We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel I have ever stayed in” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Acca/Van Gogh

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Acca/Van Gogh
Save
You added Hotel Acca/Van Gogh to your Saves list
Van de Veldestraat 3A, 1071 CW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #350 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Coalville, England
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The worst hotel I have ever stayed in”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

The Hotel Van Gogh is on a small pedestrianised area opposite the Van Gogh museum.

Whilst the location is excellent (with a tram stop nearby) the hotel has to be the worst I have ever stayed in.

The service at reception was non-existent and the room filthy and poorly equipped. When the heating came on my friend went to reception to complain only to come back with a dirty blanket to put on top of the bed.

Breakfast was included but the 'restaurant' appeared to be the owners living room (i.e. no matching furniture and looking out onto a cluttered yard) and after the first day we decided to go to a local cafe.

Overall the hotel has a feel of being a stopover for illegal immigrants. There is nothing at all to recommend this I can't imagine why anyone would want to stay.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CoalvilleTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cadillac, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

To get to our room on the 4th floor, we had to lug our luggage up about 120 very narrow stairs. Then we entered the worst hotel room that we've ever had. It was roomy enough, and the location was fine, but the room itself left much to be desired. I had accepted our travel agent's recommendation, because he had managed to find us a room for only $200/night in Amsterdam, whereas everything I had seen was more like $400 and up. Unfortunately, I had only read the online reviews of the hotel a couple of days before we went on our vacation. Luckily, we did not encounter a rat on our bed or drooping ceilings in our bathroom, covered with mold. We did, however, have a toilet that continually leaked, leaving the (marble) bathroom floor continuously wet. A close examination of the toilet revealed that the leak came from the tank, not from the bowl or the plumbing that takes away the waste. That, at least, was heartening. Still, a wet bathroom floor isn't fun. We sacrificed one of the 3 towels we were supplied with, as a permanent mop/rug. And we learned that we could turn off the water to the toilet, so it wouldn't run and leak continuously. In the room itself, all but one of the electric outlets was bare or pulled out from the wall. There were some end table lamps, but there was nothing to plug them into. The furniture in the room was the type that a college student would not accept, because it has been used for so many years. The beds were OK, though, and the overhead light worked. We slept OK, and didn't encounter the bed bugs that some other guests had complained of. Such a deal, for $200/night.

The breakfast was fine -- nothing special. Some other reviewers of this hotel said they were afraid to try the breakfast. We did, and it was fine. It consisted of as much coffee as you wanted, bread with nutella or fruit jam, a slice of cheese, and a slice of sandwich meat. The front desk staff and the breakfast staff were fine.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2BigTrips/Year
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Perth
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

it's beter for you to not stop in this hotel,evrything is wrong,specially when you dont have electric power in your room and the light is flashing alltime .

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JacobPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

for a three star hotel, it was more like a 1 star back street b&b, the bad reviews on this site are all accurate, luckily we spent most of our time out of the hotel looking round amsterdam, the other reviews reflect very well what to expect, also dont bother getting up for the breakfast as it is terrible, all in all a dire hotel, definately not one to take the mrs to for a romantic weekend........... if you just want a bed and a shower and aint bothered about anything else then this one star hotel is for you

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chickenfarmersunited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

I would strongly advise against staying in this hotel. As well as being extremely run down the rooms are dirty - apart from the beds being made we had no cleaning during our stay. One of our party thinks she may have got fleas from the bed. The carpets in the hallways and on stairways are badly torn, a hazard in the even of a fire. I am amazed this hotel is rated three star and can charge what it does.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2008

How does this hotel manage to be listed with 3 stars? It is not up to 1 star standard. Fortunately we only stayed one night. The whole place is shabby, scruffy, run down and falling to pieces. The first room we were given had no light shades, just bear bulbs and only one of these worked. The net curtains were streaked brown from cigarette smoke and the wardrobe was only fit for fire wood. We then wasted part of our stay in Amsterdam waiting for a change of room, which at least was a little better, although I've discarded beds in better condition. Don't stay there, you'll be very disappointed if you do!

  • Liked — Reception staff were friendly.
  • Disliked — Rundown, shabby and not particularly clean.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lilymarlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

It´s a very shabby and scruffy hotel. For hygienic reasons don´t stay there.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank ultraviolett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#132 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 681 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#54 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,025 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#9 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#196 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 712 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#16 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 891 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#39 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acca/Van Gogh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acca/Van Gogh

Address: Van de Veldestraat 3A, 1071 CW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #350 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Hotel Acca Van Gogh
Acca Van Gogh Hotel
Acca Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing