We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (436)
Filter reviews
436 results
Traveler rating
187
169
53
21
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
187
169
53
21
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssingel canalsoft boiled eggtop floorrembrandt roombill clintonthe red light districtspiral stairsanne frank housestay there againbring earplugsbreakfast roomcharming hotelminute walk from the train stationthree nightsbreakfast is servedinternet accesslate at night
Filter
Updating list...
194 - 199 of 436 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2012

The hotel Brouwer is in a good location being 10 min. walk from the train and the center of the city and on a canal. It is fairly clean with a comfortable bed. The breakfast was ok, nothing special. We paid 95 euro with breakfast which is about what it is worth. I think there are better options than this.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jjapples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Charming hotel. Easy enough to find.
The lift can only accommodate 1 person with luggage, but then that's nothing new in europe :) But you can't use the lift after 11pm.
The stairs are the spiral type, so if you come in drunk one late night, be very careful going up (or down) those stairs!
We had the Rembrant room. Very charming :) It's facing the canal. We requested for a room with double-sized bed but it was actually 2 single beds pushed together. But no problem there, they were comfortable beds and very clean :)
The tv is smallish, but good enough. Bathroom is clean with hot water.
Con: No free wifi. The only good budget hotel we stayed in that did not offer free wifi. A bit weird, especially for the price. There's a computer downstairs that anyone can use freely.
Breakfast is good, but never changes. Good thing we only stayed for 3 nights (only 2 nights with breakfast) The meal is served with a smile by nice people and it's calming to eat breakfast in that little dining area with the canal just outside and people riding by in their bikes :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kenshen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

This hotel is really gem. It’s a pleasant to stay, close to Centraal Station and to many interesting places in Amsterdam, spacious room etc. From Centraal Station, just take any trams that go south (1, 2, 5, 13, 17) and get off at first stop (Niewezijdskolk). Walk through small alley, and walk 2 blocks (only 30-40 m.), Hotel Brouwer is on your right in the corner of Singel Canal. By the way, beware of bicycles passing by when you cross streets. Or in case you don’t carry large baggage, you may walk from the station within 20 min.
We stayed in Van Gogh Room, which is the corner room and it offered great canal view looking from window.. Lift here is one of the smallest that I ever used (another one was in Paris).
Breakfast is okay. Pastries were freshly baked. Besides, there were orange juice, coffee from coffee press, jam, butter, a couple of sliced cheese, hot boiled egg. That’s all, but enough for us for about 3-4 hours. However, it is normally served from 8.30am, which we had to skip it for a couple days as we’d go out early. It’d be much better if they can serve breakfast earlier than that.
There is computer and printer available to use for free during around 8 am-8pm. However, it’s in front of lobby (breakfast room), which is locked after 8pm, including kitchen. There is wifi available for free, too, but its signal was not that strong in our room, so I had to use my iPhone near our room door or even walk out of room to better received wifi signal.
I saw sign indicating that kitchen is for staff only, I think it depends on with who you talk to. We were yelled at by one guy, but 2 days after that, we asked other 2 guys and they said no problem at all.
The hotel front door is usually locked, so you have to ring the bell in front. Beware, please ring only once or you may risk being yelled at angrily by one elderly guy. Once you are hotel guest, you can use side door to enter hotel.
In conclusion, I like this hotel. It’s very convenient and with a nice view and neighborhood, after all, it’s quite cheap (€95+ for double) for Amsterdam. I strongly recommend this hotel to anyone who consider visiting Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Van Gogh room is a corner room and you can see Singel canal clearly.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank agsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

We have been to Amsterdam several times on business and as tourists always staying in up market places. This time we thought we should try an historic canal house. The Brouwer is just that, but in the end it was not a very good choice. Very good location, close to the rail station, sights and good eating places, and with easy access to the tram routes to the cultural area of museums, galleries, the Opera House and the Concertgebouw. Culture is our prime reason for visiting any city. The hotel is also lit by the rosy glow of several local red light establishments, but surprisingly there is little or no street noise. The hotel staff were very pleasant, and the rate of 95 euros / night for a so called double room- plus 5 euros / night tax- in cash only, was reasonable for this city. The rate includes a good continental breakfast. Access to the rooms is by a very steep spiral staircase, or a two person- or one person plus baggage- lift. The room ( Rembrandt) on the first floor overlooked the Singel canal and was sparsely and somewhat primitively furnished. The floor sloped markedly towards the canal view and the beds were two uncomfortable single beds pushed together. You risked life and limb, or merely falling out of bed, if you wished to engage in any activity other than sleeping! The bath room was worse. No toiletries, thin small towels, and no gutter around the shower, so the whole floor became soaked after a shower! I can see that some ( young?), people would like the quaint and quirky nature of this place, but we are too old for that now- we like our creature comforts too much, so we would not stay her again in the very unlikely event that we should come back to Amsterdam- been there, done it and got the T Shirt.

Room Tip: All rooms have a canal view. It is a long climb up the stairs so lower rooms are probably better. This hotel is not suitable for anyone who has mobility problems.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank dunnitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We spent 2 nights in the Mondrian room on the top floor. It has a lovely view of the Singel Canal, but the street noise can be a bit bothersome. We travel with a sound machine which helped mask the noise. The steps are steep and windy, but we used the tiny elevator to get our luggage up. The owner was very helpful in getting us tickets for the Canal Boat cruise. We got our tickets to the Anne Frank House several weeks in advance online. It is necessary or you will wait in a line several blocks long to get in. We went thru a separate door for reserved tickets. This room is large and the bathroom is adequate. For the money(cash only) it was a great deal. The location is fantastic for walking most places.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NoFo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews