We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (436)
Filter reviews
436 results
Traveler rating
187
169
53
21
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
187
169
53
21
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssingel canalsoft boiled eggtop floorrembrandt roombill clintonthe red light districtspiral stairsanne frank housestay there againbring earplugsbreakfast roomcharming hotelminute walk from the train stationthree nightsbreakfast is servedinternet accesslate at night
Filter
Updating list...
224 - 229 of 436 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2011

The location is very convenient. You can have a short walk from the Central Station to this charming little historic hotel. The views from your room are very nice. We could see the Singel Canal from our window. The staff was very welcoming, the breakfast delicious and the room was spacious, confortable and had a nice feeling. Some negatives was a noise at night, not all the time, above our roof, perhaps the air conditioning system. I'm not sure. And the lift out of order, one day. Strange stairs to go up and down. Other than that, a very pleasant staying in Amsterdam. I recommend going to the Keukenhoff park for an astonishing visit to the wonderfull "sea of tulips".

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justawoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I got back yesterday, from a 3 night stay at the Brouwer and I was very impressed. Situated in a very pleasant area, only 10 minutes walk from Centraal Station and over looking one of the many canals, it is a charming little place with a very homely feel to it. My single room (Mesdag) was small but perfect for my needs and had a great view over the canal. The room was clean, as was the bathroom and the linen was changed on a daily basis. There is not a great deal of storage space but again, just enough for a solo traveller. There was a writing desk, a bed side cabinet, complete with lamp and clock and there was TV with a couple of English language channels. The breakfast was good and you were given a warm crumpet, croissant and bread roll, with butter and jam. Coffee and orange juice were also provided.The owners were extremely hospitable and always had time for a chat or to give some advice about ther city.

In a city where decent accommodation seems to come at a price, at 60 euros a night, the Hotel Brouwer respresents very good value for money.

I really liked Amsterdam and will definitely be going back and the Brouwer will certainly be the first place I check for a room.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SaleDamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Hotel in great location, walking distance from Central Station along the Singel, great view from rooms. Rooms are small, clean and reasonably priced, less than 100euros. Breakfast not great, rolls, cheese, hard boiled eggs, juice and coffee.
NO CREDIT CARDS, cash only! They speak English.

Room Tip: They only have 8 rooms, so book early!
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Otto O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Great location in central Amsterdam, 10 minutes from the train station, the Brouwer combines an Old World feeling with the comforts necessary to make it a very pleasant stay. We enjoyed the room - clean, overlooking the picturesque Singel Canal - the satisfying Continental breakfast, and the warm attention of owner and Argentine staff. The free WiFi worked great. The Brouwer made our stay in Amsterdam unforgettable. .

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank medelasck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

This is the most beautiful little hotel. It has character and style. Our room was superb - tucked up at the top of the hotel overlooking the beautiful canal, sun streamed in the window and we just wanted to move in permanently. I fell in love with this hotel and with Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VLJPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews