We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for short break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Centre
Ranked #140 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Just returned from a long weekend in Amsterdam and stayed at the NH Amsterdam Centre. We went as a group of four sharing two twin rooms.The rooms were large and comfortable with two queen beds and seating so we could all comfortably meet and socialise between sightseeing and meals. The rooms were very clean and stylishly furnished with a good selection of toiletries etc. for the price this was exceptional value (I stayed in the NH Doleen last September which was good, but for the same price this was much superior)

There was good free internet access both in the rooms and in the reception area.

When we arrived one of the rooms was not ready, so all four of us were given a voucher for a complimentary drink at the bar while we waited.

The reception staff were very good, helpful and efficient. My only complaint about staff would be the barman on one of the days we were there who on returning from a long day walking and sightseeing, refused to make cocktails at 5pm saying that he only made them at 6pm and was quite rude with it - so we went next door to the Marriot and I can thoroughly recommend their pina coladas!

The location is also very good - central Amsterdam is a small and contained city and all the sights were within easy walking distance of the Hotel, there are ample restaurants and bars in the nearby Leidseplien area as well as good shopping. There is also a bus to the airport for 3 euros that stops across the road from the hotel.

All in all this is an excellent very reasonably priced hotel that is perfect for a trip to Amsterdam, I would have no hesitation in returning.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChristineBJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,695)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,177 - 1,183 of 2,695 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights, this hotel was excellent for value! The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was amazing! This hotel is in a great location-20 minute walk to dam square but thre are tram stops out side the hotel! I would definitely return to this hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ireland198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Nice hotel on a good located spot. Good breakfast with lots of choices. Nice helpfull people behind the reception. Good value for money.
We were there with 15 people and everything was good orgnaised. My husband asked for a conference room and they were not really helpfull with that. Not because they don't want but it was not clear for them either. Maybe they can work on that.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ing v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stay here for a few nights this week on a business trip and it was ok. It's relatively basic but enough if you are looking for a no frills stay. I was initally put in a standard room when i had booked a King room and only really noticed when i got to the room - unfortunately the room stank of the drains so i went back to reception where i was then moved to a room in line with my booked. The reception staff are friendly and helpful.
I would recommend not staying in a rear facing 1st floor room though as i was awoken by deliveries every morning.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We arrived to find out that the agency we booked the hotel through had gone bankrupt and the hotel had not received the payment from them. This was very upsetting but the hotel tried to ensure that our stay was not completely spoilt. We were given a room upgrade and one night free. The hotel was veryclean, beds and pillows very comfortable and there was a great choice of food for breakfast.
Location was ideal for us, close enough to walk into town but with regular trams if we didn't feel like walking. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com
2  Thank mrst67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. The location was perfect as I always like to stay close to nightlife and restaurants. We like to have predinner drinks in one place, then nice dinner somewhere and afterwards go to listen some live music. We found all that and more just around the corner (rock club on one night and jazz bar another night). So I can say that for us it was just perfect that this hotel is close to Leidseplein and there are all that within walking distance.

I also appreciate that the bus and tram stations are just around the corner, easy to go around the city or to take a bus to the airport. And just cross the street we could take a river cruise. A bit of a walk to some of the touristy places like Dam Square or the Red Light District but it was nice to walk around this beautiful city.

The room was a good standard and quite compact. Reading other reviews and looking the pictures I think the size of the rooms varies quite a bit. We had double bed and small bathroom but I was ok with that because the room was clean and modern, bed was comfortable and there was a wooden floor. Maybe some of the public spaces were a bit shabby but not that bad.
I would stay here again. I would rate this 3,5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This would have been a great location for us if Van Gogh Museum had not been temporarily relocated, but I guess it was tough luck plus lack of preparation on our part. Although not in most central location, there are plenty of things in Leidseplein and it is still well linked to other parts of the city by numerous trams and buses.

The rooms are very small, and nothing special for a four-star establishment as they advertise. We didn't take breakfast as it was overpriced. The WIFI is free and the leaflet with ID and password can be obtained from the reception.

The service from staff was very variable, and my general experience was negative. We booked two rooms for two nights, but the booking for one room was made separately for one night each. For that room, we were given key card that worked only for one night, and we had to go back to the reception, explained that we had continuous booking, and had it reactivated the next day. This process took a long time as the lady dealing with our issue seemed to have trouble processing it, and she was not very friendly. Also, on the last day of our staying, we went out to explore more of the city, and came back half an hour before the check-out time to get our luggage out of the room. The key cards did not work, so we had to go down to the reception, waited for a long time, and got the keys activated again. This forced us to take taxi instead of tram to the Central Station as we feared that we would miss our train to Belgium.

Unless you can get a great deal on the hotel, I wouldn't actively recommend this hotel for full price.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ephemere01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#93 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,090 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
#114 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,885 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#149 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#121 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Centre

Address: Stadhouderskade 7, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#88 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $116 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious four-star NH Amsterdam Centre is conveniently located in the city centre of Amsterdam opposite the Leidse Square within walking distance of Vondelpark, Heineken Brewery, and the world famous Rijksmuseum featuring a slew of Dutch masterpieces, including Rembrandt's The Night Watch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Splitty, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing