We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, perfect location for walking to attractions.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Centre
Ranked #120 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, perfect location for walking to attractions.”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel is centrally located, next to Tram lines, and walking distance to most of the places one would want to visit. We arrived in Amsterdam by train and told the tram to the hotel Trams 1, 2 or 5. A staff in the tourist office at the train station gave us the directions, we appreciated their assistance. You can buy the 3 day transportation pass at the tourist office, for use on trams or buses.

I book the hotel room online, 2 months in advance, and prepaid, requesting a standard room with balcony. Got it. The room was clean, quiet, with an old fashion TV, but had English speaking channels. The bed was comfortable, and I slept very well.

Also we purchased the breakfast at the time of arrival, and glad we did. The breakfast was a buffet: hot dishes, meats, cheeses, eggs, etc. The drinks are a variety of fruit juices, milk, tea and coffee. They provided paper cups so one could take a drink with them.

The staffs are helpful and willingly assist the guest in dealing with their situations.

We enjoyed our stay here and will stay again.

Room Tip: I think you will get the best price by booking online in advance. If the staff offer you the breakfa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarrellRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    861
    1,068
    388
    132
    78
See reviews for
331
1,052
129
413
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

great location, near everything ,but you can see make the tour of amsterdam by feat .
we took a superior room , we stayed 5 nights , lot of space , tv is very old ,free wifi but the signal is weak .
breakfast was good , reception was helpfull ,everything was good but for me it is not a 4star hotel .

Room Tip: always take a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco,CA
Level Contributor
201 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Ideally located walking distance to most attractions. Stayed for four nights in a double room. Stylish common areas, and very secure (you need your key card to operate the elevators). The double room is nice sized (relative to hotel room sizes in Europe) with all of the modern conveniences. Free wifi, but the signal can be weak. Highly recommended if you can get a good deal. Rooms facing the street can be noisy.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the street. Beware that the free wifi can be slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craig_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
163 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed 10 days in September - Very nice hotel, great location. Close to museums, restaurants, bars, canal cruises and stores. We could walk most of the time, and just took the tram to get to Central Station.

Stayed in (huge) superior room, with a living area, wood floor, plenty of space to store our clothes, mini-fridge, kettle, iron and iron board, daily supply of instant coffee and tea, etc.
Ok, the furniture is wasted, but everything was perfectly clean, the mattress and pillows are comfortable, enourmous king size bed, and a great view (we got a front room, and since we live in Sao Paulo, we are used to some noise). Free wifi, which worked perfectly all the time.

There were many windows, which make the room very clear and pleasant, although curtains are thick enough to black out the light if you want to. After walking all day, staying in the bed with the sunset light bathing the room was a peaceful and recharging moment.
The service was great (except for the maitre in the breakfast room, which looked annoyed all the time). I wrote the hotel in advance telling this trip was to celebrate our 20th anniversary, and we got Prosecco, a tray with fine chocolates and a lovely card, signed by the staff. It was such a lovely touch ! (I did the same with Hotel Prince di Conti in Paris, and we got nothing there – not even a smile from the staff).
We found it very safe as well, since you can only enter the elevator using your card. Late at night, the door is closed so reception can check who is going in.

The breakfast is expensive (20 Euros per person), but it was very complete and delicious. We had breakfast there in 6 days out of 10 – when we had breakfast there we did not have lunch, so after all it was very worthwhile (in general, there is nothing special about food in Amsterdam, and the prices are high).

Minor points to be fixed :
- Although the bathroom has a good size, the spot for the toilet is very, very narrow.
- The TV is old and small, and placed far away from the bed, so it is hard to watch it from the bed.
- The hair drier is very weak and poor quality. It burnt down after 5 minutes of use. Actually, it melted down, it is made of cheap plastic. I called the reception and it was replaced, but they gave me a very same model, which smelled burnt after a while.
- They ask your credit card to be blocked during the check-in. The night before our check-out, I was called to go to the reception, and the staff member said they were charging all the extras, and next morning I only would have to pick-up the invoice. But on the next morning they said they have not charged it, and I had to sign again for the extras. At the same time, they would not give me a copy of my bill, so I had to pay 300 Euros and did not know what I was being charged. There were 3 members of the staff, and none of them seemed to operate the system and the printer. It took us about 30 minutes to have things solved.

In spite of it, we would definetelly stay there again.

Room Tip: Superior front room - huge and with a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Co_Gelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The hotel is very plain and uninteresting but the location is great. Right in the heart of the Centrum with easy access to Dam Square, Vondelpark, Rijksmuseum and the chic ninth district, also a short taxi or tram to Centraal Station.
Hotel staff were polite and helpful, the breakfast was acceptable, the facility is somewhat austere and the need to use your keycard for all elevator and stair access is indicative of the neighborhood. Spuistraat is a pedestrian street with a colorful history and many bars and restaurants as well as the famous coffee shops.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This was a very nice hotel with a great central location. The shuttle from Schipol took us straight to the door,booking in was fast and straightforward and the reception staff were polite and welcoming.It was pleasant to come back to our quiet room after busy days of sightseeing and we appreciated the variety of food on offer at the breakfast buffet.We really enjoyed our few days here and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacknzNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

In October I arrived in Amsterdam after a 14 hour overnight flight about 9:30 AM. Obviously check in was later not 2 PM but 3 PM. Of course I asked if I could check in early. The Blonde Desk Manager said I could not check in before 3 PM but if I was to upgrade to a larger room for 40 Euros, I could check in immediately.
otherwise I could not check in, (I assume, even if the rooms were ready), until 3PM. I have faced the same problem in Asia and the US, and were given an early checkin for free or a small amount, or was not able to if the rooms were not ready, but not this. NH hotels is a very large organization and will succede nicely without my patronage.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank easytoplease61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#100 of 368 in Amsterdam
836 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
#117 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#239 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,371 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#125 of 368 in Amsterdam
942 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#138 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Centre

Property: NH Amsterdam Centre
Address: Stadhouderskade 7, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#75 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#88 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious four-star NH Amsterdam Centre is conveniently located in the city centre of Amsterdam opposite the Leidse Square within walking distance of Vondelpark, Heineken Brewery, and the world famous Rijksmuseum featuring a slew of Dutch masterpieces, including Rembrandt's The Night Watch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your NH Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing