We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some refreshment, but clean”
Review of Hotel Victorie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Victorie
Ranked #256 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Vilnius, Vilniaus Apskritis, Lithuania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Needs some refreshment, but clean”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is placed very close to the RAI, very good communication by tram (line 4) or bus, nice stuff, good breakfast. Clean enough, comfortable beds and it used to be quite nice long ago. Today the good refreshment of the hotel is deffinately needed ;) Still good enough to overnight

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    87
    70
    24
    31
See reviews for
46
71
23
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We booked 3 nights in this hotel only to find that when we turned up on our first day that the hotel had cancelled our booking without giving us ANY notification. They took our deposit and would not return it and they were not 'fully booked'. Disgraceful behaviour and we had no chance of complaining as they barely spoke any English. I think we were not the only ones this had happened to as a guy came in shortly after us and asked why his booking had been cancelled. I don't like leaving bad reviews but this place should be avoided at all costs, unless of course you want to risk losing your deposit and then having to find another place to stay on the day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank D0M1NIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Amsterdam
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Nice simple clean hotel. Only had B&B so cant comment on food, good breakfast selection. Only real dissapointment was that it was a 15 minute tram ride from the town centre. Unfortunately I was robbed on the trip including my room card and was charged 5 euros for a replacement, not much but i thought a little harsh. I didn't lose it, it was stolen.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Graeme C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

When I walked up to the hotel I got pretty nervous, the building was plain and it had an air of "crappy motel", the modern decorations from the pictures were a bit misleading. BUT, once we got to our rooms, we breathed a sign of relief. The rooms were NICE, there were some chips on the tables but I didn't mind. We had a nice, clean, comfortable hotel in Amsterdam. The hotel isn't in the city center, but you can take a tram 15 minutes. There is also a supermarket nearby, which is convenient. The hotel is newer, probably just built, it came with wifi (which didn't work for us, but probably will for others), small TV, great selection of free breakfast, and there were even mints on our pillow (aw). The owners who were an Asian husband and wife, were so kind and helpful. It seems like they are just starting out and running this whole place themselves. This hotel is great value (try to find a good deal, 65euros), it has great facilities, modern rooms, and it comes with PRIVATE bathrooms, which is extremely hard to find in Amsterdam for the price.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that's not facing the street, this isn't a loud neighborhood, but street t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

it was a nice exp at the hotel. Though we were little surprised by the entrance of the hotel...but overall a good exp...the best part was it was near the tram line 4 and 12...so an easy accessibility towards the city centre and other places of interest...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surya610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Good value hotel considering Amsterdam's accommodation offers. Hotels in Amsterdam (in the city center especially) are very expensive and old. So, we have chosen Hotel Victorie because it was cheaper than others (in the weekdays, not during the weekend), it had breakfast included and the rooms looked nice in the photos. After arriving at the hotel we've realized that it wasn't that close to the city center (20-25 mins by bike). That's quite a lot considering how small the city is.
The room was small, but that wasn't a problem. In reality, the furniture is not that nice (as in the pictures) but it was ok. The bed was big and comfortable. We had also a small balcony.
The bathroom was really really small. It was that small that you couldn't open the door fully.
The breakfast was ok.
Overall, it's an average hotel, but a good option for staying in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dayaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Bicycle Hotel
Bicycle Hotel
#208 of 368 in Amsterdam
220 reviews
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#147 of 368 in Amsterdam
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Delphi Hotel
#177 of 368 in Amsterdam
495 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Sander
Hotel Sander
#284 of 368 in Amsterdam
181 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Savoy Amsterdam
Hotel Savoy Amsterdam
#324 of 368 in Amsterdam
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victorie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victorie

Property: Hotel Victorie
Address: Victorieplein 42, 1078 PD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #256 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Victorie 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Victorie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorie Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing