We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Earplugs and many stairs” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Brouwer

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Brouwer
Ranked #163 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Earplugs and many stairs”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed here in Sept, based on reviews and recommendation of relative. I booked ahead and asked about elevator as my wife has knee problems. Upon arrival we were shown to our room. The only way to get to it was by stairs, and , were told this was it. Our room was on 3 floors, with steep stairs. Since we were here to start our trip we felt we could tough it our for a couple nights. The noise on the street is also a problem. Sorry, I could not recommend or stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank docLongmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    163
    47
    18
    4
See reviews for
50
199
57
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

I've stayed here before in July 2012 in the top floor double room, but settled for a single room on the 2nd internal floor (3rd floor from the outside) this time around. The owners were just as arrogant as before, which has it's charms, but began to wear thin after every query was met with a sarcastic response (how dare I ask for another bath towel??).

Me and my friend were given two single rooms, even though I was promised a double and a single many times in my emails to them. "Oh no.. I told you clearly it was two singles.." the owner replied. Um, ok :(

The street noise was atrocious.. from 07:00 - 23:00 all you can hear is the loud whiny buzz of the motor scooters that are so prevalent there these days - I genuinely feel sorry for the residents of the area who have to put up with this din most of the day. It just went on and on, especially through both rush hours, and would ruin your trip if you didn't bring ear plugs and close the windows. An afternoon nap is nigh on impossible without ear plugs.

My single room was poor (the Mesdag room), with the wonky floor making the mattress slip off the bed at times. The shower head holder was broken, so the shower head had to be held in the hand during use. The cupboard door wouldn't lock and swung open unless wedged shut with a piece of card or somesuch. A drawer was missing from the bedside cabinet.

The breakfast was nice.. multiple rolls, croissants and tea cakes, complete with jam, butter, orange juice and a large pot of coffee made it a joy to begin the day. The cutlery was filthy though.. unfortunately I'm not exaggerating. I didn't suffer sickness due to this though, thankfully. Be prepared to be pestered by the two dogs they let roam the hotel.. they'll beg and whine for food, with the owner just glaring at you, whilst allowing this annoyance to continue.

The wi-fi worked in my room, but doesn't work on the top floor.

Overall, I wouldn't stay here again, due to the poor hygiene, poor condition of the room and street noise, but the double rooms are not without their charm and are very spacious. I'll stay in a regular hotel next time though.

Overall, a below average hotel with lots of charm. It's up to you whether you want to take a chance.

Room Tip: Go for a double room, high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Davey1800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We booked 2 nights at the Brouwer due to the positive reviews on Tripadvisor. We prefer to stay in hotels with history and character and the Brouwer certainly offers these. We stayed in the Van Gogh room and the floor was sloped so much that we felt like we were on a boat when we walked in! The room was basic but cosy and clean and it had an amazing view of the canal below. Towels and sheets were lovely and clean and the shower was nice and hot.
As others have pointed out there is an issue with noise from the rooms above. We were woken one morning by the people upstairs getting ready and the level of noise was quite unbelievable. On the ceiling above the bed were what looked like marks from a shoe. I can only assume that a previous guest had got annoyed by noises from above and banged on the ceiling.
We didn't notice any noise from other rooms on our floor. There was also constant noise from the street through the night. It didn't bother us as we were so tired from walking all day but for very light sleepers then I wouldn't recommend this hotel.
The location is brilliant; about 10/15 minutes walk from both Centraal station and the Anne Frank house.
The staff are friendly and very helpful and very laid back which we found to be the case with all the locals. The rooms don't have hairdryers but I was able to borrow one from reception for my stay.
Breakfast was substantial but uninspiring (croissant, hot cross bun, bread roll, cheese, jam and a boiled egg and then juice and tea/coffee).
Overall I would definitely recommend the Brouwer but not to everybody; if you are used to luxury, modern hotels then this isn't for you.

Room Tip: If you are a very light sleeper then avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank english_f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

I booked the Hotel Brouwer based on Trip Advisor ratings and was not disappointed. We wanted a hotel with old world charm rather than an American chain hotel, and this was perfect. The building dates to 1652 and is right on the oldest canal in Amsterdam. All the rooms have a canal views. Our room was large by European standards, and while it was sparsely furnished, it was adequate and immaculately clean. The staff were helpful and friendly and the location could not have been better. This will be our hotel of choice for future visits to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: We were in the Breitner room which was spacious. There was some occasional noise from the street bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mehorst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is a little gem in a great canal ring location. The staff are really accommodating and kind. Rooms are small, somewhat spartan but really all you need for comfort if you intend to get into the city and crash here after a full day. Good idea to take earplugs due to some street noise. Single bed was most comfortable. Wish they served breakfast earlier for us early risers but there is a great little Tunisian coffee, bake shop and quick mart just a short block away that opens at 6. Super convenient. I'd book back here in a minute!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doodle1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Nice converted house, with original features.

Rooms were a bit uneven but the service and rooms was great and the atmosphere was nice. Very comfortable stay would come back again.

Don't expect hotel 4 star type luxury but it's a nice covered house. Comfortable and excellent location!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zach101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawson Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in July, absolutely loved it! We stayed in a triple room, the Breitner, which was spacious and clean. Down the alley beside the hotel,1 minute away, was a laundromat, deli, bakery, restaurants and a convenience store. The breakfast was ok but we preferred to go to Greenwoods which was 2 minutes down the Singel. The staff was SUPER friendly and helpful. When we return to Amsterdam we will for sure be staying here again.

Room Tip: All rooms have canal views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keena123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Centrum
Hotel Hoksbergen
Hotel Hoksbergen
#199 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hegra Hotel
Hegra Hotel
#158 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Singel Hotel
Singel Hotel
#156 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#78 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
't Hotel
't Hotel
#141 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brouwer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brouwer

Property: Hotel Brouwer
Address: Singel 83, 1012 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#98 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Brouwer Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing