We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Actually good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord
Ranked #201 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Actually good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Once again the Bastion Deluxe Hotel lives up to its name, splendid rooms, lovely food and very reasonable bar prices. His staff are very helpful with nothing to much trouble for them always willing to help from cleaner, bar staff, waiters, to receptionist. This is one hotel that won’t disappoint folks’ will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the positive comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. Such comments supports me and my colleagues to provide our guests a good service. The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to always meet and exceed the expectations of our guest.

I hope to meet you again in one of the hotels from the Bastion Hotel Groep.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    148
    87
    25
    21
See reviews for
32
136
14
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, UK
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We have been to Amsterdam a couple of times now and the first time we stayed right in the centre opposite Central Station at the NH Barbican Palace at which we got an amazing deal. This time we booked the flights in advance at brilliant prices but upon looking for accommodation in our price range we just could not find anything central.

We then found this hotel, which is slightly out of town, but only a ten minute bus ride away. We were slightly sceptical at first as it was in the suburbs and we really did wonder how far away it would be as reviews on here range from 5 minutes to half an hour.

Well, it really is about 10 minutes maximum on the bus and the buses are about every 10 minutes. The most we ever waited was actually 10 minutes maximum. The vicinity of the hotel is a suburb, but it is nice and clean and very quiet indeed. There isn't much to do around the area apart from a small restaurant opposite the hotel, but there is a shopping centre about 10 minutes down the road which is quite nice to have a look at.

The hotel is like a UK Travelodge, just a little bit better. Rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean. The hotel staff are the most friendliest people you could ever wish to meet and will go out of their way to make you welcome.

If you are on a budget, then you will be really impressed with this hotel.

We will certainly be returning next time we visit Amsterdam, in fact, this will probably be our number one choice from now on.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davey102001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the positive comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. Such comments supports me and my colleagues to provide our guests a good service. The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to always meet and exceed the expectations of our guest.

I hope to meet you again in one of the hotels from the Bastion Hotel Groep.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in May 2012. From main terminal, 15 minute bus ride. At first hard to find. Very clean and nice room. Main desk people had no personality and were not very helpful when asking for information. Restaurant very expensive so we had our meals elsewhere. Nothing around the Hotel. I would have liked a place better located in Amsterdam.
The Amsterdam pass was great for the trains, buses and museums. If you have a car this is a great hotel, free and plenty of parking.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank almond20009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the positive comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. Such comments supports me and my colleagues to provide our guests a good service. The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to always meet and exceed the expectations of our guest.

I hope to meet you again in one of the hotels from the Bastion Hotel Groep.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I was looking for a hotel for 4 people on a business trip. We found this hotel room through Expedia. At first glance it looks nice and the room was nice and it was clean. We did experience a few problems. We had our dinner here and 2 of the three meals were not good. Two people had the teriyaki wok. One problem was they ran out of rice and french fries didn't go well with the meal. Without the rice, the teriyaki sauce was too strong. The meat was also tough. The third meal was spare ribs and they were okay. They want 14 Euro for breakfast and, besides being on the expensive side, the evening meal turned us off to trying their breakfast.

The thing that irked me the most is the internet connection. For some reason, you cannot send out emails through outlook as they have blocked that. Not only that, but they also blocked me from my web-mail program. So i have to leave the hotel, and find a place that had internet, to send my emails. I come here for business and I find this unacceptable. I went to the front desk and noticed that there is a sign stating that you cannot use Outlook to send so they do this on purpose.

Before I realised the email problem, I did book a second night and they charged me 33% more for the room than the first night. Because I am on business and on a tight schedule, I just paid it and decided to keep working.

If you don't need internet, and are not looking for a place to eat, this place should be okay, provided you book through a third party in advance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B3GE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our employees in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you can accept my apologies.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We booked this establishment because most hotels in Amsterdam were either full or too expensive. The hotel is in an Amsterdam suburb, a ten minute bus ride from the train station. There is no restaurants or attractions in that area. The rooms were average with 2 single beds (no other accommodation was available) and with no air conditioning, it was difficult to have a good night's sleep, I must say that there was not enough storage for our clothes. The bathroom was small, with a distinct humid odor, and with the door always closing, we could not air it after our shower. With no bars of soap, no facial tissues, I think there could be some improvement in that area. On the other hand, the breakfast was very good and the lady who was cooking the eggs, very nice. The restaurant is open at night but the food is average. I think this accommodation is OK for one night, but it was not our case and unless you are in a bind, we cannot recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toogreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the positive comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. Such comments supports me and my colleagues to provide our guests a good service. The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to always meet and exceed the expectations of our guest.

I hope to meet you again in one of the hotels from the Bastion Hotel Groep.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

my boyfriend and i stayed here with three friends for three nights last week. the hotel is a 10i-15min bus ride (no 32 or 33) from the central station. bus stops outside hotel

the room was ok basic but what you expect from this kind of hotel _like travelodge). our room was missing the hair dryer promised when booking but i asked in reception and this was provided - the receptionist told me this is because not all rooms have hairdryers but if it is advertised as being there i would expect this to be there in the first place.

our tea and coffee was not replaced on the 2nd morning there but we informed reception again who provided us with the missing tea and coffee although again this is something the cleaners should of replaced and our cups were not cleaned by them either. also no milk unless asked for in our room or the 2 other rooms our friends stayed in. we also had a pubic hair in our sink when we got there which isnt particulary nice!!

bedding felt itchy to me and at times the traffic was loud outside on ground floor room at back of hotel but in general was a quiet hotel - would probably stay here again as once asleep we all had a good nights sleep and hotel was basic but provided just what we needed after exploring city all day and staff were nice and polite - however more attention to detail needed regarding amenities for above reasons to rooms

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littlemissjamuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our employees in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you can accept my apologies.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
4.3 mi away
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel
#245 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 478 reviews
6.1 mi away
New West Inn Amsterdam
New West Inn Amsterdam
#160 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 907 reviews
4.5 mi away
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Zuidwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
NH Amsterdam Noord
NH Amsterdam Noord
#93 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 568 reviews
6.3 mi away
Campanile Amsterdam
Campanile Amsterdam
#190 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
6.5 mi away
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#208 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord

Property: Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord
Address: Rode Kruisstraat 28, 1025 KN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bastion Hotel Groep stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive rate. Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam/Centrum-Noord offers a 24 hour front office, comfortable rooms and an extensive choice of dishes from the a la carte menu in the atmospheric restaurant. To unwind after a busy day, guests are always welcome in the cozy hotel bar or smoking lounge. This lounge has a LCD television and relaxing lounge chairs. The hotel also has free wireless internet. The lobby has a computer for guests; they can use the internet for free. Domestic animals are not allowed. Location / Accessibility Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam/ Centrum-Noord is situated in the area Amsterdam-Noord which is divided from the city of Amsterdam by the river the IJ. The hotel offers free parking places. During the day and at night there is a good bus connection with the city centre at a nearby bus stop (Waddenweg). The hotel can also be easily reached by car. You can discover Amsterdam with her historical buildings, the canals, museums and markets. Also a good pastime is the Zaanse Schans, where people can find crafts workshops, a few windmills and nice shops. Rooms The hotel has 24 deluxe rooms and 44 comfort rooms. The comfort rooms are equipped with a television, a modem, a bureau, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with a shower and toilet. The deluxe rooms are more spacious than the comfort rooms and are equipped with a television, a modem, a bureau, a safe, a minibar, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with bath, toilet and hairdryer. Food & Beverage At Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam/ Centrum Noord guests can enjoy an extensive continental breakfast buffet, on weekdays from 06.00 Till 09.00 And in weekends from 07.00 Till 10.30. The atmospheric hotel is openend from 11.00 Till 23.00 For lunch and diner. When guests have a very busy schedule they can ask the hotel staff about the possibilities for a lunch package. The cosy hotel bar is opened till 23.30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing