We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good hotel, good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord
Ranked #203 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
1 review
“Good hotel, good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Me and 7 other friends stayed here for a week and enjoyed our stay. Hotel rooms were decent with comfortable beds and good shower facilities, and our rooms were cleaned frequently. Wifi was also easy to access and transport links were excellent with nearby bus services taking us directly to central station in 15 mins where we could then link up to the tram via our hour long transport cards. The supermarket around the corner was also very useful. Staff were also friendly and very helpful when it came to organising taxi transportation to the airport and storing our luggage on our final day so we could visit Amsterdam for the last time.

Only negatives were the lack of draught beers available at the hotel bar, and on one night a hotel staff member was quite rude when we arrived in the early hours of the morning and he requested to see ALL of our hotel cards and our names before letting us into the hotel. He also rushed us to get to our rooms when we wanted to sit in the lobby for a few moments. This is contrasted to a different member of the night staff that was there for the majority of our stay and was far more accommodating, talkative and even asked if we would like any drinks. However this did not affect our holiday to a large extent in what was a thoroughly enjoyable and pleasant stay at the hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear George M,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We highly value your view and feedback, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

Your comments are being shared with the management of the Bastion Hotel Groep and appropriate action will be taken. To better assist you on you next stay, please contact the manager on duty.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

With sincere regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    156
    90
    28
    21
See reviews for
32
142
15
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

Myself and a group of others just came back from Amsterdam. We stayed at The Hotel and didn't know what to expect. When we arrived the Hotel was spotless and the staff were extremely welcoming. They were extremely friendly and helpful, if you needed a taxi, they would call one for you, if you needed advise or help about what to do in the city they would quickly give suggestions. It's location is about a 10 minute bus journey from Amsterdam Centraal station, and the fair was only 2.80 euro. The only complaint is that our room was cleaned a few times, not every day. However this was a great hotel with great staff, and would recommend it to people planning to go to Amsterdam in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear George M,

Firstly, we wish to take this opportunity and thank you for your time and effort to inform us about your experience during your stay at the Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam / Centrum-Noord. We are pleased to find out that you have enjoyed the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities and all of this you have translated in a nice review!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

The location is good bus only a 2 minute walk. Liked the hotel and staff was helpful. The 3 nights we stayed there our room was not cleaned at all. Amsterdam was a great to visit lots to do and see public transport was great.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ann N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Ann N,

Whilst we are pleased with the good comments, we really value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. We are sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay with us. As we always strive for excellence in customer service, we are keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. We have taken note of your comments and have shared these with our management team for further development.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

With sincere regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

In quiet location and - as long as you accept you won’t be in the heart of Amsterdam - this is a good place to stay at. There’s a regular bus service in to the middle of Amsterdam which takes about ten minutes. The hotel has a fairly good restaurant and, (like anywhere), provided you don’t want to eat there every night, it’s fine. Staff are friendly / helpful so, all in all, would have no qualms about staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussiejohn_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Aussiejohn_12,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us at the Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam Centrum-Noord. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a great experience at our hotel.

We are pleased to find out that you have enjoyed your stay! The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to provide an excellent service by trying our hardest to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon!

With sincere regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in early June for a few nights. The hotel is in a quiet location, the rooms were small and very basic. The door of the bathroom is very heavy and wouldnt stay open, which made the bathroom very steamy as soon as you turned the shower on.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. There is a bus stop 2mins from the hotel and the bus goes straight to Amsterdam Centraal which is only an 8min bus ride away.

Overall it is a good hotel if you arent planning on spendong much time in the room.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AndySarahV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear AndySarahV,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a great experience at our hotel.

We are pleased to find out that you have enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam! The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to provide an excellent service by trying our hardest to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon!

With sincere regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund, Germany
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in January 2014. The booking from Germany was without problems.
During the week it can be hard to find a parking lot.
The room was clean. There were two separate beds, but you can put them together like we did.
There was no breakfast included.
Right in front of the hotel is a bus stop. It is easy to use and you should take the bus, if you want to go to the city; the parking in the city is really expensive.
The neighborhood is calm and safe. Right beside the hotel is a police station.
We would stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FN F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear FN F,

Thank you for staying with us at the Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam Centrum-Noord and for the feedback regarding your stay with us. We are pleased to hear your kind comments about the hotel.

This hotel is perfectly situated for guests who want to experience Amsterdam. Close to Amsterdam, free parking and a 10 minute drive to the city centre.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With sincere regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
4.3 mi away
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel
#229 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
4.5 mi away
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Zuidwest
6.1 mi away
New West Inn Amsterdam
New West Inn Amsterdam
#156 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
NH Amsterdam Noord
NH Amsterdam Noord
#91 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
6.3 mi away
Campanile Amsterdam
Campanile Amsterdam
#208 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
5.8 mi away
Citiez Hotel Amsterdam
Citiez Hotel Amsterdam
#185 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord

Property: Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord
Address: Rode Kruisstraat 28, 1025 KN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bastion Hotel Groep stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive rate. Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam/Centrum-Noord offers a 24 hour front office, comfortable rooms and an extensive choice of dishes from the a la carte menu in the atmospheric restaurant. To unwind after a busy day, guests are always welcome in the cozy hotel bar or smoking lounge. This lounge has a LCD television and relaxing lounge chairs. The hotel also has free wireless internet. The lobby has a computer for guests; they can use the internet for free. Domestic animals are not allowed. Location / Accessibility Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam/ Centrum-Noord is situated in the area Amsterdam-Noord which is divided from the city of Amsterdam by the river the IJ. The hotel offers free parking places. During the day and at night there is a good bus connection with the city centre at a nearby bus stop (Waddenweg). The hotel can also be easily reached by car. You can discover Amsterdam with her historical buildings, the canals, museums and markets. Also a good pastime is the Zaanse Schans, where people can find crafts workshops, a few windmills and nice shops. Rooms The hotel has 24 deluxe rooms and 44 comfort rooms. The comfort rooms are equipped with a television, a modem, a bureau, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with a shower and toilet. The deluxe rooms are more spacious than the comfort rooms and are equipped with a television, a modem, a bureau, a safe, a minibar, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with bath, toilet and hairdryer. Food & Beverage At Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam/ Centrum Noord guests can enjoy an extensive continental breakfast buffet, on weekdays from 06.00 Till 09.00 And in weekends from 07.00 Till 10.30. The atmospheric hotel is openend from 11.00 Till 23.00 For lunch and diner. When guests have a very busy schedule they can ask the hotel staff about the possibilities for a lunch package. The cosy hotel bar is opened till 23.30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing