We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nieuw Slotania Hotel
Ranked #340 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We got there thanks to hostelbookers where they are advertised as a Hostel which they are NOT... The rooms are ok as well as the bathroom, they do have some info on tour close to the entrance as well as wifi (if it doesn't work is your phone's fault according to front desk guy, is always your phone) but what made our stay shorter in this place was the service.... they should work on their people skills.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alejo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (640)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 640 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

Me and my friends travelled to Amsterdam March this year, as I have already been once before I new what to expect and couldn't wait. We had a another good deal for our stay, it cost around £180 for 3 night & 4 days with flights from our nearest airport (Cardiff), hotel with breakfast too. We had a taxi from the airport which cost us £50 euro between us which wasn't to bad, when arriving at the hotel it was uncanny that it was opposite the hotel I stayed in 2011 (Blue Square Hotel) so everything we needed as in shops and trams was right outside our hotel which was great, we also got tram 14 and bus 21 into the main town, bus 21 takes you to the docks which is 2mins from Dam Square.

Our rooms where small and seemed a little dingy but we weren't bothered as we were only there to sleep, they had clean towels and refilled toilet roll every day. The receptionist was helpful when we needed advise on tram times and best place to go etc. We done quiet a lot with the package deals we bought, we had a boat cruise, Madam Tussuads, Ice House all for £50 we thought it was a good deal considering we could take as long as we wanted on each attraction. We also went down to the Red Light district and went in to some local bars which was great, we also went to see a live sex show which in all fairness was a good laugh, it cost us £35 for entry and 3 free drinks and we could stay in there for as long as we wanted, I wont go into detail regarding it you have to see it for yourself. There's so much to do in Amsterdam its a wicked and serial place to go, this was one of the best girls holidays I've been on.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessicavye13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night. Definitely mixed feelings.


Price was pretty good at £50
Pretty clean overall. Bathroom very nice much better than room itself. There were no curtains and had lights from accross the road coming in for most of the night. Also a lot of door banging and general noise from other guests till about 5am.
Breakfast was pretty good for €5, do can recommend this if you give this place a try.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Pickyeater2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Suprisingly good for so little money! The staff were really nice, room was cleaned daily and the room was okay, not huge, but a decent size.
We only had breakfast at the hotel 1 morning and it was good!
I love the location because it was nice to not be in the city centrum all the time and it was super easy to reach by tram or bus.
I will definitely go here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeraSasja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Stayed here as a couple, room was very small, there was a big step up to the bathroom level and the room smelt of smoke when we arrived (we were next to the balcony). The room and the hotel were kept very clean throughout. It is located about a 30 minute tram drive from the centre and is located in a what seems to be a 'dodgy' area. Although we had booked 4 nights here, the location was too far out the centre so we left after the first night and got a hostel in the centre.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

If you are looking for a budget place to stay in Amsterdam, this hostel has very nice staff, comfortable beds a good breakfast buffet and all services you need. It's not in downtown but tram stops just in the entrance. Nice quality/cost relation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcebruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Room very clean. Lovely bedding. Clean towels every day.
Double Mattress very soft (too soft for us) big bed.
Bathroom excellent, really big shower.
Location a bit far out of dam centre which was what we wanted as very quiet on a night so maybe not suit young ones searching nite life (no coffee shops )
Trams into dam every 5mins til 6pm then every 15mins til 1am. Cost 2.80euro single tram no 14
Bus from airport no 69 drops u off outside hotel.
Staff very helpful. Spoke English.
Would suit mature couple on budget n travellers.
Would return again.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#255 of 372 in Amsterdam
766 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#166 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,088 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#269 of 372 in Amsterdam
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Side Inn Hotel
#306 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,947 reviews
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#82 of 372 in Amsterdam
873 reviews
XO Hotels Blue Square
#165 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nieuw Slotania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nieuw Slotania Hotel

Address: Slotermeerlaan 133, 1063 JN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #340 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $55 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nieuw Slotania Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nieuw Slotania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nieuw Slotania Amsterdam
Hotel Nieuw Slotania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing