We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap but dire........”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Acca/Van Gogh
Ranked #367 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed April 29, 2009

for a three star hotel, it was more like a 1 star back street b&b, the bad reviews on this site are all accurate, luckily we spent most of our time out of the hotel looking round amsterdam, the other reviews reflect very well what to expect, also dont bother getting up for the breakfast as it is terrible, all in all a dire hotel, definately not one to take the mrs to for a romantic weekend........... if you just want a bed and a shower and aint bothered about anything else then this one star hotel is for you

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chickenfarmersunited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Acca/Van Gogh
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 46 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2009

I would strongly advise against staying in this hotel. As well as being extremely run down the rooms are dirty - apart from the beds being made we had no cleaning during our stay. One of our party thinks she may have got fleas from the bed. The carpets in the hallways and on stairways are badly torn, a hazard in the even of a fire. I am amazed this hotel is rated three star and can charge what it does.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hazel_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2008

How does this hotel manage to be listed with 3 stars? It is not up to 1 star standard. Fortunately we only stayed one night. The whole place is shabby, scruffy, run down and falling to pieces. The first room we were given had no light shades, just bear bulbs and only one of these worked. The net curtains were streaked brown from cigarette smoke and the wardrobe was only fit for fire wood. We then wasted part of our stay in Amsterdam waiting for a change of room, which at least was a little better, although I've discarded beds in better condition. Don't stay there, you'll be very disappointed if you do!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lilymarlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2008

It´s a very shabby and scruffy hotel. For hygienic reasons don´t stay there.

Stayed: September 2008
2  Thank ultraviolett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2008

Ugly hotel.
I stayed 6 nights.
It's rated as 3 stars but in reality it doesn't deserve more than 1-2 stars.
Dirty bedspread, burnt furniture, lean breakfast (no buffet and always the same).
They don't change towels at all (even if leave them on the floor)

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank World69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2008

Stayed two days in the hotel. booked two double rooms.
The hotel location is for sure the best thing. When i read the reviews on this site i was a little bit scared for the hotel but considering the price we payed it was not that bad. Its located in the more expensive and relaxed part of amsterdam near the museums and walking distance from the nightlife. rooms where big but clrearly old!! breakfast was nothing special bread ham cheese milk coffie thee etc. Better to go out to the center and have breakfast there. I would not recommend this hotel to families who want to stay for a week or for lovers who want a romantic weekend. But if you looking for a good located hotel and dont mind that you dont have paperview in your room this is not that bad of a choice. good luck

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank folbert77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2008

This hotel was purely disgusting. I woke in the middle of the night to a mouse sitting on my suitcase, eating my airline tags. I went to the front desk, where they told me it's normal to have mice in the summer. Nice. [--] this place for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank badacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#26 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,072 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Museumzicht
Hotel Museumzicht
#230 of 371 in Amsterdam
203 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#10 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#102 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,112 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#56 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,346 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#84 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acca/Van Gogh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acca/Van Gogh

Address: Van de Veldestraat 3A, 1071 CW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #367 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $118 - $489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Hotel Acca Van Gogh
Acca Van Gogh Hotel
Acca Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing