We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Comfortable and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Centre
Ranked #107 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This modern hotel is in a great location for the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum, as well as boat trips and the canal ring. Good choice of restaurants nearby (if mostly the touristy ones). Got a good deal on a 4-night stay through Eurostar. Decent sized room, quiet (at back) and clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank poplarfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    933
    332
    109
    68
See reviews for
288
898
115
347
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Loved the location...the staff... The service...the food!!! Amazing time will return again! I would defiantly recommend this to friends and will look out for the brand in other countries as it was excellent!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

On arrival we were warmly welcomed by the reception staff who were so friendly, and the lobby all looked very well decorated and maintained, I really liked the style of this hotel. The room was just perfect and I loved it had a fridge, I always like to pick up fresh milk for making endless cups of tea! We started our holiday with a massage based in the hotel itself and it was the icing on the cake for this holiday, started it off perfectly. The location was great, such a short walk to leidseplein square where there was so much going on and lots of restaurants. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise-Dark-Dundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Very central location!
Room was on the small side, but we had a good rate and you don't spend much time in your hotel room while in Amsterdam anyway. Would definitely go back to the same hotel in a heartbeat. Organic market around the corner, canal buses stops close by, bus stop to the airport across the street... Museums, restaurants and parks at walking distance. Very good location! (Don't forget your adaptor if you need to use electrical appliances in your hotel room. :) The hotel has adaptors for cell phones though!)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Gen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel before, one year ago. We thought we would try again because we love the location. I suspect this will be our last stay. We booked a superior room, and on the first night had no working tv, no working bar fridge, no light above the sink/vanity. The view however was excellent and the room size and cleanliness very good. We were moved the next day to a supposedly same level room which clearly was an upgrade. I believe this hotel, again this year, tried to give us a lower quality room than we booked, hoping to get away with it. The breakfast here is very good but very pricy. You can do much better away from the hotel for breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for room 209 if you book a superior king room!!!! Or ask for a street view not inside....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and would recommend the area highly though for the standard of the hotel it is very expensive . on saying that Amsterdam seems to be very expensive as a general rule in any ways . The room we were shown was at the back and was looking into another building so we paid an extra premium to be at the front which was appx £ 12 a day .. it was worth it in my eyes as enabled to pop back for a rest during days and have a nice view of real life outside - coffee etc was provided in rooms .. The rooms are basic but fine and the beds are good though the double beds are tiny and best to go for twins i think .. stick them together ..
In summary good hotels and great location just expensive for the standard of the hotel . The staff however can not be faulted and are very good ..

Didnt try the breakfast as its so expensive , better to go to the canals in front of the Rijks for break fast or the leidsplein even ..


good luck .

ps getting to amsterdam central walk over bridge and get the 5 tram line which run every 10 minutes , the one at the hotel entrance is every 40 minutes !! ish .. and it is 5 minutes to vondel park from the hotel and 10 the Rijks which is just amazing .. worth ot simply to visit the shop .. Go at 9-15 am no tickets or queue will be involved

Room Tip: front of hotel on upper floors 4 and above ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony-Minnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strasbourg ,france
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Went there as a group.Ideal central location ,even near boats.All town can be made easily by foot.The hotel is of classical european standards .We did see no matters except that singular sentence during the check in "i will tell you if your room is free after you 've given your credit card number"(??).Rather modern inside outfit,clean hotel,staff of good level ,although roommates
don't say you hello.Rooms seemed very small to us, cleaning was made very late.Prices of massages are double of what we saw this year in Spain and Germany for the same service.Be very careful in Amsterdam about bycicles it is sincerely very dangerous__people don'tcare.
I recommand this hotel for what is is :a good well located standard hotel.

Room Tip: be careful even in hotel and all hotel eating areas about thieves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rogerStrasbourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#105 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 317 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
#94 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,550 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#235 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#104 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 804 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#75 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Centre

Property: NH Amsterdam Centre
Address: Stadhouderskade 7, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#67 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#89 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious four-star NH Amsterdam Centre is conveniently located in the city centre of Amsterdam opposite the Leidse Square within walking distance of Vondelpark, Heineken Brewery, and the world famous Rijksmuseum featuring a slew of Dutch masterpieces, including Rembrandt's The Night Watch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, NHHotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your NH Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing