We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (436)
Filter reviews
436 results
Traveler rating
187
169
53
21
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
187
169
53
21
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssingel canalsoft boiled eggtop floorrembrandt roombill clintonthe red light districtspiral stairsanne frank housestay there againbring earplugsbreakfast roomcharming hotelminute walk from the train stationthree nightsbreakfast is servedinternet accesslate at night
Filter
Updating list...
202 - 207 of 436 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2012

After reading the reviews on TripAdvisor, I think I set my hopes too high for this place. I've stayed in better budget hotels in Amsterdam than Hotel Brouwer.

While I can imagine the challenges of maintaining a historic structure (while still managing to run a successful business), it felt much more neglected than I anticipated for a budget accommodation.

The two best things about staying here:
1. The location: an easy walk from the central train station (5-7 minutes) and in the beautiful, historic Jordaan neighborhood. Easy walking to cafes, tulip market, the canals, and main sights.

2. The breakfast: hot croissants, soft boiled egg, English muffin, and your own pot of french press coffee. However, the breakfast room could use a good, deep clean.

What wasn't so great:
1. Beds - uncomfortable

2. Shower - entire bathroom floor flooded while showering. Do not put anything on the floor.

3. Window coverings - the view of the canal was wonderful. However, only two of the four windows had coverings. You'll be waking up with the sun whether you like it or not!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fox_and_Anchor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed at the Brouwer for one night and overall had a good stay. This hotel is very close to Amsterdam Centraal, the Jordan neighborhood and red light district. This area can get very noisy but we didnt hear it from our room. The room, called Breitner, had a lovely canal view. It was also very clean. I did not like the way the shower and the toilet were laid out but everything worked in there - it just had one of those showers where you had to be careful or else you'll have water all over the bathroom. We didn't really mind this too much but like most traditional Amsterdam canal homes the stair case is very steep. They have a very narrow elevator that can fit one person and a luggage but not anything else - definitely something to consider if you're not able to climb those stairs.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karslima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

The location can not be beat. The room was spacious and clean. We had awesome views over looking the canals. The access to the quiet Jordaan neighborhood and to the busy Damrak and red light district was perfect. The breakfast was a treat and filled us up. Everything was great. The hotel was about a 10 min walk from the central station.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travel343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

It's a lovely terraced building on an elegant canal road. My room had great views of canals and a laminate floor with a pleasing gradient. Thee was a little urban car and scooter noise at night, and the sound insultation from other rooms wasn't great, though not enough to bother me.

'Budget' would be a fairer description of Hotel Brouwer than 'generous'. The room was adequate, rather than enchanting: details betray the owner's awareness of his profit margin. The reception/breakfast room is attractrively Bohemian. The website omits mention of the 5% tourist tax that's added to the quoted prices.

It's a small place run by a small staff. Don't expect a 24-hour service, or to pay with plastic. When I arrived late (as agreed) the night guy answered the door grumpily: the message hadn't reached him. To be fair, he softened in the face of relentless charm. Breakfast doesn't start until 8.30 am, which will frustrate some. But the manager went some way out of his way to ensure I didn't leave hungry when I had to set off before then for a morning flight. And their simple breakfast is more than adequate.

The speed of the wifi internet fluctuates eerily; you wouldn't want to rely on it.

You could do a lot worse. It felt a little pricey for its standard. But it was full up, so this may just be Amsterdam prices.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wandering_Seahorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Housed in a XVIth century typical Amsterdam bourgeois building, this hotel does not perhaps fit all the classical international standards, but it has a warm atmosphere, good service on the whole and is perfectly located on a canal, in a quiet place and less than 10-minutes walk from the central railroad station.

For 95€ per night for a double, who could ask for more ?

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cl_loertscher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews