We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“ok!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Victorie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Victorie
Ranked #254 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    76
    52
    24
    26
See reviews for
38
61
19
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

If your looking for a place that's not in middle of the tourist trap then this is your place.
The food is really cheap and although you are a pretty decent walk from the center there are a variety of trams right on the doorstep.

We turned up outside after taking what seemed quite a long journey to Victorieplien (it was marked on the tram!) checked in pretty smoothly, went up some narrow stairs (no lift) to a room that was decently sized, very homely and with a really wide opening window. It seemed to have all the mod cons of a good hotel and included a fan too. I checked the bathroom out and it was fine, shower power/heat stayed nice and consistent and the room service was up to par.

The breakfast was included in the price and was decent - consisted of cereals, breads, cold meats, and fruit. hot and cold drinks were also available.

the price we paid, around 60 euro a night was pretty fair, maybe could be slightly cheaper.

all in all we had an excellent time here and would definitely return

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaylaU12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I was reading the previous reviews and I can confirm that the construction is over :-)

Average hotel, price is acceptable during week nights. During weekend it seems to way to expensive for what they offer.

One thing that I don`t know if people pay attention to: the bed was very very big and comfortable. a big plus for this.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stupidly, I paid up front on arrival. Bad, bad, bad mistake.

The place was a construction site and I had to walk over power tools and building materials to get to the reception area. There was plaster dust absolutely everywhere, no plaster on the walls, loose wires and light fittings hanging out from the ceiling, chunks of plaster on the floor and large piles of building materials, power tools, buckets of gloop and large sheets of chipboard dumped in the lobby. The people at work were hammering away at high volume and making the most amazing amount of high pitched noise with their power tools.

This place wasn't just dirty: it was disgustingly filthy and I have never in my life seen such a revolting disgrace as this kip.

I did get to see the room briefly: the decor was tired, shabby and I had to check the bed-linen carefully to convince myself that they weren't already slept in, because it sure looked like someone already had. The hotel staff tried to get me to stay in a nearby apartment which was an overflow room associated with the hotel. This overflow room was no better than the main room (shabby, mould growing on the wall, stains on the ceiling, etc), and didn't make up for the fact that the main body of the hotel was so disgusting. I had intended to have a couple of meetings in the lobby / reception area, but it was too filthy for that.

The receptionist initially refused to put me through to the manager, saying that he wasn't around, then that he wasn't contactable by phone, then that he didn't take calls, then finally after 5-10 minutes of arguing agreed to ring him and got through first time. He point-blank refused to refund a single cent, despite the fact that they never gave any prior indication that the place was undergoing construction works, and despite the fact that their terms and conditions said that you could cancel with on day penalty. I stayed in another hotel after telling them I was cancelling my booking. It took me some effort afterwards to clean all the dirt off my shoes, bags and coat.

They screwed me out of €540 for 4 nights and refused point blank to refund me even a single cent.

Stay well clear.

Room Tip: stay away. seriously, stay away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I paid over the odds for this hotel, like any other during the big international broadcasting convention IBC at the RAI down the road: every hotel seems to push its prices up, and this one was no exception.

A fifteen-minute walk from the Amsterdam RAI (or quicker by tram), this hotel was in the middle of quite serious renovation. No elevator; a massive great hole where the elevator once was (covered lightly with a plastic sheet); stairs covered in building dust; a reception cut in half by a plasterboard separator; radiators leaning against the walls and emergency lighting everywhere.

The room, once I'd panted up to the fourth floor, was okay; clean, with a large bathroom. In the 1990s this place would have been very nice, so I suspect the rooms will be given a renovation too; I had a small CRT television in the corner of the room, with a few English channels on it (primarily the domestic BBC 1).

The free wifi didn't work. I didn't have breakfast (which apparently was going on during the rubble) and checkout was painfully slow.

For location for the RAI, it's not bad. When the hotel's finished, it'll be a good place to come. But perhaps they might let you know, when booking, if the hotel's going to be in pieces. It's the kind of thing that's useful to understand.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank unclejames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

If you're going to a convention at the RAI center, this place is a good option. It's walking distance from the RAI, or you can take the tram for a short ride.
The room was clean, the shower, wi-fi network and breakfast were pretty good. A negative point is that by the time of my visit (sep. 2012) there was a renovation going on, which was not mentioned during the resrvation process, so there was no elevator and the lobby and stairs were a true construction site.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Armustus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normandy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

It is a chinese held hotel and the pictures do not reflect at all the hotel which is in "construction".
The wall are so thin that you participate to the discussion of your neighbors.
Impossible to use the mirror in the bathroom as there is almost no light.
Breakfast is terrible, even not a toaster, no butter, some slices of undetermined ham and green fruits.
In case of fire simply jump through the window, there is no safety light or possibility to escape.
I cannot believe that the Amsterdam administration allowed the place to stay open.
Staff is friendly but amazed as we are about the situation in the hotel.
You can generally find such kind of hotels in India or China but not for 250 Euros per night.
Of course they refuse to cancel or refund.
A shame!

Room Tip: Do not stay there!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerNormandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Savoy Amsterdam
Hotel Savoy Amsterdam
#300 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Hotel Casa 400
#61 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Amsterdam City
#92 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,269 reviews
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#115 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 338 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
#233 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victorie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victorie

Property: Hotel Victorie
Address: Victorieplein 42, 1078 PD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #254 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Victorie 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Victorie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorie Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing