We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK at best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel
Ranked #230 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
South Riding, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OK at best!”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. The front desk was fine. But the room was not the cleanest. The bed were very average, not too comfy. The room was not cleaned a single day. You have to badge in to get into elevators and the floor. There is a nearby Metro, but it some walk. The only good part was the parking. EVen the internet did not work very well in the room.

Room Tip: Unless this is for one night stop over, avoid it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KartikeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    190
    185
    77
    62
See reviews for
83
186
31
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Booked the hotel last minute for a single night.

Disclaimer: Staying at a lovely 5 star hotel in Brussels including breakfast for the same amount of money as the lousy Bastion Hotel, may have influenced this review.

The surroundings are not very charming. A petrol station, a highway and railway tracks with trains frequently passing by... The metro station "Overamstel" is 5 minutes walk. 2.70 Euro for a single ride into Amsterdam. Parking in the city centre is up to 5 Euro per hour.

CONS:
Stayed in room 220, located next to the elevator in the beginning of a long hallway. Noisy!!! TV did not have any sound. The breakfast was 13.5 Euro, which we did not order.

PROS:
free parking, rather comfy twin beds, empty minibar, kettle with coffee/tea.

Verdict: ok for a late arrival / early check out, but would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanMarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Stayed here with a friend for 2 nights. We decided to book a hotel away from Amsterdam city centre as we were concerned about parking. This hotel provides free parking. The metro is less than less than 10 minutes walk and it takes around 10 minutes on the train. We found it really easy to travel in and out of the city centre.

The room was basic but clean. Had fresh towels both days. Bathroom small but functional. We had breakfast which, was usual buffet style with a reasonable choice. It is not a luxury hotel but we didn't pay luxury prices, we were pleased with what we got and if we return to the area we would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hols12166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The hotel is 5-6 stops from the center, located on a quite street about 500m from the nearest metro station. Room was clean, simple but yet very friendly. The hotel itself is very clean, modern and I would say not looking cheap. I payed 100 euros/room without breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gorenyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comment placed on tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this. Hopefully we can welcome you again in one of our 31 hotels.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The hotel was crowded but clean and surprisingly noise free. The rooms are Spartan, more in line with a motel than a hotel.

The restaurant, run, run, as far away as possible, the evening we were there it seemed that the bar, kitchen, and waiter services were all done by one overworked receptionist. The food was hot on the outside and frozen on the inside, showing that it was made sometime earlier and put into microwavable portions, the result was a tasteless cold mess for which we were charged EUR35.00 for two. I guess we left EUR34.50 worth of food on the plates, it was totally inedible.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ewoud B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.
I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I was very satisfied with this hotel. It's a little far from the City Center, but the metro is 500 meters away (line 51- Overamster station) & you can be in the center within 10-15min. The room was clean, the beds were comfortable, the staff was nice & the price was very reasonable. My brother & wanted to visit Amsterdam and we were on a tight budget. All the places we looked at closer to the Center of Amsterdam, which were in my price range, were either hostels or hotels with shared bathrooms. The lobby of the hotel is actually very nice & the FREE parking & FREE WiFi is an added BONUS! There is also a fitness center, but I never used it.There was a mini fridge in our room, which we used to store drinks & snacks. There is also an electric kettle & you can make tea or coffee, (which is provided plus cream & sugar). This is by no means so Luxury hotel, but if you are on a budget in Amsterdam, this is perfect. You'll spend enough money partying & sightseeing, you might as well save where you can. I will definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UlaG79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear guest,

Tthank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again at our hotel in Amsterdam.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
4.3 mi away
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord
#195 of 368 in Amsterdam
402 reviews
6.0 mi away
New West Inn Amsterdam
New West Inn Amsterdam
#167 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,042 reviews
3.9 mi away
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Zuidwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#233 of 368 in Amsterdam
715 reviews
2.9 mi away
Campanile Amsterdam
Campanile Amsterdam
#220 of 368 in Amsterdam
331 reviews
5.5 mi away
Citiez Hotel Amsterdam
Citiez Hotel Amsterdam
#165 of 368 in Amsterdam
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel

Property: Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel
Address: Verlengde Van Marwijk Kooystraat 30, 1114 AC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bastion Hotel Groep stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive rate. The Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam/Amstel offers a 24 hour front office, comfortable rooms and an extensive choice of dishes from the a la carte menu in the atmospheric restaurant. Guests are always welcome in the cozy hotel bar or smoking lounge. This lounge contains an LCD television, air conditioning and relaxing lounge chairs. The hotel also offers a fitness room which guests can use free of charge, air conditioning and free wireless internet. The lobby has a computer for guests; they can use the internet for free. Domestic animals are not allowed. Location / accessibility Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam/Amstel is situated near the A10, exit S11. It's close to the RAI and the Amsterdam Arena. The hotel also has free parking places. You can reach the historical centre of Amsterdam within ten minutes by public transport. Here you can find all the famous attractions within reach. This hotel is therefore ideal for business and leisure guests. Rooms The hotel has 120 comfort rooms, 63 deluxe rooms and 9 Quads. The comfort rooms are equipped with a television, a modem, a bureau, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with a shower and toilet. The deluxe rooms are extra equipped with a bathroom with bath, toilet and hairdryer. The Quads are more spacious than the deluxe rooms and are equiped with a sleeping sofa and a bathroom with bath, toilet and hairdryer. Food & Beverage The hotel serves breakfast on weekdays from 6:00 till 9:00 hrs and on weekends from 7:00 till 10:30 hrs. The hotel has an attractive restaurant with an extensive a la carte menu. The restaurant is open from 11:00 till 23:00 hrs for lunch and dinner. The hotel bar is open till 23.30 hrs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastion Deluxe Amsterdam / Amstel Hotel Amsterdam
Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing