We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great location, small rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Centre
Ranked #98 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
209 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great location, small rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This hotel has a great location, right by a canal, and within easy walking distance to the big museums as well as the restaurant and entertainment district. However, the rooms are small and of rather average standard. The breakfast buffet is OK. There is a small gym in the basement but it is much nicer to go for a run in the nearby park. There is free wifi, but you have to renew it every 24 hours. The staff was overall friendly and service-minded, and I will definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PHR67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t_lebbink, Manager at NH Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
We really appreciate your review and compliments with regards to the service we have provided and the location! Isn't it lovely to have the Vondelpark just steps away from the hotel? I do want to offer my apologies that we were not able to meet up to some of your expectations. Will you please give us another chance to prove you that we can?

Yours sincerely,

On behalf of the Hotel Director – Tim Lebbink
Nicky Drullman – Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    712
    873
    310
    96
    63
See reviews for
255
834
107
336
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Co
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

The bed was comfortable, but they didn't have much if any space for clothes storage (no drawers that I could find, just a few shelves in the closet that also had the room safe, shoe cleaning supplies, etc).

The shower also had one of those European half-glass doors dividing the tub from the room, which meant an awful lot of water ended up on the floor during any shower. The shower itself was nice and hot though.

The room AC fan was also always on when set to Auto, the room radiator was never able to warm the room well.

The food was good at the restaurant, although breakfast is pretty expensive for what you get - you may want to seek a cafe in the area unless you are in a hurry.

The location of this hotel is really great, it's very easy to walk a short distance to get a tram that goes all the way the center of Amsterdam, or sideways around the rings. The room design is also nice and the hotel is clean and well-maintained. It's just too bad about the temperature controls.

Also be aware that when they say check-in is at 3PM, they mean it! I was not able to check in much before 2pm on the day I got there. On the flip side they are very relaxed about check-out times.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank kgelner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t_lebbink, Manager at NH Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
So sorry you have experienced the mentioned hardware issues during your stay and we were not able to meet up to your expectations! However I am glad to read to liked the great location NH Amsterdam Centre is situated.

Will you give us another chance to prove that we can exceed your expectations?

Kindest regards,
On behalf of the Hotel Director - Tim Lebbink
Nicky Drullman - Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Felt like I had been transported back to the 80's.
The rooms are beyond tiny (even by Amsterdam standards), the breakfast buffet (for 19 euros) was uneventful and the cleaning of the rooms was beyond basic.
Service was friendly and location fantastic, but there are better hotels in the area.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kate_Syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t_lebbink, Manager at NH Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Kate, thank you very much for your review. We appreciate your compliments with regards to the service. However we truly apologize for not being able to meet up to your expectations. Would you please be so kind to send me an e-mail to further discuss your experience at the NH Amsterdam Centre (n.drullman@nh-hotels.com).

Yours sincerely,
On behalf of the Hotel Director – Tim Lebbink
Nicky Drullman – Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

I stayed for 4 nights at the begining of March at this hotel. I may say it was the perfect choice.
The position was perfect. At walking distance from main attractions (museums, Heineken Brewery, Leidseplein, park). Very close to good restaurants or pubs.
The room was nice, pretty comfortable bed (but hard pillows), nice bathroom. A minus was represented by the dust on the floor. They should be a little more carefull when cleaning the room.
Breakfast was excellent, with a large diversity of food and a nice ideea of AntiOx food and drinks.
Staff was excellent and very helpfull
I trully recomend this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cristian-alexandru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t_lebbink, Manager at NH Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
What a lovely review, thank you! We will most definitely share the compliments within the teams. We are grateful for the suggestion, as it gives us a chance to improve ourselves.

Kindest regards,
On behalf of the Hotel Director – Tim Lebbink
Nicky Drullman – Management Assistent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim
Level Contributor
213 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

First things first the high points
Big comfortable bed
Great location just of Leidsplein Sq
Clean room with great toiletries range
Free wifi

Compact bathroom but great shower.

Helpful staff

Didn't eat in as lots of options to eat out

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigmacAntrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Nice hotel with fantastic staff. Would highly recommend. Get bus no.197 from airport - last stop.Breakfast has great choice and all you can eat. We ate in bar one evening and it was lovely also. Safe area.

Room Tip: Rooms in floor 5 seem to be newer
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMB1981_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We booked this on hotelzoo.com as a deal and were very sceptical before going.

We booked to go for 4 nights for valentines weekend and we had never been to Amsterdam before.

First impression, very central!just literally a 3 minute walk from the Leidesplein tram station and a vibrant square.

Reception was very polite and professional.
First impressions of room...great! very clean and simple. We had a balcony overlooking the Leidesplein..perfect!

We got a great nights sleep on the bed..very comfy!...the bathrooms all seem recently refurbished..all in great condition.

We asked for advice on where to go that evening to a restaurant at reception. They were so helpful and thankfully sold us 72 hour tram tickets which were an absolute god-send on our weekend and so thankful we got them on our first night!

No issues for the rest of our stay..rooms are sound proof. Maids never disturbed us the 4 days we were there however cleaned and left us towels everyday!perfect!

Overall highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arcticnead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t_lebbink, Manager at NH Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for the awesome comment you have placed! For your next romantic getaway, will you think about us?

Kindest regards,
On behalf of the Hotel Director – Tim Lebbink
Nicky Drullman – Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#140 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
#94 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#50 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 588 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#84 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,363 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#233 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Centre

Property: NH Amsterdam Centre
Address: Stadhouderskade 7, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#64 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#89 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious four-star NH Amsterdam Centre is conveniently located in the city centre of Amsterdam opposite the Leidse Square within walking distance of Vondelpark, Heineken Brewery, and the world famous Rijksmuseum featuring a slew of Dutch masterpieces, including Rembrandt's The Night Watch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, NHHotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your NH Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing