We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in North Amsterdam but easily reachable from "Downtown"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord
Ranked #219 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed January 17, 2014

This was the 3rd time I’d stayed at this particular hotel and this time we’d travelled to Amsterdam for the New Year’s Celebrations. The hotel itself is on the North Side of Amsterdam across the Ij Canal, but easily reachable by a 10 min bus ride from Centraal Station, plus the excellent Night Bus Service every 30mins. The hotel is no more than a couple of minutes’ walk from the bus stop. The Folks on the 24HR Reception Desk were very pleasant and helpful as always, as were the Housekeeping staff, with the rooms very clean and stocked with Coffee, Tea & the usual Shower Gel/Shampoo. The FREE Internet terminal in the Reception Area is very handy for planning days out or make use of the FREE Wireless available throughout the hotel. There is also a very good Shopping Centre & Market “Buikslotermeerplein” only a couple of bus stops away, if you want to stock up on Dutch Goodies to take home! So if you want to be within easy striking distance of everything Amsterdam has to offer, but at the end of the day escape to a quieter suburb away from the hustle and bustle down town, then this is the hotel for you! I look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AJW1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the review which you have posted on Tripadvisor.
As we can see you have enjoyed the New Year Celebrations in Amsterdam and you have experienced the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities of Bastion Hotel Groep and you have summarized it in a great review!

Thank you very much for that.

We are also looking forward to your next visit!

With kind regards,

Team Bastion Hotel Groep

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
There are newer reviews for Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 427 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on New Year's Eve, turned out we had made an excellent choice and with the firecrackers and fireworks going off all night in the main area of Amsterdam it meant that we got a peaceful nights sleep after the celebrations!

If you are a first time visitor to the Dam then bear in mind that this is about 15mins taxi/tram ride from the centre. Great location however if you are driving as has parking and is just of the A10.

Staff were lovely and friendly and hotel clean.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Lynette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the review which you have posted on Tripadvisor.
As we can see you have experienced the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities of Bastion Hotel Groep and you have experienced how great Amsterdam is!

You have summarized it in a great review and we would like to thank you for that!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team Bastion Hotel Groep

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Once again the Bastion Deluxe Hotel lives up to its name, splendid rooms, lovely food and very reasonable bar prices. His staff are very helpful with nothing to much trouble for them always willing to help from cleaner, bar staff, waiters, to receptionist. This is one hotel that won’t disappoint folks’ will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the positive comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. Such comments supports me and my colleagues to provide our guests a good service. The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to always meet and exceed the expectations of our guest.

I hope to meet you again in one of the hotels from the Bastion Hotel Groep.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We have been to Amsterdam a couple of times now and the first time we stayed right in the centre opposite Central Station at the NH Barbican Palace at which we got an amazing deal. This time we booked the flights in advance at brilliant prices but upon looking for accommodation in our price range we just could not find anything central.

We then found this hotel, which is slightly out of town, but only a ten minute bus ride away. We were slightly sceptical at first as it was in the suburbs and we really did wonder how far away it would be as reviews on here range from 5 minutes to half an hour.

Well, it really is about 10 minutes maximum on the bus and the buses are about every 10 minutes. The most we ever waited was actually 10 minutes maximum. The vicinity of the hotel is a suburb, but it is nice and clean and very quiet indeed. There isn't much to do around the area apart from a small restaurant opposite the hotel, but there is a shopping centre about 10 minutes down the road which is quite nice to have a look at.

The hotel is like a UK Travelodge, just a little bit better. Rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean. The hotel staff are the most friendliest people you could ever wish to meet and will go out of their way to make you welcome.

If you are on a budget, then you will be really impressed with this hotel.

We will certainly be returning next time we visit Amsterdam, in fact, this will probably be our number one choice from now on.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davey102001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the positive comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. Such comments supports me and my colleagues to provide our guests a good service. The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to always meet and exceed the expectations of our guest.

I hope to meet you again in one of the hotels from the Bastion Hotel Groep.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed in May 2012. From main terminal, 15 minute bus ride. At first hard to find. Very clean and nice room. Main desk people had no personality and were not very helpful when asking for information. Restaurant very expensive so we had our meals elsewhere. Nothing around the Hotel. I would have liked a place better located in Amsterdam.
The Amsterdam pass was great for the trains, buses and museums. If you have a car this is a great hotel, free and plenty of parking.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank almond20009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the positive comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. Such comments supports me and my colleagues to provide our guests a good service. The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to always meet and exceed the expectations of our guest.

I hope to meet you again in one of the hotels from the Bastion Hotel Groep.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Anirban S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I was looking for a hotel for 4 people on a business trip. We found this hotel room through Expedia. At first glance it looks nice and the room was nice and it was clean. We did experience a few problems. We had our dinner here and 2 of the three meals were not good. Two people had the teriyaki wok. One problem was they ran out of rice and french fries didn't go well with the meal. Without the rice, the teriyaki sauce was too strong. The meat was also tough. The third meal was spare ribs and they were okay. They want 14 Euro for breakfast and, besides being on the expensive side, the evening meal turned us off to trying their breakfast.

The thing that irked me the most is the internet connection. For some reason, you cannot send out emails through outlook as they have blocked that. Not only that, but they also blocked me from my web-mail program. So i have to leave the hotel, and find a place that had internet, to send my emails. I come here for business and I find this unacceptable. I went to the front desk and noticed that there is a sign stating that you cannot use Outlook to send so they do this on purpose.

Before I realised the email problem, I did book a second night and they charged me 33% more for the room than the first night. Because I am on business and on a tight schedule, I just paid it and decided to keep working.

If you don't need internet, and are not looking for a place to eat, this place should be okay, provided you book through a third party in advance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B3GE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our employees in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you can accept my apologies.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
4.3 mi away
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel
#239 of 371 in Amsterdam
616 reviews
4.5 mi away
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Zuidwest
0.8 mi away
NH Amsterdam Noord
NH Amsterdam Noord
#79 of 371 in Amsterdam
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
New West Inn Amsterdam
New West Inn Amsterdam
#162 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,077 reviews
6.3 mi away
Campanile Amsterdam
Campanile Amsterdam
#210 of 371 in Amsterdam
351 reviews
4.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Blue Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord

Address: Rode Kruisstraat 28, 1025 KN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #219 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $93 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bastion Hotel Groep stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive rate. Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam/Centrum-Noord offers a 24 hour front office, comfortable rooms and an extensive choice of dishes from the a la carte menu in the atmospheric restaurant. To unwind after a busy day, guests are always welcome in the cozy hotel bar or smoking lounge. This lounge has a LCD television and relaxing lounge chairs. The hotel also has free wireless internet. The lobby has a computer for guests; they can use the internet for free. Domestic animals are not allowed. Location / Accessibility Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam/ Centrum-Noord is situated in the area Amsterdam-Noord which is divided from the city of Amsterdam by the river the IJ. The hotel offers free parking places. During the day and at night there is a good bus connection with the city centre at a nearby bus stop (Waddenweg). The hotel can also be easily reached by car. You can discover Amsterdam with her historical buildings, the canals, museums and markets. Also a good pastime is the Zaanse Schans, where people can find crafts workshops, a few windmills and nice shops. Rooms The hotel has 24 deluxe rooms and 44 comfort rooms. The comfort rooms are equipped with a television, a modem, a bureau, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with a shower and toilet. The deluxe rooms are more spacious than the comfort rooms and are equipped with a television, a modem, a bureau, a safe, a minibar, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with bath, toilet and hairdryer. Food & Beverage At Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam/ Centrum Noord guests can enjoy an extensive continental breakfast buffet, on weekdays from 06.00 Till 09.00 And in weekends from 07.00 Till 10.30. The atmospheric hotel is openend from 11.00 Till 23.00 For lunch and diner. When guests have a very busy schedule they can ask the hotel staff about the possibilities for a lunch package. The cosy hotel bar is opened till 23.30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing