We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nieuw Slotania Hotel
Ranked #345 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Suprisingly good for so little money! The staff were really nice, room was cleaned daily and the room was okay, not huge, but a decent size.
We only had breakfast at the hotel 1 morning and it was good!
I love the location because it was nice to not be in the city centrum all the time and it was super easy to reach by tram or bus.
I will definitely go here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeraSasja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (659)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 659 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2014

Stayed here as a couple, room was very small, there was a big step up to the bathroom level and the room smelt of smoke when we arrived (we were next to the balcony). The room and the hotel were kept very clean throughout. It is located about a 30 minute tram drive from the centre and is located in a what seems to be a 'dodgy' area. Although we had booked 4 nights here, the location was too far out the centre so we left after the first night and got a hostel in the centre.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

If you are looking for a budget place to stay in Amsterdam, this hostel has very nice staff, comfortable beds a good breakfast buffet and all services you need. It's not in downtown but tram stops just in the entrance. Nice quality/cost relation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcebruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Room very clean. Lovely bedding. Clean towels every day.
Double Mattress very soft (too soft for us) big bed.
Bathroom excellent, really big shower.
Location a bit far out of dam centre which was what we wanted as very quiet on a night so maybe not suit young ones searching nite life (no coffee shops )
Trams into dam every 5mins til 6pm then every 15mins til 1am. Cost 2.80euro single tram no 14
Bus from airport no 69 drops u off outside hotel.
Staff very helpful. Spoke English.
Would suit mature couple on budget n travellers.
Would return again.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

stayed here with 6 of my mates (aged 18-19) last week. wasn't as bad as everybody made out to be honest! rooms were average sized and cleaned every day. Cant comment on the food as didn't eat in the hotel. Only issues I had is that the staff wernt very helpful and came across as abit rude, also the hotel is right in the middle of some Turkish ghetto which isn't very nice at all. You have to get a tram into centre of Amsterdam which takes around 20mins, really easy to figure out but gets abit annoying when your coming home after a night out (getting the night bus is a ball ache). All in all I loved Amsterdam had the time of my life! Perfect place for a blowout with your mates. Would I stay here again? No, somewhere abit nearer in a nicer area would be better.

Room Tip: (Tip: Get the number 14 tram 'Flevopark' takes you straight to Dam square.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiamFahey95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed here as a couple in February 2014 and had a lovely time. The room had enough space for both of us, towels and the bed was changed daily too and was very comfy. It was a basic room, and doesn't come with a kettle but that didnt bother us, as you could get tea etc... With breakfast which was also very nice.
Staff were fine, just left us to it really.
The hotel is situated quite far from the city centre but the tram links are fantastic. The number 14 tram takes you straight to dam square and the number 7 takes you to Liedseplein which was our personal favourite place.
For the price we paid for this hotel, we can't complain. Will be returning to Amsterdam again soon, but unfortunately will book somewhere abit closer to the centre. Otherwise would have returned here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jade s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

this hotel is definitely nothing special but also by far one of the cheapest hotels in Amsterdam.
Unfortunately you can hear too much from other guests like music they are playing or loud talking. The walls and the carpet had quite some stains (red ones on the walls.. don't wanna know what this was).

But the beds were comfy, everything else clean and the air conditioning worked perfectly (well the heater in my case).

Even though it is quite far outside of Amsterdam, you get a direct bus line (69; about 30 min.) to the airport and vice versa and a tram way line (14) into the city (22 minutes to the palace).

The check-in was easy and quick and they even helped me with printing a ticket I forgot at home but still was on a cloud drive.

Good point: free Wifi

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blownfaraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#287 of 375 in Amsterdam
792 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#265 of 375 in Amsterdam
214 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#167 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Side Inn Hotel
#313 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,995 reviews
Campanile Amsterdam
#205 of 375 in Amsterdam
372 reviews
Citiez Hotel Amsterdam
#151 of 375 in Amsterdam
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nieuw Slotania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nieuw Slotania Hotel

Address: Slotermeerlaan 133, 1063 JN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #345 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $36 - $776 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nieuw Slotania Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nieuw Slotania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nieuw Slotania Amsterdam
Hotel Nieuw Slotania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing