We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy neighboors.....”
Review of Hotel Monopole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Monopole
Ranked #304 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bassano Del Grappa, Italy
Level Contributor
211 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Noisy neighboors.....”
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

I slept in room # 4. Almost impossibile to sleep during the weekend due to the high volume of the adjacent disco, it's like being there and windows shake like during an heartquake. Very ripid stairs, hard to carry big or heavy bags. Wifi did not work 2 days (I spent 6 nights at the hotel). Room below average. I do not reccomend this hotel.

Helpful?
1 Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
george-alliance, Manager at Hotel Monopole, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear sir/madam, the noise is only when there is some event in the city. we are situated in the heart of city, and we do not have any noise problem from our permanent guests. We will try to make more comfertable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    39
    66
    33
    54
See reviews for
22
58
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Don't let the lobby fool you. We thought that we had booked a nice place when we saw the loby (albeit after climbing one of those famous Amsterdam staircases). We were then taken half a block away to a different, rundown building. The two-bedroom apartment we booked was a bedroom and combination sitting room/kitchen with a double bed and room for the cot we requested. Space was not a problem but the layout with a window in the door between the bedroom and the big room left a lot to be desired. Doors didn't close properly and the bathroom smelled of mildew - keep looking!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skymaster_172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george-alliance, Manager at Hotel Monopole, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear sir/madam,
it looks like from your review that you were irritated with something else and wrote bad review to us. we never had problme with stairs in apartment building. as you said space was not problem.
there is not at all problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Myself and a few friends stayed here on my stag weekend, when we arrived we had to pay the bill straight away which we already thought we had paid when we booked online, the fee was more than the online bill also. After climbing the rediculously steep stairs, we then had to climb what can only be described as a ladder... with our luggage! up to the attic where our room was. The room was horrible, it had a window which only opened partially giving us a fantasic view of a wall/dead mouse. Some of my friends stayed in a seperate room, in which they had a mouse trap with a dead rat on it, after telling reception about it... their reply was "just throw it out of the window". The hotel wasnt clean, the only saving grace is the location, very close to rembrantplein or rembrant square which is where a lot of the bars and clubs etc are. We didnt eat breakfast here as quite frankly i value my life and did not want to die/become ill. Overall this hotel is a joke and that is saying something from me as i am usually quite forgiving.

Room Tip: sleep on the street its probably safer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george-alliance, Manager at Hotel Monopole, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear guest,
about your payment which you have paid at th etime of arrival is normal and written all over places. When you book the room then your credit card details is only for reservation guarntee.
Not any hotel charge the amount from your card , so you pay when you arrive.

The room which got to stay was very big and with all facilities.

Thank you very much
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Whatever you do - don't give them your credit card details!
We paid cash for the stay - but reserved the hotel with a credit card.
When we arrived, we were asked to pay a €60 deposit, which was fine.
Unfortunately, we lost two keys (we had three rooms in total) during our stay - and were advised they would keep the deposit to cover costs - which was fine - fair enough.

When we got home, we found they had also charged our credit card with €200! That is €260 for two keys! Locksmiths must cost a fortune in Amsterdam.

We have tried to complain but to no avail. Avoid this hotel at all costs, and don't give them your credit card details!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlasgowGirl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george-alliance, Manager at Hotel Monopole, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear sir /madam,
you forget to write that we have refund the amount of 200 euro . and if soemone lost the key they have to pay for that only if you are staying in next building to hotel because our keys are coded and computerised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
118 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

First the good things: This is a canal house-type of old hotel, very centrally located in the Rembrandtplein district with easy access to all of Amsterdam. The rooms and furnishings were old, but our room had a canal view and the sights were truly breathtaking. The Indian staff is kind and courteous, and they will bring your breakfast up to your room. The rooms are also relatively inexpensive for Amsterdam, so it is the best place for budget-minded travelers. Now the not-so-good: The hotel is old, and there are no elevators. The stairs are tiny and cramped so if you bring heavy pieces of luggage, you're in store for quite a workout! If this were all, I would have given them an Average rating. But, on our last day there as we were packing to leave, I noticed lots of shredded pieces of plastic inside one of small duffle bags. Examining further I noticed that one of the small cheese balls of Gouda cheese that I had bought the day before had been gnawed by by a rat with very sharp teeth, and a hole was made into the cheese ball. The rat had used our absence during the day to burrow through several layers of clothing, and gnawed through several layers of plastic and wax to get at my cheese. The experience left me feeling rather nauseated about the place, hence the caption and the Poor rating. I would never go back to stay there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

3 of us stayed in one room which was very dated with the wallpaper bubbled in places and dodgy light switches!
Although the room was clean the 3rd bed was a camp bed which put in the hall by the room door.
The room had no view only offering two skylights with a dangling pole to open and close. Wardrobe was unbalanced and leaning to one side. The bathroom was a good size and private rather than shared.
Our room was above a nightclub and from 11.30pm until 4.30am our room vibrated very, very loudly from the music below. The lamps were buzzing along with the walls. Although we weren't in the club it felt like we were and little sleep was had due to the bass.
We were also disturbed in the night by discovering a mouse in our room that was going through our food! When we complained to the management nothing was said or any apology given.
The breakfast in the morning was poor and one I didn't want to eat knowing we had a mouse in our room!
The hotel was in a great location but it's very outdated and in desperate need of an overhaul both environmentally and interior wise. It is also no good for anyone that is wheelchair bound or has problems climbing stairs.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyBBDD38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george-alliance, Manager at Hotel Monopole, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear guest - rooms are now upgraded and renovated.
Room and facilities are much better. We are sorry about any inconviece.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I only stayed here one night, and didn't spend much time in the room at all, but it was a nice stay, and such a good location, right behind the Rembrandtplein, on the Amstel river. To get anywhere in the city from here is easy as many trams and busses stop at Rembrandtplein every few minutes. The rooms are old, but clean, private bathrooms, and they will bring breakfast to your room in the morning. Close by are several cafes with Cafe de Jaren right across the river, with a beautiful terras on the water. Just out the front door is Mulligan's Irish Music bar, a fun place, and down the way is Rokerij coffeeshop. Surrounded by much nightlife activities the area is a little noisy, but not a major problem in the room I was in. They have vending machines in the lobby with bier in them, a great bonus when returning to your room after 3am and the cafes are closed. By no means a fancy, frilly place, but once again a great crash pad for the adventurer, in an excellent location, a good value in this part of town.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doodyjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#189 of 368 in Amsterdam
355 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#295 of 368 in Amsterdam
468 reviews
Centrum
Amsterdam House Hotel
Amsterdam House Hotel
#249 of 368 in Amsterdam
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
#200 of 368 in Amsterdam
252 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
ITC Hotel
ITC Hotel
#269 of 368 in Amsterdam
565 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#219 of 368 in Amsterdam
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monopole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monopole

Property: Hotel Monopole
Address: Amstel 60, 1017 AC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #304 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Monopole 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Monopole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monopole Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing