We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They will rip you off”
Review of Hotel Monopole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Monopole
Ranked #297 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Whatever you do - don't give them your credit card details!
We paid cash for the stay - but reserved the hotel with a credit card.
When we arrived, we were asked to pay a €60 deposit, which was fine.
Unfortunately, we lost two keys (we had three rooms in total) during our stay - and were advised they would keep the deposit to cover costs - which was fine - fair enough.

When we got home, we found they had also charged our credit card with €200! That is €260 for two keys! Locksmiths must cost a fortune in Amsterdam.

We have tried to complain but to no avail. Avoid this hotel at all costs, and don't give them your credit card details!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlasgowGirl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george-alliance, Manager at Hotel Monopole, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear sir /madam,
you forget to write that we have refund the amount of 200 euro . and if soemone lost the key they have to pay for that only if you are staying in next building to hotel because our keys are coded and computerised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 212 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2012

First the good things: This is a canal house-type of old hotel, very centrally located in the Rembrandtplein district with easy access to all of Amsterdam. The rooms and furnishings were old, but our room had a canal view and the sights were truly breathtaking. The Indian staff is kind and courteous, and they will bring your breakfast up to your room. The rooms are also relatively inexpensive for Amsterdam, so it is the best place for budget-minded travelers. Now the not-so-good: The hotel is old, and there are no elevators. The stairs are tiny and cramped so if you bring heavy pieces of luggage, you're in store for quite a workout! If this were all, I would have given them an Average rating. But, on our last day there as we were packing to leave, I noticed lots of shredded pieces of plastic inside one of small duffle bags. Examining further I noticed that one of the small cheese balls of Gouda cheese that I had bought the day before had been gnawed by by a rat with very sharp teeth, and a hole was made into the cheese ball. The rat had used our absence during the day to burrow through several layers of clothing, and gnawed through several layers of plastic and wax to get at my cheese. The experience left me feeling rather nauseated about the place, hence the caption and the Poor rating. I would never go back to stay there.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

3 of us stayed in one room which was very dated with the wallpaper bubbled in places and dodgy light switches!
Although the room was clean the 3rd bed was a camp bed which put in the hall by the room door.
The room had no view only offering two skylights with a dangling pole to open and close. Wardrobe was unbalanced and leaning to one side. The bathroom was a good size and private rather than shared.
Our room was above a nightclub and from 11.30pm until 4.30am our room vibrated very, very loudly from the music below. The lamps were buzzing along with the walls. Although we weren't in the club it felt like we were and little sleep was had due to the bass.
We were also disturbed in the night by discovering a mouse in our room that was going through our food! When we complained to the management nothing was said or any apology given.
The breakfast in the morning was poor and one I didn't want to eat knowing we had a mouse in our room!
The hotel was in a great location but it's very outdated and in desperate need of an overhaul both environmentally and interior wise. It is also no good for anyone that is wheelchair bound or has problems climbing stairs.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyBBDD38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george-alliance, Manager at Hotel Monopole, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Dear guest - rooms are now upgraded and renovated.
Room and facilities are much better. We are sorry about any inconviece.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I only stayed here one night, and didn't spend much time in the room at all, but it was a nice stay, and such a good location, right behind the Rembrandtplein, on the Amstel river. To get anywhere in the city from here is easy as many trams and busses stop at Rembrandtplein every few minutes. The rooms are old, but clean, private bathrooms, and they will bring breakfast to your room in the morning. Close by are several cafes with Cafe de Jaren right across the river, with a beautiful terras on the water. Just out the front door is Mulligan's Irish Music bar, a fun place, and down the way is Rokerij coffeeshop. Surrounded by much nightlife activities the area is a little noisy, but not a major problem in the room I was in. They have vending machines in the lobby with bier in them, a great bonus when returning to your room after 3am and the cafes are closed. By no means a fancy, frilly place, but once again a great crash pad for the adventurer, in an excellent location, a good value in this part of town.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doodyjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

The hotel is good value for the money. They only serve breakfast in the room, but it isn't mend on the site of the hotel. The hotel is situated near the Rembrandtplein that is confiniant, but the alley near the hotel is always busy with drunk and loadly people with is loadly heard in the room. The room are clean but small. The hotel is good for young people but not so good for alderly people.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank GA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

we were a group of 4 staying there for one night. the location was very good and there was plenty of space inside our apartment however the place was dated and run down with awful decor and furnishings! its fair to say that we werent in the room that long as we were out and about but it was a waste of money and could have got something more luxorious for the samr price.

Room Tip: dont book here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliejones30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Very good location. No fancy prices charged so we got what we paid for.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cillu001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#234 of 373 in Amsterdam
303 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
#214 of 373 in Amsterdam
272 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#304 of 373 in Amsterdam
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Boutique Hotel View
#102 of 373 in Amsterdam
958 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Cafe Corner House
Hotel Cafe Corner House
#152 of 373 in Amsterdam
433 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#260 of 373 in Amsterdam
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monopole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monopole

Address: Amstel 60, 1017 AC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #297 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $78 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Monopole 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Monopole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monopole Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing