We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for Amsterdam”
Review of Hotel Victorie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Victorie
Ranked #258 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good value for Amsterdam”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Good value hotel considering Amsterdam's accommodation offers. Hotels in Amsterdam (in the city center especially) are very expensive and old. So, we have chosen Hotel Victorie because it was cheaper than others (in the weekdays, not during the weekend), it had breakfast included and the rooms looked nice in the photos. After arriving at the hotel we've realized that it wasn't that close to the city center (20-25 mins by bike). That's quite a lot considering how small the city is.
The room was small, but that wasn't a problem. In reality, the furniture is not that nice (as in the pictures) but it was ok. The bed was big and comfortable. We had also a small balcony.
The bathroom was really really small. It was that small that you couldn't open the door fully.
The breakfast was ok.
Overall, it's an average hotel, but a good option for staying in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dayaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    89
    72
    25
    31
See reviews for
47
73
23
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

If your looking for a place that's not in middle of the tourist trap then this is your place.
The food is really cheap and although you are a pretty decent walk from the center there are a variety of trams right on the doorstep.

We turned up outside after taking what seemed quite a long journey to Victorieplien (it was marked on the tram!) checked in pretty smoothly, went up some narrow stairs (no lift) to a room that was decently sized, very homely and with a really wide opening window. It seemed to have all the mod cons of a good hotel and included a fan too. I checked the bathroom out and it was fine, shower power/heat stayed nice and consistent and the room service was up to par.

The breakfast was included in the price and was decent - consisted of cereals, breads, cold meats, and fruit. hot and cold drinks were also available.

the price we paid, around 60 euro a night was pretty fair, maybe could be slightly cheaper.

all in all we had an excellent time here and would definitely return

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaylaU12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I was reading the previous reviews and I can confirm that the construction is over :-)

Average hotel, price is acceptable during week nights. During weekend it seems to way to expensive for what they offer.

One thing that I don`t know if people pay attention to: the bed was very very big and comfortable. a big plus for this.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stupidly, I paid up front on arrival. Bad, bad, bad mistake.

The place was a construction site and I had to walk over power tools and building materials to get to the reception area. There was plaster dust absolutely everywhere, no plaster on the walls, loose wires and light fittings hanging out from the ceiling, chunks of plaster on the floor and large piles of building materials, power tools, buckets of gloop and large sheets of chipboard dumped in the lobby. The people at work were hammering away at high volume and making the most amazing amount of high pitched noise with their power tools.

This place wasn't just dirty: it was disgustingly filthy and I have never in my life seen such a revolting disgrace as this kip.

I did get to see the room briefly: the decor was tired, shabby and I had to check the bed-linen carefully to convince myself that they weren't already slept in, because it sure looked like someone already had. The hotel staff tried to get me to stay in a nearby apartment which was an overflow room associated with the hotel. This overflow room was no better than the main room (shabby, mould growing on the wall, stains on the ceiling, etc), and didn't make up for the fact that the main body of the hotel was so disgusting. I had intended to have a couple of meetings in the lobby / reception area, but it was too filthy for that.

The receptionist initially refused to put me through to the manager, saying that he wasn't around, then that he wasn't contactable by phone, then that he didn't take calls, then finally after 5-10 minutes of arguing agreed to ring him and got through first time. He point-blank refused to refund a single cent, despite the fact that they never gave any prior indication that the place was undergoing construction works, and despite the fact that their terms and conditions said that you could cancel with on day penalty. I stayed in another hotel after telling them I was cancelling my booking. It took me some effort afterwards to clean all the dirt off my shoes, bags and coat.

They screwed me out of €540 for 4 nights and refused point blank to refund me even a single cent.

Stay well clear.

Room Tip: stay away. seriously, stay away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I paid over the odds for this hotel, like any other during the big international broadcasting convention IBC at the RAI down the road: every hotel seems to push its prices up, and this one was no exception.

A fifteen-minute walk from the Amsterdam RAI (or quicker by tram), this hotel was in the middle of quite serious renovation. No elevator; a massive great hole where the elevator once was (covered lightly with a plastic sheet); stairs covered in building dust; a reception cut in half by a plasterboard separator; radiators leaning against the walls and emergency lighting everywhere.

The room, once I'd panted up to the fourth floor, was okay; clean, with a large bathroom. In the 1990s this place would have been very nice, so I suspect the rooms will be given a renovation too; I had a small CRT television in the corner of the room, with a few English channels on it (primarily the domestic BBC 1).

The free wifi didn't work. I didn't have breakfast (which apparently was going on during the rubble) and checkout was painfully slow.

For location for the RAI, it's not bad. When the hotel's finished, it'll be a good place to come. But perhaps they might let you know, when booking, if the hotel's going to be in pieces. It's the kind of thing that's useful to understand.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank unclejames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Bicycle Hotel
Bicycle Hotel
#208 of 367 in Amsterdam
221 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Concert Hotel
The Concert Hotel
#213 of 367 in Amsterdam
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Asterisk
#145 of 367 in Amsterdam
447 reviews
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#146 of 367 in Amsterdam
394 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Savoy Amsterdam
Hotel Savoy Amsterdam
#327 of 367 in Amsterdam
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victorie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victorie

Property: Hotel Victorie
Address: Victorieplein 42, 1078 PD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #258 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Victorie 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HRS, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Victorie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorie Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing