it was as if they were avoiding their guests. Our room was large. Our bed was OK. The bathroom was good. But the room was extremely difficult to get to (had to carry 3 suitcases up 3 floors) and it was very noisy with canal parties all night long. I wouldn't stay here again. The location was good, but it wasn't worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (426)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Brouwer
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 426 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2014

Hotel Brouwer is very well located in a lovely part of town and a short walk from the railway station. All the staff are helpful and welcoming and the rooms have a refreshing simplicity to them. Great place for a few days to sightsee and enjoy the canal views. Breakfast is simple and well served - fresh warm croissants, rolls and jam and boiled egg. Very good value and well run hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank campingcaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

I stayed for two nights at the Hotel Brouwer. My room was small but very cute and quaint. My bathroom was comfortable and had a nice hot shower. The view of the canal from the window was spectacular; everything you could imagine Amsterdam to be. Yes, it was a little noisy outside at night, but what can you expect being right on the Singel Canal? And it quieted down before midnight. The man snoring in the next room was worse than the noise outside - LOL. I didn't eat the breakfast because there were plenty of other places I wanted to try - don't miss the Pancake Bakery! Going down the spiral stairs made me dizzy, but thank goodness there is a tiny lift to bring you and your luggage up. And even though there were women "working" next door, I never even noticed until I left in the middle of the day and saw a rather endowed woman sitting in the window. Amsterdam - gotta love it.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
5  Thank Cyndi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

My two sisters and myself stayed here in February for about a week. The staff was great , the breakfast delicious and the price affordable. The location can't be beaten. The hotel is a beautiful building dating from 1652. The owner told us that the hotel was renovated in 1998 but that they tried to keep it looking as original as possible. There was free wifi and even a small elevator, more intended for the luggage since the house has a very winding staircase. Would go back here anytime although sometimes it is hard to get a reservation I was told.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank globetrotter51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Well located, historic rooms overlooking the Singel Canal, amusing lift almost room for 2! Comfortable beds, good simple set breakfast, just wait it just keeps coming! What more could you want! Oh yes it was cheap too.
Recommended.

Room Tip: Top floor overlooking the canal
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 29Lilymead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We spent three nights in the Mondrian room last weekend in mid-February. We were on the top floor with wonderful views of the Singel canal. The room is very large and very clean. As always, all staff/personnel were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fine with breads, extra belegen sharp cheese, boiled egg, and coffee/tea. As I’ve said before, this is the only place we’ll stay in Amsterdam. We’ll be back next year!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelmeisteren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

If you want all the usual complimentary: body lotions, shower caps or tray of drink making accessories then this hotel is not for you. But if you want to be in a lovely old Dutch house, with exposed wooden floorboards and querky old furniture, and yes the elevator is tiny but fits 2 people (who know each other well), Wifi connection, even on the 3rd (top) floor - then you will be delighted with this little hotel.
Hotel Brouwer is just a 10 minute walk from the station, in an area surrounded by canals, cobbled streets, and OK yes, Ladies from the "Oldest profession in the World" can be seen in their colourful windows not too far away, but this is Amsterdam! It does not detract at all from the charm of this location.
Other reviewers mentioned not being able to pay with plastic, but we knew ahead of time that cash was preferred, so no problem at all.
We would certainly stay at this hotel again and maybe might not have all breakfasts with them as they get a little monotonous as we stayed 5 nights; there are plenty of good eateries in the area as an alternative.

Room Tip: The top rooms are quieter, as the night-life can be noisy.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vicky p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#171 of 371 in Amsterdam
939 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Times Hotel
The Times Hotel
#173 of 371 in Amsterdam
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#114 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,213 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#57 of 371 in Amsterdam
951 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brouwer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brouwer

Address: Singel 83, 1012 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#98 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Brouwer Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing