We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Took us 30 minutes to find our room” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nieuw Slotania Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nieuw Slotania Hotel
Ranked #327 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Took us 30 minutes to find our room”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

The hotel itself is not completely terrible, it's pretty standard for the price. Our room was impossible to find, as was another two rooms in our group. It took us upwards of 30 minutes to locate it. The room was average in size and it was clean enough. Breakfast was pretty subpar.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetMelissa222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    91
    161
    113
    151
See reviews for
55
132
21
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We got there thanks to hostelbookers where they are advertised as a Hostel which they are NOT... The rooms are ok as well as the bathroom, they do have some info on tour close to the entrance as well as wifi (if it doesn't work is your phone's fault according to front desk guy, is always your phone) but what made our stay shorter in this place was the service.... they should work on their people skills.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alejo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Me and my friends travelled to Amsterdam March this year, as I have already been once before I new what to expect and couldn't wait. We had a another good deal for our stay, it cost around £180 for 3 night & 4 days with flights from our nearest airport (Cardiff), hotel with breakfast too. We had a taxi from the airport which cost us £50 euro between us which wasn't to bad, when arriving at the hotel it was uncanny that it was opposite the hotel I stayed in 2011 (Blue Square Hotel) so everything we needed as in shops and trams was right outside our hotel which was great, we also got tram 14 and bus 21 into the main town, bus 21 takes you to the docks which is 2mins from Dam Square.

Our rooms where small and seemed a little dingy but we weren't bothered as we were only there to sleep, they had clean towels and refilled toilet roll every day. The receptionist was helpful when we needed advise on tram times and best place to go etc. We done quiet a lot with the package deals we bought, we had a boat cruise, Madam Tussuads, Ice House all for £50 we thought it was a good deal considering we could take as long as we wanted on each attraction. We also went down to the Red Light district and went in to some local bars which was great, we also went to see a live sex show which in all fairness was a good laugh, it cost us £35 for entry and 3 free drinks and we could stay in there for as long as we wanted, I wont go into detail regarding it you have to see it for yourself. There's so much to do in Amsterdam its a wicked and serial place to go, this was one of the best girls holidays I've been on.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessicavye13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night. Definitely mixed feelings.


Price was pretty good at £50
Pretty clean overall. Bathroom very nice much better than room itself. There were no curtains and had lights from accross the road coming in for most of the night. Also a lot of door banging and general noise from other guests till about 5am.
Breakfast was pretty good for €5, do can recommend this if you give this place a try.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Pickyeater2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

Suprisingly good for so little money! The staff were really nice, room was cleaned daily and the room was okay, not huge, but a decent size.
We only had breakfast at the hotel 1 morning and it was good!
I love the location because it was nice to not be in the city centrum all the time and it was super easy to reach by tram or bus.
I will definitely go here again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VeraSasja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

Stayed here as a couple, room was very small, there was a big step up to the bathroom level and the room smelt of smoke when we arrived (we were next to the balcony). The room and the hotel were kept very clean throughout. It is located about a 30 minute tram drive from the centre and is located in a what seems to be a 'dodgy' area. Although we had booked 4 nights here, the location was too far out the centre so we left after the first night and got a hostel in the centre.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

If you are looking for a budget place to stay in Amsterdam, this hostel has very nice staff, comfortable beds a good breakfast buffet and all services you need. It's not in downtown but tram stops just in the entrance. Nice quality/cost relation.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marcebruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.7 mi away
New West Inn Amsterdam
New West Inn Amsterdam
#158 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
2.4 mi away
West Side Inn Hotel
West Side Inn Hotel
#284 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#205 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
1.0 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
8.5 mi away
Campanile Amsterdam
Campanile Amsterdam
#209 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nieuw Slotania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nieuw Slotania Hotel

Property: Nieuw Slotania Hotel
Address: Slotermeerlaan 133, 1063 JN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #327 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nieuw Slotania Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Nieuw Slotania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nieuw Slotania Amsterdam
Hotel Nieuw Slotania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing