We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We got what we paid for”
Review of Hotel Victorie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Victorie
Ranked #259 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This was a decent hotel with some high spots, and a potentially damaging problem resolved. We had excellent support on the day we arrived from the Dutch receptionist who spoke excellent English. She gave us clear directions to reach the hotel after the Tourist Information Office had sent us entirely the wrong way. She also offered excellent suggestions of local restaurants based on our preferences. She was a treasure, including ensuring that my wife and I got a double bed. Indeed all the staff were friendly and helpful.

Our room, overlooking the inyard as beneficially indicated by other reviewers was spacious. The shower room wasn't wonderful but the shower worked really well. The bedroom walls had been patched, and would look much better for a coat of emulsion, but it was clean and warm. The double bid did drift apart on the last night, but this was potentially funny rather than a major problem.

The one potentially major concern was that we had Dutch friends who had booked to join us for one night. When they arrived they were told the hotel had been overbooked and they had been booked into another hotel. After some assertiveness our Dutch friends were told they could stay where they had booked, but their room was much smaller than ours. This was resolved, so I don't want to make too much of it, but it is a practice that will leave clients doubtful about booking here. I'd be pleased to hear that will discontinue this practice.

Nonetheless, I think this was a rare event, although I did note another review, and have booked to stay here again in May, when I expect we will have a good stay again.

Room Tip: Ours was at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanMB60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 267 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is placed very close to the RAI, very good communication by tram (line 4) or bus, nice stuff, good breakfast. Clean enough, comfortable beds and it used to be quite nice long ago. Today the good refreshment of the hotel is deffinately needed ;) Still good enough to overnight

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Marina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We booked 3 nights in this hotel only to find that when we turned up on our first day that the hotel had cancelled our booking without giving us ANY notification. They took our deposit and would not return it and they were not 'fully booked'. Disgraceful behaviour and we had no chance of complaining as they barely spoke any English. I think we were not the only ones this had happened to as a guy came in shortly after us and asked why his booking had been cancelled. I don't like leaving bad reviews but this place should be avoided at all costs, unless of course you want to risk losing your deposit and then having to find another place to stay on the day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank D0M1NIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Nice simple clean hotel. Only had B&B so cant comment on food, good breakfast selection. Only real dissapointment was that it was a 15 minute tram ride from the town centre. Unfortunately I was robbed on the trip including my room card and was charged 5 euros for a replacement, not much but i thought a little harsh. I didn't lose it, it was stolen.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Graeme C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

When I walked up to the hotel I got pretty nervous, the building was plain and it had an air of "crappy motel", the modern decorations from the pictures were a bit misleading. BUT, once we got to our rooms, we breathed a sign of relief. The rooms were NICE, there were some chips on the tables but I didn't mind. We had a nice, clean, comfortable hotel in Amsterdam. The hotel isn't in the city center, but you can take a tram 15 minutes. There is also a supermarket nearby, which is convenient. The hotel is newer, probably just built, it came with wifi (which didn't work for us, but probably will for others), small TV, great selection of free breakfast, and there were even mints on our pillow (aw). The owners who were an Asian husband and wife, were so kind and helpful. It seems like they are just starting out and running this whole place themselves. This hotel is great value (try to find a good deal, 65euros), it has great facilities, modern rooms, and it comes with PRIVATE bathrooms, which is extremely hard to find in Amsterdam for the price.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that's not facing the street, this isn't a loud neighborhood, but street t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Chia-tien H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

it was a nice exp at the hotel. Though we were little surprised by the entrance of the hotel...but overall a good exp...the best part was it was near the tram line 4 and 12...so an easy accessibility towards the city centre and other places of interest...

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank surya610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel
#242 of 374 in Amsterdam
636 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Savoy Amsterdam
Hotel Savoy Amsterdam
#336 of 374 in Amsterdam
341 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Kap
Hotel Kap
#299 of 374 in Amsterdam
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Concert Hotel
The Concert Hotel
#225 of 374 in Amsterdam
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victorie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victorie

Address: Victorieplein 42, 1078 PD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #259 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $82 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Victorie 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Victorie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorie Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing